We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location/Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #148 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Location/Amenities”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent a week end of September 2013. Had a great room, right on the Square, but still very quiet. Enjoyed a drink in the bar and ordered room service one morning. Friendly, thoughtful housekeeping staff. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knottypiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to read you liked your stay with us, it is great to read each element of your stay lived up to your expectations.

I am so glad you enjoyed one of our rooms that overlook the Leicester Square and could experience all of the hustle and bustle of the square, without the noise.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will have the opportunity to return to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    640
    230
    129
    80
See reviews for
530
1,166
144
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is splendid and located perfectly for us who like getting theater tickets at the half-price booth a few steps away. The plumbing was only fair for us in our particular room, but the best thing about the hotel was the assistance we received from David and Keirnan. They gave us restaurant advice, direction-to-walk advice, and tips on enjoying London. Being in the heart of Leicester Square is a definite plus too if one likes people and the theater.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvilletreesteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such positive comments of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is really lovely to read how helpful David and Keiran were during your visit. It seems as if they really made your stay and I will be sure to share your feedback with them. I know they will both be so pleased to read your comments, with so many restaurant options and places to see and explore we quite understand how important advice is to make the most of everything the area has to offer.

We hope you will be back again soon to see another show and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I came here recently with a group of friends for a birthday afternoon tea, and was extremely pleased with the whole experience. Having had enjoyable teas on a couple of previous occasions in other London hotels, I was slightly nervous about whether this would live up to my expectations, but it surpassed them. We were presented with a wonderful array of sandwiches, scones and cakes on a huge 2-tier cake stand, and everything was delicious. I felt that the cake selection was also the best I have yet had - there was perhaps a slightly smaller range than at other similarly-priced locations (a jelly with fruits in, an iced carrot cupcake, and an iced vanilla sponge), but for that I think the quality and standard of these were better. The scones were also delicious - freshly baked and served with both strawberry and raspberry jam, as well as cream. And the sandwiches were great too. We also had the option of tea or coffee. As most of us opted for tea, it came in a huge bucket-like teapot, and was constantly replenished. The staff were very friendly and helpful too, and seemed genuinely interested in our and other guests' welfare. We were also impressed by the look of some of the main meals going past. Overall we spent 4 hours there, and felt in no way rushed or pressured to leave. The staff were also very happy to pack up the leftovers for us, which was much appreciated. Overall I would definitely recommend this as a location for afternoon tea, and hope to be back myself before too long. The location is very convenient too, directly in Leicester Square. The room was also pleasant, and the seats very comfortable, and the tables well spread so you didn't feel too close to other guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic review! I am delighted you chose our restaurant to celebrate such a special occasion and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It is wonderful to read everything from the food to the service to the seats were to your complete perfection and I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable afternoon.

The team and I take great care in looking after our guests and to read that we have surpassed your expectations is very encouraging and I will be sure to share your positive comments with the team.

I am pleased you will be back to dine with us again soon, perhaps upon your return you will have the opportunity to sample our A La Carte dinner menu, I would highly recommend our fish and chips which are delicious!

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had a standard twin room. The room was not huge but tastefully decorated with nice shower and shampoo stuff in large bottles rather than the little plastic things.
I had a drink in the downstairs bar but didn't use the facilities of the hotel otherwise as I was barely in it except to sleep.
The service levels generally were what I've come to expect from a 5 star hotel, good without being too obtrusive.
The location can't be faulted. It's right on Leicester Square and would be particularly good for a leisure break as you can walk to so many places from there and the nearest tube station is minutes away.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor just off the square and it was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GafiaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hampshire hotel for your recent visit to London.

I am so pleased to read you liked your room and the amenities we provide. It is wonderful to read such positive comments about our services and team and I will be sure to share your review with them.

I hope you will return to stay with us again soon and upon your return have the opportunity to try our restaurant Scoff & Banter. We offer a variety of delicious traditional English dishes and some wonderful cocktails too.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require assistance with any future bookings.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Myself, my wife and two children (aged 8 and 10) recently had the pleasure of staying at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel for a half term break from school. This was our fourth stay as we find the hotel offers excellent value for money in terms of a family room sleeping two adults and two kids in Central London. The location is perfect, Leicester Square houses many family friendly restaurants, including TGI Fridays, Bella Italia, Pizza Hut and the Rainforest Café, so something to suit most budgets, as we were keen to make the most of our stay, we tended to grab a coffee and pastries for breakfast from one of the many coffee shops nearby to start off our day. The tube station is around 3 minutes walk away which meant you can get around London with ease, a family tube ticket costs around £14 for a day covering zones one and two which will give you access to all of the main tourist attractions, its a cheaper and faster alternative to taxi's. The square is safe and well policed throughout the day and night, we felt very comfortable in getting back at 10pm some nights with the kids. The location has the added attraction of being around 5 or six minutes walk to Hamleys, probably the worlds best toy shop, so it's not far to walk back to the hotel with bags of toys under you arms. The hotel staff were wonderful, everyone we came into contact with was very sincere and seemed genuinely intent on making our stay a very pleasant one, they made a fuss of the kids and nothing was too much trouble, the concierge was very knowledgeable and was more than happy to spend a good 5 / 10 minutes in planning the best routes to cram in the sights each day. The room was amazing, modern, clean, spacious and comfortable, with great views over the square it was a pleasure to come back to each night. It is rated as a five star and it's easy to see why, an understated luxury gives a classy yet comfortable feel. When it was time to go home, the doorman kindly ran through the square and brought a taxi to the door for us, they really went out of their way to look after us and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire to anyone looking for a great family room for a stay in the centre of London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Chris,

I am very grateful for the time you have taken to review our hotel and thank you for sharing such lovely comments with other travelers.

it is great to see that our location seems to have perfectly suited your requirements. We find being so close to such a variety of attractions very convenient, especially for those traveling with children.

I am delighted to read that each staff member contributed in someway to making your stay an enjoyable one and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

For many years, I have saved up my (now) Carlson reward points. I even bought some when they offered 2:1 offer. Eventually, I had enough to stay at this 5* hotel for free! My first reward stay, I was treated like royalty. For just £60 I could upgrade to a suite. It was grand. I noticed a light bulb was out, but hey! The whole stay was, as you should expect from a 5* hotel! just great.

This week I stayed again. Used the balance of my points. Oh dear. No upgrade offered, which is fine, but, stuck in a pokey 'deluxe' room which looked over the air conditioning units at the back of the hotel. Frosted 'glass' sticky plastic over the window for privacy. Again, a light bulb out. 5* remember! The floor boards creaked horribly every time I moved. God knows what the people below thought was going on. No slippers in the room, shower leaked badly onto the floor. Used all the towels to mop up. And, all night you get the hum of the 'farm' of a/c units buzzing on the roof just outside your window.

First stay was first class. Second stay so disappointing. Supposed to be 5* and should be like that all the time.

May sound ungrateful, but at £350 a night but should NEVER be average.

Room Tip: ALWAYS ask for a room with a view of Leicester Square. The rear rooms are so noisy with the a/c unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Phil,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at our hotel, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and we thank you for the time taken.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your first stay with us so much and that you chose to stay with us again based on this experience. I am however very disappointed your return visit did not live up to your initial expectation.

We quite agree that your second experience should have met the standards you first encountered and I would like to sincerely apologise for the shortfalls experienced upon this occasion. Whilst, depending on availability, we are not always able to offer upgrades I am sorry that your room was not your liking. Please rest assured i have brought the rooms failings to the attention of the hotels management team to investigate and address as soon as possible to ensure these do not affect our future guests.

I sincerely hope you will choose to give us another credit of your trust based on your first experience with us. We have several variety of room categories that vary in layout and design and please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your arrival so that we may ensure we have all of your preferences in place.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel in July 2013. So far the best Hotel that I have stayed in, in London. The location is terrific, really close to the Tube, walking distance to the Thames, around the corner is Trafalgar Square, very close to Covent Gardens, close to Theatres, lots of Bars & Restaurants. The Hotel was a delight. The room was quiet, clean, fresh water every day, good sized room, we looked over Leicester Square. The service from the staff was wonderful. I will stay here again next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

To read that we are the best hotel you have stayed in in London makes me and the team incredibly proud and we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and for such a fantastic review, we couldn't have described the hotels location better ourselves and we hope you enjoyed your time in London.

It is lovely to hear how well appointed our rooms are and I hope you will have the opportunity to return to us again soon.

If you require any assistance with future reservation please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,067 in London
835 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Address: 31-36 Leicester Square, London WC2H 7LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Family Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Graceful Edwardian Hotel in a building dating from 1906, situated in centre of the West End. An amazing location with views over both Trafalgar Square and Leicester Square, the Hampshire sits in the very heart of London's Theatre District but also interestingly close to the centre of Whitehall and London's Diplomatic Quarter. The Hotel offers an in room spa service, two outdoor terrace cafes during the Spring/Summer months, a Gym, a Business Centre as well as the Hampshire Restaurant & Bar. The Penthouse on the eight floor plays hosts to some very spectacular events. A discreet London address to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing