We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Delicious Mexican food in London!”
Review of Picante Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Picante Mexican Grill
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: A small Mexican café just off Victoria Street in Westminster, offering a selection of tasty Mexican specialities for eat-in or take-away. All the food served is prepared from scratch everyday on the premises, from the freshest and most authentic ingredients.Opening Hours Breakfast Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 9.30 – 10.30 Lunch Monday to Friday 11.30 – 15.30 Dinner Monday to Friday 16.30 – 21.30
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow! Delicious Mexican food in London!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Yes, I was prepared to be disappointed. London is not known for its great Mexican food for good reason -- most so-called "Mexican" restaurants here cater to diners used to Asian rather than true Mexican tastes -- "Chilli" (with two "Ls") that tastes like a cross between curry and Ketchup, flavorless burritos that resemble overgrown Chinese dumplings, and stale tacos stuffed with every variety of canned filling. Surprisingly, Picante is true to Mexican flavours and makes every effort to ensure authentic, rather than contrived ingredients. While I would say that Picante offers more of a California-Mexican variety rather than a purist's strictly authentic Mexican menu, the food is freshly made, deliciously satisfying, and definitely a cut way above the usual Mexican fare found in London. All of that, and relatively inexpensive too. Although it is tiny now, has a relatively limited hours and menu, and does not yet serve alcohol, it is well worth a visit or take away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salazarej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food that is so colourful and carefully prepared.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had an excellent meal. The owner was very helpful - my friend has a gluten intolerance and vegetarian.
She wanted a starter as a main, no problem. I wanted a milder beef dish, he made sure of it. My beef was so tender, the black beans were amazing and I really enjoyed the zingy lime.
We would love to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whizzylizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious mexican food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I do love a good Mexican, and there are several restaurants and street food venues in Soho that I used to frequent for a lunchtime burrito, but I recently stumbled across somewhere that tops them all. This little gem seats about 12 people (they serve many more with take away which can be pre ordered to pick up on arrival), and is hidden away somewhere between Victoria and Westminster Cathedral.

I absolutely adore their business card, above, and the interior of their tiny restaurant has the same feel.

Picante offers breakfast from Tuesday to Friday, lunch every day of the week and dinner on Wednesdays and Thursdays.

I have had lunch at Picante twice. I have written a full blog about it at www.alittlelusciousness.blogspot.com. Enjoy!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alittlelusciousness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Wicked burritos”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

These burritos are really nice and always delivered to great quality. The person who wraps them in the end does it in real good way so it's easy and usable to consume afterwards.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flexewebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Very good burrito.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had the Carnitas burrito for lunch. Exceptionally fresh and tasty , the pork meat was excellent. Will re-visit , prices could do with being just a little less. Short walk from Victoria Station , down a side street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante Mexican Grill also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing