We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Your Average Department Store”
Review of Selfridges

Selfridges
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.70*
and up
Independent Shopping Tour of London with Private Driver
Ranked #26 of 752 Shopping in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit London's famous department store for fine cigars and accessories.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“More than Your Average Department Store”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a chance to sample some of the finer newer designers from the UK while being able to purchase some local food specialties in the Food Court Experience.

It is busy so be prepared to have full shopping aisles and see lots of foreign visitors. You can tell it is a spot to buy and they make it very easy to get Vat reimbursement there so make sure you plan to add a bit of time to do this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    447
    159
    66
    81
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is one of the famous brands and exclusive for London and must visit it in Oxford St. They have a lot of Beautiful Perfumes, Brands Bags exclusive LONDON

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overwhelming experience!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

To much stuff, way to expensive. Had a hard time fiding our way around thw store. Walked out overwhelmed and frustrated! Only positive is that is from another country and spend over 100 pounds you get tax back!

Helpful?
Thank kallen264
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High Class Shopping”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Selfridge's is a very high end store requiring deep pockets. However, it costs nothing to look. Do step into the shoe section. The shoes are organized by designer in little boutiques that are beautifully decorated. I spent a few moments in the Chanel boutique. I told the sales associate I couldn't possibly afford anything she had to sell but she was welcoming and gracious. I was invited to look around as much as I wanted. She also explained that the boutique was modeled after Ms. Chanel's own apartment. Visiting Selfridges was a great experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank torontothoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service/Warranty - (Read this and be aware)”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ordered an electrical item online with Selfridges 6 months ago. This item no longer works due to a fault and after ringing and eventually speaking to a manager in the store (Oxford Street) I was told that the only warranty that Selfridges will give on any electrical item is 14 DAYS! I was told that I should have filled in the manufactures warranty and send it off when I originally received the item from them I said that any other decent shop would have honoured the 12 month warranty and refunded or replaced the item. The reply was we only warranty 14 days and after that it was nothing to do with us. I was also told that they will be altering their terms and conditions as this is not stated at present. Please be aware of this and my advice would be to never ever buy any electrical item from Selfridges and shop elsewhere. You have been warned. Even one star is too high on this review If a zero star could have been awarded it would have been.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrbeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selfridges also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Selfridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing