We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tribute to small businesses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Picante Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Picante Mexican Grill
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: A small Mexican café just off Victoria Street in Westminster, offering a selection of tasty Mexican specialities for eat-in or take-away. All the food served is prepared from scratch everyday on the premises, from the freshest and most authentic ingredients.Opening Hours Breakfast Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 9.30 – 10.30 Lunch Monday to Friday 11.30 – 15.30 Dinner Monday to Friday 16.30 – 21.30
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tribute to small businesses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Well done for creating a unique and high quality lunchtime venue. Burritos are superb, and well worth the price.. so much better that the mass produced hot food you would get at many chain establishments.

Yes, there are queues - but even today with 5-6 people on the pavement - I waited no longer than 10 minutes in total.

Please keep up the good work - its so pleasing to see an independent restaurant doing so well.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_murf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“a taste of Mexico in Victoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

good food at good prices, cantina style restaurant, if you want a real tasting mexican then this is a good stop off

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badmansw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A regular visitor, deliciously different to the usual places in Victoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Really great place for some delicious Mexican food. Fresh, tasty and full of flavour. Best to go earlier in the week because the lines get pretty huge and service can be a bit slow. This is the price you pay for great food though, not everything can be done at lightning speed. Have been quite a few times now, love it! Don't forget to ask about the frequent eaters card - there's nothing better than a free burrito!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid burritos and great creative lunch option in Westminster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Thought I would not rate this the best burrito in London, it is by far and away the best Mexican in south London, and amongst the top 2-3 lunch options in Westminster. The ingredients are fresh. The long queues will hopefully be helped by a new pre-order system which my colleagues are very anxious to try! The owner is very friendly and the staff, while less friendly do try to push as quickly as possible through orders. My only complaint is my fellow customers, who can't seem to keep their germy hands behind the sanitary glass.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hairtwirler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a hidden gem in westminster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

There aren't many good places to eat in Westminster. Up until a couple of years ago, there weren't many places to eat Mexican food in London full stop. So it was great to find this off the beaten track little Mexican place that opened last year right in my neighbourhood. I've been meaning to check it out for a while, but the fact they're only open Mon-Fri lunchtimes makes it a bit difficult when you're not working in the area. The restaurant is pleasant enough. There's a seating area with 2 tables, probably enough space for 8-10 diners, but make no mistake, this is predominantly set up as a takeaway joint (at least at present... the owner told me that they intend to open evenings and expand the menu later this summer). And it's probably one of the best burritos I've had not just in London, but anywhere. It tastes very personal and homemade, not like the mass batch produced stuff you find at some of the other London taquerias that do 10x the volume I assume Picante does. Everything tasted fresh and high quality, from the grilled chicken right through to the chunky tomato salsa. They also didn't overload it with rice, instead the proportion of meat to rice to salsa to other toppings was just right, and serving generous. Read the owner's reply to the critical comment below, it's characteristic of the whole experience and taste.... good and honest, no gimmicks. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't define it as perfection, but it's as close as you'll probably get in London. No issues with the queue, I was in and out in less than 5 minutes at 1:15pm, the staff seemed competent, friendly and efficient. And they took Amex, I always give plus points for that as it costs a little more to process and shows the vendor cares more about customer convenience than squeezing margins.

Negatives? They only had one kind of salsa, normally you see 2 or 3 different heat choices. Then again, they probably can't make more due to the aforementioned quality as well as the fact that they don't serve as many customers as some of the big chains in more obvious locations. The tortilla was a little hard in places, not sure what caused that. Current opening hours mean I'll struggle to make it back anytime soon, unfortunately, as I didn't get to sample the guacamole.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing