We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sustainable local foods with creative deserts.”

Boyds Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #1,518 of 25,129 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster
Reviewed September 10, 2016

I loved Boyd's. First of all its in an eco hotel which is awesome. They use sustainable, organic and fair trade products. Locally caught seafood and locally raised beef and chicken. I was sold already when I heard this. The food was also wonderfully cooked and paired. We started with Caesar salads which were fantastic. I had the Ireland caught wild salmon which was simply cooked and fantastically melt in your mouth.
Although I didn't have desert, the chef here has a special ice cream concoction. Where he makes special flavors for each individual and freezes it with nitrogen table side. I would love to go back and try that one day.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AlicesAdventures13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Thank you very much for your very detailed review of your dinner with us.
We are very proud, and in fact associated as well with "Slow Food" and the "Arc of Taste" due to our careful selection of ingredients and our believe in British products in general.
It is very important to understand the sustainability of things that we eat to ensure we will still eat them for generations to come.
One last thing. You MUST come and try our kitchen bar experience. You have never had ice-cream until you had ours.
Until your next visit to our kitchen bar,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 593 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2016

We were looked after superbly by Roberto despite the many questions and varied requests from our excited party. The opulent entrance has the wow factor which was matched with beautiful modern furnishings. Our Love Theatre package provided a selection of premium 3 course options from a number of restaurants - The Boyds sample menu catered for all of our tastes and requirements I ncluding Celiac options. If I have any minor grumbles, I would have like more veg with my wood pigeon - other main options chosen came with a selection of perfectly cooked rich green vegetables; I would also prefer to add my own tip rather than be encouraged to pay the '12.5% service charge included'; finally we were charged £7 for a pot of tea for one and possibly shouldn't have been since voucher said 3 course meal and coffee.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank donnam753
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and our pre-theatre menu and benefited from this fantastic offer. I can sadly confirmed that these were only for the 3 course meal and did exclude all drinks and service charge, which is always discretionary.
I am really pleased that you have still managed to give us such a high rating and thank you very much for it.
I hope we will welcome you all back very soon.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

You step off a busy street into a quiet oasis. A beautifully decorated dining room and bar where you can enjoy a relaxed pre-theatre meal. The food is great - we had a sharing platter of English deli meats and cheeses to start, followed by cottage pie. All was delicious. The best bit though is the service. The waiting team are attentive, friendly and quick. The location is great with lots of theatres within walking distance.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RoyandHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your dinner with us.
It is pleasing to read that all was well on your visit. The cottage pie is my favourite from far as it tastes so good. Our cured meat have been selected from Trealy farm in Wales and they are to us the best at what they do.
I hope to welcome you back very soon for another go at our British specials.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Hidden away from the main tourist trail, the historic building, decor and space makes for an excellent venue. The staff were very polite and attentive, the food was excellent and for central London the prices were food too.
Our only minor disappointment was the time it took to receive our main courses, but this was a mistake recognised by the manager, who apologised, gave us all a free glass of wine and reduced the bill by one main dish.
Overall, very good and I will probably return there.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JulianHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Thank you very much for your review of your dinner with us.
Our building is probably one of the most incredible Victorian legacy in central London.
I am sorry we have had a hiccup with our timings on that evening but glad that you have enjoyed the food. Our standards are a key for a event less evening and if something goes wrong, we aim to rectify it as quickly as possible.
I am certainly looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Straight forward simple dishes done well. I tried the pre theatre menu which represented good value for money. Well thought out wine with excellent service in lovely surroundings.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant.
Our pre-theatre menu is a fantastic, tasty and quick way to have a proper dinner before your show.
I am glad you tried it and enjoyed it.
We are looking forward to your next visit to the theatre district.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyds Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Boyds Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.