We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel in Greenwich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis London Greenwich
Ranked #425 of 1,068 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel in Greenwich”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Booked 2 rooms for 2 nights as attending The National TV Awards in the O2. Booked well in advance online with Ibis and got the £59 rate per room per night. Thought this was excellent value considering the prices of most hotels in the area. Rooms were compact, adequate and clean and yes you only get one towel and one pillow, but remember this is a budget hotel and doesn't pretend to be anything else. If you want more towels or pillows just ask - we did. We have stayed in an Ibis before so we knew what to expect and were happy with the standards. We found the staff helpful enough with any questions we raised.

We chose to go out for breakfast as Cafe Rouge charges £8.50 for the usual cooked less for Continental. If you want really cheap Weatherspoons 'The Gate Clock', a few mins down the road, do a value full English for £2.99 (poor quality sausage though), but the locals are usually in there drinking by 10 in the morning! and it soon fills up with students breakfasting. If you want a quality full English 'The Green Cafe' across the road is excellent - very tasty food with pleasant service, but a full English there is £7.95 so you're back up to the price of Cafe Rouge. We had intended having dinner out the first night at Pizza Express, but due to it being temporarily closed for a refurb, we went to Cafe Sol nextdoor instead and enjoyed a good Mexican meal in a buzzy atmosphere as very busy. Plenty of variety of other restaurants/bars just minutes walk away to choose from. We also had lunch in the Beachcomber which was a reasonable value fish meal.

A taxi to the O2 was £15 so obviously the local bus is a lot cheaper. If you want to do some proper London sightseeing you need to catch the DLR to Canary Wharf and then connect to the tubes from there which is easy enough as Greenwich Maritime Station is again just minutes away. Parking was £3 a day and we found it easy enough to get a space - maybe we were lucky though.

So, all in all, we were happy with choosing the Ibis. Last year we stayed in the Holiday Inn Express much closer to the O2, but that was more expensive and we didn't like its position virtually in the middle of industrial wasteland.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0975-gm, General Manager at Ibis London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis London Greenwich again very soon. Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    549
    226
    56
    56
See reviews for
189
530
92
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Cafe Rouge restaurant a welcome addition. Staff all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancsabroad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0975-gm, General Manager at Ibis London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis London Greenwich.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I had a very nice experience at the Ibis Greenwich, the hotel is very nice, the area is quiet, close to everything, market, Shops, Canary Warf.... the room was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly!

Of course, I will come back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLLIN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0975-gm, General Manager at Ibis London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis London Greenwich.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here for two nights and the room cost £59 for a Friday and £69 for a Saturday when we booked a few weeks in advance. For what we paid I thought this hotel was great value. Sure the rooms are basic (no fridge, no hairdryer, only one pillow each and no toiletries to speak of apart from a mini bar of soap and some soapy fluid in the bathroom I think was designed for hair/body washing). However the room was spotlessly clean, a reasonable size for two people and the bed was comfortable.

The main benefit was the location. The hotel is only a few minutes stroll to Greenwich mainline station and very close to the beautiful park, the market and the shops and restaurants. We found the staff to be helpful without being overly friendly and when we discovered the TV wasn't working in our room they repaired it within the promised 15 minute guarantee they set on putting right any faults in the room.

The breakfast is extra and is served at the adjoining Cafe Rouge but we didn't think this offered good value and chose to eat at one of the many nearby cafes. The same applies to dinner as there are some very nice places to eat in Greenwich and Blackheath. The Laicram Thai restaurant in Blackheath was a particular favourite, despite the 1970's decor!!

Overall this hotel delivers a basic but clean room for a reasonable price. If you don't want to spend a fortune on accomodation in Greenwich then I think this is the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagpussandoctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0975-gm, General Manager at Ibis London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis London Greenwich again very soon. Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Awful hotel, awful unhelpful staff. Awful rooms (cold and uncomfortable and very very basic) only stay here if you really have no where else you can go.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkers186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0975-gm, General Manager at Ibis London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis London Greenwich wasn’t up to expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. Please feel free to email me on H0975-GM@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Unhelpful staff, tiny rooms uncomfortable beds, weren't able to provide the double bed which I had booked on their website. All in all, a terrible hotel to stay in. Only use if you have absolutely no alternative. Their is a novotel just a few minutes up the road (Owned by the same group) which is a much more pleasant experience. Spend the little extra and improve your stay no end.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanfrom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0975-gm, General Manager at Ibis London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis London Greenwich. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the matter.
Please feel free to email me on H0975-GM@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#252 of 1,068 in London
1,887 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#401 of 1,068 in London
1,374 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Greenwich
#535 of 1,068 in London
514 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Greenwich

Property: Ibis London Greenwich
Address: 30 Stockwell Street, London SE10 9JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in London
#317 Romantic Hotel in London
#386 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Greenwich 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis London Greenwich is an economy London hotel, located in the historic centre of Greenwich, close to Maritime Museum. Your hotel puts you close to Cutty Sark and Royal Observatory. You can easily access Canary Wharf, the O2 Arena or Excel Ehxibition Centre via local transport links. Hotel is within short ride from London City Airport and the Olympic Park. Relax in the bar with a coffee or a glass of wine, and choose from a range of bar snacks and light meals. Paying outdoor parking available. The hotel is located in historic Greenwich, close to Greenwich Park and the River Thames. Riverboat services to Tower, Westminster and Waterloo piers. Also services east to the O2 Arena. Inviting, modern and cosy, with a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom. The ibis room has got everything you need for a pleasant stay. Hotel 100% non smoking.From central London by car: Follow Waterloo Bridge, Elephant & Castle, New Cross and A2 to Greenwich. From M25: follow A2 Central London. 15 min. by train from Waterloo East or Charing Cross. Underground: 2-min. walk from Greenwich Train Station and fromthe Docklands Line (Stop at Cutty Sark Station).GPS: N 51° 28' 47.83'' W 0° 0' 33.74'' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Greenwich Hotel London
Accor London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing