We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average lunch”

Boyds Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #1,518 of 25,129 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Great location just off Trafalgar Square, London. Excellent decor with high ceilings which gave it a roomy atmosphere. Fixed price lunch mediocre, starter salmon fish cake could hardly taste the salmon, main course cottage pie which was very rich in flavour and usual vegetables which were cold. Overall not impressed.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank tottenhamboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your lunch with us.
I am really sorry to read that you have not enjoyed our fix priced menu which is usually very well received. Cold vegetables on the side are not acceptable and I apologies they have been served that way, which is not our standard.
I am really disappointed that you have not enjoyed your lunch on that occasion and hope you will give us the benefice of the doubt and visit us again so that we can deliver you what we usually do in terms of standards.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 593 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2016

Breakfast was included with our stay at the connected hotel, and if it hadn't been, I certainly wouldn't have eaten there. It was extremely overpriced for what was offered. Cold buffet included the usual corn flakes and rice krispie type of cereal, a few pastry and bread choices, cut fruit, and packaged yogurts. That's fine except that they charged almost £15! If you chose to have a hot selection, add £5 more! The hot selections were very limited and the eggs were overcooked. The wait staff, however, were totally delightful.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bethb546
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your breakfast in our restaurant.
I am really sorry to read that you found our buffet somewhat minimalistic.
However, we will be looking at the offering again sometime soon to make it slightly more enjoyable both visually and tastily as we always take all feedback very seriously.
Keep in mind that the restaurant offers a fantastic menu for lunch and for dinner and hope that you will try one of these soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016

I had dinner with friends here on 4th June following an enjoyable trip to the theatre. From the minute we stepped into the restaurant we were treated like royalty, Fabien and his team were amazing, I eat out a lot in fine restaurants and the customer service here was probably the best I have experienced. From the minute you walk through the grand entrance hall, with beautiful chandlers you are transported into an ambiance of elegance and glamour. We had pre dinner drinks at the bar, the staff were amazing, extremely helpful in assisting us chose the perfect wine, which was truly amazing. Our experience in the restaurant did not disappoint the food choice was amazing and the staff were on hand to assist us in choosing the right dishes. All the food we ordered was fantastic, the red wine was amongst some of the nicest wines I have ever had. We had such a fantastic evening we stayed until the restaurant closed. I highly recommend Boyd's, Fabien and his team are amazing and made our trip very enjoyable and memorable The restaurant also caters for large events, private and corporate. Thank you Fabien.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 998clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2016

Thank you so very much for your lovely review of your dinner with us.
It was such a pleasure looking after you all and such a fun evening.
I am glad I could show you around the building and had the time to go through all the other possibilities you may find here. Don't forget to email me if you want me to put you in touch with my colleagues from the event department.
I am looking forward to see you all again very soon for another entertaining evening.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Pleasant experience. Learned before play started that it would end after Boyd's kitchen closed. Visited maitre'd who said So sorry, but please come after 10 PM anyhow. Sit in our bar, try our amazing wine list and we'll make you a meat and cheese sampler. So, after theater we returned, were warmly greeted, promply served fine wine, tasty rosemary bread and crisp cracker array, 3 cheese, 4 salume, and butter. Regret missing dinner menu, but got to enjoy wonderful service, good snack, and marble overdose.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank RangerGreg501
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2016

Thank you very much for reviewing your late snack at our bar.
We are looking at extending our opening hours on the week end in the near future.
I am glad you have enjoyed our selection of British cured meat from Trealy Farm and our selection of British cheeses. These sharing boards are great to have at the bar.
Hope you will visit us again soon and try our full menu this time.
Until then,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2016

With its marbled floor, beautiful chandeliers and well-dressed tables you expect the place to offer an amazing 'fine dining' and a second to none customer service. Unfortunately the latter failed our expectations. The manager was pleasant but waitresses weren't. My friends and I were in the middle of a very serious conversations when one of the waitresses asked if we were done eating our mains (happened during our starter too). It was pretty obvious that we weren't as we were still holding our forks and knives. They kept coming and looking at our table. We felt as we weren't allowed to chew our food just swallow and go.
The food was ok. Wine selection was good.There are loads of places in this area serve the same segment but provide much better value. Make sure to double check your bill as well. They charged us double, but refunded us afterwards.
The 'Kitchen Bar Experience' is a must - the only part I enjoyed.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheHungryBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BoydsGWB_Mgr, General Manager at Boyds Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us and thank you for your feed back.
I am sorry to read that you felt rushed, especially since we do not allocate times to the table nor ask for them back. I will make sure that more training in assessing our customers needs takes place to avoid this situation again.
I am glad you have enjoyed our kitchen bar which is a unique experience.
I hope that you will visit us again, if only for a late ice cream at the kitchen bar.
Until then,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyds Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Boyds Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.