We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely traditional hotel. An excellant find for London !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This makes a great base for a stay in London. The hotel still has traditional values and makes you feel welcome as a guest. The hotel is nicely decorated and the staff are all very friendly and helpful all of whom speak excellant english "!

The hotel location is excellant, it is on a very quiet street opposite the British Musuem. especially handy for the Eurostar at St Pancaras.

The room was comfortable and smartly furnished, very clean and had great facilities, sky tv, air con, coffee & tea, toiletries .. the only downside being that it was very small. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it was expensive as were the drinks in the bar but there are plenty of cafes, pubs and restaurants close by. For good quality traditional british food would highly recommend the Friend at Hand pub located just by Russell Square Tube Station

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade from the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshgirlNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,113 - 3,119 of 4,275 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

The only thing wrong with this delightful hotel is the small size of the bedrooms (although the beds are super comfy and there is a rainfall shower). The service is 5 star and the lounge, bar and other salon rooms (they serve afternoon tea in one) are quintessentially British. The hotel has a great restaurant with equally impeccable service, or you can grab a light meal in the bar. This hotel is on a quiet street near the British Museum.
My new favorite hotel is London. Quite a find.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60763Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Close to the British Museum, within walking distance of the theatres and Covent Garden, but in a very quiet street. Nice people, great breakfast, perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Having Stayed at several hotels in the immediate vicinity,in London on special occasions,we found this to be the BEST of all.
We were made extremely welcome by all the staff,who couldn't do enough to make our stay extremely enjoyable.
The room exceeded our expectations.and we will be back in November,when we treat ourselves to another theatre trip.
The location is extremely well located for walking to theatre land
Breakfast was superb ,just what we needed before our short stroll back to Kings Cross

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We chose to end a month-long excursion in Europe (parents and ten year-old daughter) with a fine hotel, and the Montague did not disappoint. We had to upgrade to accommodate an extra bed for our daughter, but the extra cost was certainly worth it - we had a lovely view of the gardens. The room was comfortable and clean. We dined twice in the restaurant, which also featured stellar service and excellent food. One of our daughter's goals was to experience a high tea, and the Montague offers one: it was excellent, and seemed to attract some locals as well as hotel guests (tip: High Tea is popular on Sundays - one should book a reservation if one desires to partake on Sunday). The hotel is located literally around the corner from the British Museum, and only a 5 minute walk to the Holborn tube station. But perhaps the most impressive element of the hotel was the Staff; everyone - from front desk, to concierge, to manager, to bar and restaurant staff - was friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Indeed, our daughter gave several hugs as we departed! We feel that we have discovered our new favorite hotel for visits to London.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REB266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had booked this hotel as part of a theatre break through Superbreak.com, it was not therefore possible for us to know exactly what the rooms cost us, but taking the value of the theatre tickets, and allowing for booking fees, into account, we probably paid a similar amount to the hotel's own rates.

On our arrival at the hotel we could not have wished for a better welcome, we knew that due to our time of arrival that our room was unlikely to be ready but they offered us the use of a room to freshen up, which although we did not take up the offer we were appreciative of. Whilst we waited to see if our room could be made ready we were given tea and coffee on the house. As our room was not ready and we needed to get to the theatre they looked after our luggage for us, which they also did on the day we booked out.

The concierge was a credit to his vocation, not only did he welcome us and offer us tea but as part of the conversation with him he had determined that we were going to a matinee performance at the theatre that afternoon, without us asking he arrived with a map and gave us directions to the theatre.

I will say that throughout our stay all the staff were friendly and helpful.

The decor in the public areas is traditional but not stuffy and newspapers are available in the sitting area.

We were in a King double room which was a little small, fine for a weekend but probably not for a week. The room itself was clean and decorated to a very high standard, the bed was very comfortable. There were plenty of hangers, proper removable ones, which always makes a difference to ones stay. I would have liked some drawers for clothes, but given the size of the room I am not sure exactly how I would fit them, but perhaps a redesign of the bedside tables would give at least some drawer space.

The bathroom was of a decent size but there were a couple of comestic issues, the toilet seat and cover had what looked like scratches on them, making the underlying material show through in places. There was also a crack in a couple of the floor tiles. The bathroom was clean and the supplied soaps and lotions were of good quality, as ever though with hotels the bath towels were too small. The shower was of the rainfall type, i.e. the shower head fixed into the ceiling, which is not my preference, but the water pressure was good and it was fit for purpose.

Breakfast was good, though better on the Sunday than the Monday, we particularly liked that you could ask for eggs cooked fresh.

The hotel location is excellent, just round the corner from the British Museum and within walking distance of places such as Covent Garden, Oxford Street and the theatre area. Those using public transport may like to know that the best option from Oxford Street is the number 7 bus which stops almost opposite the hotel.

There are plenty of places to eat within 5-10 minutes walk of the hotel. One we would recommend is Konaki, a Greek restaurant on Coptic street.

This hotel is definitely one of those that we would welcome staying at again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egremontonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.If you want a treat book into this hotel and enjoy everything about it from the friendly staff to the relaxing ambience.We wish that we had discovered this hotel before now!The breakfasts and evening meals,in particular.are first class.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,075 in London
3,287 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,075 in London
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,075 in London
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $251 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing