We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and location”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is the second of two hotels that my wife and I and brother and sister in law stayed at the last half of Aug. The first was the Sofitel St James and due to availability at the Sofitel we were required to look for a second location. Both hotels are extremely nice properties though they have a few differences. Both were what I would consider 4-4.5 star properties. Montague is an older property and is in excellent shape. We were upgraded to a larger room (109, I believe it was the Viscount suite). Front desk staff and concierge were extremely helpful and were a little more 'down to earth' than the Sofitel front desk staff, though neither is intended to be negative. In my opinion, food at the Montague was superior to the Sofitel. My wife preferred the Sofitel food, finding it a little less 'rich'. She has gluten intolerance and generally found the food a bit lighter at the Sofitel. The room was a very good size, with a lower area (down approx 8 steps from the bedroom area) that included a very large washroom with 2 sinks as well as 2 desks. The bar was nice though service was not as quick as the Sofitel and snacks were hard to come by at the Montague whereas Sofitel was constantly filling up the snack bowls.
This hotel is directly across the street from the British Museum and a very short walk to the Covent Garden district. If you're looking to be a 5 minute walk from the 'action' in a very nice hotel, this is a great choice. It is about a 10 minute walk to Holborn underground station and is a £72 cab ride from Heathrow, though we may have been taken on a bit of a 'sightseeing' cab ride back to the airport.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Montague on the Gardens.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in London and thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,441
    629
    97
    24
    9
See reviews for
709
2,049
276
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After a fairly disappointing experience at holiday inn you may read my review about it but we went off to Strasbourg and 4 days later we where back in London and we booked the Montague on the gardens hotel. We came by Taxi and the nice porter opened the cab door for us and put our cases on a to trolley and the nice porter took our cases up to the room that is what the holiday inn could only dream of any we where grated by by two nice young receptionists a Austrian one and a south African one who where both very nice infarct the service was the best i'have ever received from a hotel. when we got up to our room our luggage was delivered but also we got commentary fruit bicets and tea I mean you would only get srivice like that a the Ritz! We did have a problem with the room the sofa bed though because the room was too small and the sofa bed wouldn't fit until we moved bits of furniture out of the way. The following night we went to the bar and we got a relay nice Portuguese student who was studying hotel management so good luck to her. when we cheeked out we were sill greeted by excellent sirvirce and sadly we went home i long to return to this hotel it was one of the best hotels of my life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intercity234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the Montague on the Gardens.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us, especially the service you received from our reception and terrace bar team members.

Being an older style Georgian townhouse, we do have a wide variety of room styles and sizes available. Our reservations department will be delighted to discuss your room options with you upon making your next reservation.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon to The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

Kind regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in August. It is much cheaper than nearby hotels of equal standard, the rooms are clean, nicely decorated and comfortable, plus its location is perfect, right next to the British Museum and a short stroll from Covent Garden. The staff is polite and friendly; I tried the room service one night, my dinner was delivered promptly and it tasted delicious, too. The bathroom is fully equipped with toiletries and bathrobes and slippers are provided. Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay and I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscany82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Montague on the Gardens.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Vitkin, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We, 2 senior citizen ladies, have just returned from a lovely week in London. Because of the reviews and rating on Trip Advisor we chose the Montague and were not disappointed. A lovely hotel in a superb location with a staff who cannot do enough to please you! Our room -#22- was large enough for us not to feel cramped. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully appointed. The only downside was our view to a tiny alley. Breakfast was more than ample, served in a beautiful small restaurant . It made lunch superfluous. Many attractions were within walking distance, and public transportation could not have been more convenient. Both of us will look forward to a return visit to the Montague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammaShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Montague on the Gardens.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you found your room to be well appointed and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering.

We do have a wide variety of rooms available at the Montague including rooms which overlook the gardens or the front of the hotel. Our reservations department would be delighted to discuss these options with you upon making your next reservation.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Montague on the Gardens.

Kind regards
Dirk Crokaert
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Montague on the Gardens while visiting London. The hotel is lovely, with a great location and excellent food! What really sets this hotel apart is the service. We loved all of the staff and found all extremely welcoming and helpful. I am a frequent traveler and can honestly say that the service at the Montague is the best I have ever experienced. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Montague on the Gardens.

I am delighted to read your wonderful comments regarding our service and that you found our team to be extremely welcoming and helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon to The Montague Hotel.

Kind regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent 3 full weeks there during the Olympics. Staff was absolutely fantastic, made me feel right at home, especially the wonderful ladies taking care of the dining room for breakafast. They remembered everybody's name and went out of their way to help in any way they could.
The hotel itself is very convenient, close to the Tube (Russell Square), a real gem of a boutique hotel in the heart of London. Rooms was very small but I did not spend time in it except for sleeping. Bed was big and comfy though and slept like a baby. Every night you'll find something different on your nighstand, amazing cookies, chocolate or linen spray.
Can't stop raving about this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Montague on the Gardens.

It is always wonderful to receive such feedback about our service and I have especially recognised our wonderful breakfast team for making your stay even more enjoyable.

I am delighted that you chose to stay at The Montague throughout the London 2012 Games and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Dirk Crokaert,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just back from 2 nights at The Montague and have to say it was first class.

The place itself is fabulous and the staff are absolutely brilliant. From the minute we arrived to the time they hailed our final cab, the guys couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.

The hotel is delightful and the bar and terrace overlooking the gardens are a delight. We had lunch on our final day which was perfect, I had Duck Shepherds Pie (yes really) and my partner had one of the best chicken burgers around. Oh, we can't forget to mention the cheese on toast nibbles served with early evening drinks - just great.

This was a birthday treat for my partner and the staff made some wonderful extra touches to make it more special.

One of the nicest places we've stayed in for a very long time. Keep up the good work guys - we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The basic room we booked was quite small so we asked for the price of an upgrade. The staff were mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Montague on the Gardens.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, from our lovely terrace overlooking Bedford Estate gardens to the Blue Door Bistro, cheese on toast in the bar and our front of house team.

I am pleased that our extra little touches helped to make your birthday treat even more special and may I take this opportunity to once again wish you many happy returns.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon to the Montague Hotel.

Kind regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,205 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,787 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing