We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least I know the walls are freshly painted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Waterloo
Ranked #324 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“At least I know the walls are freshly painted”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Novotel, as many Novotels are, is unimpressive. Pretty much average in every way. I had to stay here because I was in London the week of Wimbledon, needed to be near St Thomas' hospital and everything else was way over my corporate limit.

The hallways were being painted and the smell was really hard to tolerate, but nothing to do about it. I asked to move to a different floor, but they all smelled the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience following your stay with us.
I am grateful for your commen and we will look into the different subjects you have been referring to. I can already reassure you that your feedback will be very helpful to us.
I am pleased to confirm that we are in process of light refurbishing in some bedrooms and corridors. Earlier this year we have fully refurbished 15 bedrooms on the 5th floor to the new Next generation Novotel bedroom.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel London Waterloo for your future stay in London.
Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    1,399
    417
    92
    45
See reviews for
1,510
532
110
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location is the best you can get in London at the price. Bang on the Thames and if you get the road facing location...you cannot get anything better
Rooms are a bit cramped. The basic aqmenities like wifi is available but chargeable and at a bomb price. Breakfast is well spread but guess the overall menu for lunch and dinner needs to have more choices
It scores high because of the location and the fantastic service(especially the Polish lady...sorry cannot remember the name who manages the breakfast) of the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Try for the room facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bose_abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay at our hotel, we are very appreciative of your feedback.
I am so pleased to read that our convenient location, on the doorstep to the River Thames and a couple of minutes’ walk away from Lambeth station was perfect for you.
I ma surprise with your comment regarding the WIFI as it is free to use, and the speed is enough for people who are using the hotel for work, accessing the internet in their room to check emails, update presentations and for general entertainment.
I will personally pass your praise to Diana who manages the breakfast.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel London Waterloo for your next trip in London.
Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and enjoyed each stay. Staff helpful and polite. We have had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant breakfast is good value and dinner was fine. Parking is available on site which is handy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61Wills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review left on Tripadvisor following your stay in our property.
What a great pleasure to read that you were fully satisfied again by our property, enjoying each stay . I am also very happy that our staff made all the difference by being so were very friendly and extremely helpful.
It was a real pleasure looking after you during this stay and we will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Novotel London Waterloo for your future trip in London.
Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croissy-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

First of all, it is a Novotel : this means a high professional standard, but of course it is a chain, ie if you know Novotel you will recognize it immediately.
What I like with this Novotel is the view over the Lambeth palace. Ask for a room on the 5th floor with the view over the street ! The picture I took from my IPad is now my main screen and every one is puzzled to recognize such a view over Lambeth palace as well as Big Ben and Westminsteron the background.
Staff also is very nice and helpful.
For the rest, Amenities and room meets the traditional Novotel standard: rooms are very large, and they even have suites with Nespresso coffee machines.
I had to chose with an other nearby hotel (plaza Hotel) and found quite often that Novotel was offering a better value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the palace of the Archbishop
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill6978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for this excellent review of the Novotel London Waterloo.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
And remember to ask for a room with view on Lambeth Palace, Big Ben etc...Subject to availability.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for business and for leisure. The hotel staff are wonderful: they are super helpful and responsive.We chose this hotel because the room had a bed and sofa bed and because of the location. The location was even better than we could have expected: walking from the hotel to the embankment was lovely as we passed the London Garden Museum. The buses were easy to catch and frequent. The food was excellent and there is food and beverage available at a wide range of times. If you want a great stay at a reasonable price, this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor, facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMI_720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I am pleased to hear that you were happy with the hotel location and food service.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Underground secured parking available, expensive but still against London rates I guess. Excellent location, many busstops nearby taking you to all different key points ... boulevard next to Thames right outside the hotel (Big Ben & Lodon Eye at walking distance). Rooms are basic but everything required is there, except for a toilet brush ;-) ... good sleep quality (comfortable & quiet), nice view from the hotel room. Went with 2 adults & one 15 year old ... a room that is being suggested as a 3-4 person room should be bigger. Breakfast was nice, nothing special, but good choice to start the day. Tables for one person were fitted with head phones and TV, excellent idea! If you want to enjoy a touristic bus ride (open top), there are 2 companies offering rides within a 50 meters walk (bus stop). In short, for a city trip or a short stay business trip, Novotel is the place to be. Sauna, fitness room, etc. free of charge, did not use it, hence I cannot rate the same.

Room Tip: higher floor, room with a view (Big Ben, London Eye, Houses of Parliament)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PyroSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am happy to hear that the hotel location was ideal for you and that you had a comfortable stay.

I would definitely recommend that on your next stay you use the sauna, steam room and gym facilities as this would complete your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind Regards
Bernard Panisse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Check in very efficient very friendly staff. Room very good everything worked. Breakfast ok if a bit dried evening meal very good staff very welcoming and food good quality. Tv tables fantastic idea for lone diners

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive comments of our team's service.

I will most certainly share your comments with the team and I can assure you they will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The tables for one person with TV and headphones in our Elements restaurant are very famous within the Novotel brand, it can be found in many hotels in the UK.

We are very pleased that our guests like it and take the most of it.

I hope to see you again at Novotel London Waterloo.

Kind Regards
Bernard Panisse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#268 of 1,067 in London
2,087 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#178 of 1,067 in London
2,141 reviews
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#140 of 1,067 in London
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#241 of 1,067 in London
2,783 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Waterloo

Property: Novotel London Waterloo
Address: 113 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Family Hotel in London
#231 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Romantic Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one step away from the River Thames, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and minutes away from the London Eye. Enjoy a fantastic stay in our spacious air-conditioned bedrooms, with an exceptionally comfortable Queen size bed, en-suite facilities, LCD TV, large desk and a laptop size safe. Some rooms offer amazing views of the London skyline. Be tempted by our varied buffet breakfast and our tasty international cuisine served in our Elements Restaurant. Sit back and relax with a cocktail in our Elements Bar. Up to 2 children (under 16 years) can stay free (with breakfast) when sharing a room with adults. Access to kid’s play corner, an Xbox console, Vauxhall City Farm and other family friendly activities mins away. Unwind in our In Balance Fitness and Wellbeing centre, complementary for our guests. Convenient links to the heart of the city within walking distance to underground stations, bus stops and city rental bikes. On site paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Waterloo Hotel London
Accor London Waterloo
London Novotel Waterloo
Novotel London Waterloo England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing