We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms, but "Waterloo" is slightly misleading if you don't know the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel London Waterloo
Ranked #320 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, Uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Big rooms, but "Waterloo" is slightly misleading if you don't know the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel is actually situated at the rear of Lambeth Palace but there are plenty of bus connections to Waterloo, Victoria etc. I use it as it's good value for work trips and I can walk to our office in Waterloo along the riverside if it's fine weather. Rooms are big and well equipped. Nice quality sheets and big towels - albeit not fluffy! Shower head sprays a bit wonky (and could not adjust) so floor got quite wet. Toilet separate to bathroom which I quite like. Carpet looked grubby but actually wasn't ... It was an effect created by the pile of the carpet.

Room Tip: I'd suggest higher the better and away from the main road - which is busy from very early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
What a great second feedback! Thank you for vsiting us after 4 year ! It is always a pleasure for us to hear extremely satisfied guests as it is an encouragement to the whole team in keeping on providing such high levels of service. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    1,370
    404
    86
    43
See reviews for
1,465
519
107
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kerava, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Compared to my earlier hotel in Amsterdam, this was luxury! Nice, large, clean room with good amenities. Good service, great breakfast, excelent location. But: great to have a separate toilet and bathroom, but no way to wash hands in the toilet, had to go through the room to bathroom... And the minibar could have something more than just water :) Anyway, I enjoyed my stay and will go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tintti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear that we are a "luxury" hotel. Thank you also for complementing us on the excellent service provided to you during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to your next stays.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our family stayed at the Novotel London Waterloo for 4 nights in May 2014. We had two rooms for 5 persons (two adults and three semiadult teens). Our upgraded Executive Rooms were surprisingly spacious, one with the view and one almost with the view (our room of course with windows to backyard). This hotel is truly suitable for families with kids, and it can be observed in the restaurant and lobby area. This was my fouth time at Novotel Hotel, and although they are rather identical everywhere - I like this comfortable Novotel style. The major room details are as follows: 1) rather slow but working Wi-Fi connection, 2) cool (and noisy) coffee machine, 3) very nice bathroom amenities, 4) separate toilet without possibility to wash your hands, 5) room is clean and spotless,. You will also notice that fitness room is very good, and all the staff very friendly and polite. There is also restaurant called Elements. Breakfast was excellent, and dinner buffet provided many nice starters, main courses and desserts with good value for money. You will not starve there. The restaurant was very big positive surprise for all of us. Thank you for providing excellent meals for us. As you can read from the other reviews, the location of the hotel is very good, and many major attraction are very close to you there. There is also direct bus connection to Oxford Circus. If you want to go Victoria Station, use taxi or bus (two bus ride from Waterloo station to Victoria). From Waterloo tube station you can go to Westfield Stratford City in 15 minutes. Have a nice south bank walk from the hotel to tube station. Go the the Horseferry Road if you need Pret a Manger or Starbucks (tiny one with excellent staff and atmosphere). Altogether, we had very good four nights' hotel experience.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OPP_lahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

What a great feedback! Thank you for that!

The whole team and I were thrilled to hear that you have had such a wonderful time with us at Novotel London Waterloo.

Indeed we love to indulge all of our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in our central yet quiet hotel.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Cambs
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is very close to Lambeth Palace and the Thames and is a pleasant Thames side walk from the many attractions offered around the Southbank Centre – and from there to all that central London offers. It is not particularly close to the underground but there are several stations within moderate walking distance including Waterloo and Westminster served by 6 different lines between them or the slightly closer Lambeth North on the Bakerloo line.

The hotel rooms appear to be split along view lines. Executive rooms have views, non executive don’t but the lesser rooms are fine. The rooms are clean, the beds are ok although not the best and the restaurant and bar area are well run. The meals we had were good value and enjoyable.. WiFi in the room was free.

At times, the Novotel prices are amongst the very best for decent accommodation in London and we had no complaints at the price we paid. If we had paid more, I would have moaned about the lack of subtitles on the TV but luckily I don't have to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsJustMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on our team work and services.

We are very pleased to hear that we made your stay enjoyable and that all the services you used were at your satisfaction.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

rooms are tired. The cleaning of the room leaves alot to be desirded - i had dirty cups left in the room - i did report it and the woman on reception did bring up fresh cups. Shower leaked everywhere and was no more than a trickle - report on the first day but never fixed (i asked twice).
Location is the best thing about the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peel362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I thank you for your comments and your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that the service you received from our team were not to our usual standards. Please rest assured that the points you made were addressed.
I am pleased to read that the location of the hotel has met your expectations.
Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Hotel is very good, clean , good services, wifi and the people was very nice with us to answer our doubts. It is quite modern and new. The location is spectacular, its possible to walk through the riverside of the thames directly to the London Eye. Also, you can get good breakfast on the way with a fantastic view.I travel with my two daugthers , although the room is no so big we did not face any problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for pointing out your very satisfactory stay at Novotel London Waterlooo in your positive feedback. I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#180 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#277 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Waterloo

Property: Novotel London Waterloo
Address: 113 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Family Hotel in London
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Romantic Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one step away from the River Thames, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and minutes away from the London Eye. Enjoy a fantastic stay in our spacious air-conditioned bedrooms, with an exceptionally comfortable Queen size bed, en-suite facilities, LCD TV, large desk and a laptop size safe. Some rooms offer amazing views of the London skyline. Be tempted by our varied buffet breakfast and our tasty international cuisine served in our Elements Restaurant. Sit back and relax with a cocktail in our Elements Bar. Up to 2 children (under 16 years) can stay free (with breakfast) when sharing a room with adults. Access to kid’s play corner, an Xbox console, Vauxhall City Farm and other family friendly activities mins away. Unwind in our In Balance Fitness and Wellbeing centre, complementary for our guests. Convenient links to the heart of the city within walking distance to underground stations, bus stops and city rental bikes. On site paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Waterloo Hotel London
Accor London Waterloo
London Novotel Waterloo
Novotel London Waterloo England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing