We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, fantastic service”

Aya Lebanese Cuisine
Ranked #7,194 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Napoli
1 review
“Delicious food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We wanted to have some Lebanese food on a boring an cold Friday night. We've been welcomed by this lovely restaurant. Portions were HUGE and simply delicious.My husband, Mahyar, loved the grilled chicken (he's very demanding!). I enjoyed falafel, pastries with cheese and fries.
We were so full and relaxed by the atmosphere. The staff is very professional but really warm and friendly too. We loved Mrs Fatemah, who made us feel at home.
We highly recommend this restaurant if you ever want to relax and eat lovely food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    5
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“worst valentines meal ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Took my wife to Aya for a valentines evening meal. I had been there or lunch with business colleagues last year and it was very good. Lots of small dishes that kept coming and coming. But what a disappointment on 14 Feb. The restaurant was packed with the tables jammed up against each other and hardly room to sit comfortably. We ordered the valentines set meal. (£25 a head). Our waiter explained that there was a selection of starters to share followed by a chicken main course. If we didn't like chicken we could have something else. We said, fine, we like chicken so we will go with the set meal. Five small dishes arrived-a decent houmous, a potato dish, some mushrooms mixed with minced meat(?), four small savoury pastries and a roughly chopped salad consisting mostly of iceberg lettuce (how lebanese is that?). That was it. Then we noticed other tables getting a small whole roasted chicken surrounded by a few potatoes and a dish of liquid yogourt. We thought surely that is not what we have ordered. But it was . When it arrived we questioned the waiter who proceeded to argue with us and tell us it was our fault! If we did not want chicken we should not have ordered chicken. He took it away and brought back a couple of kebabs on a bed of lettuce. When our desserts (part of the set menu) failed to materialise the waiter told us we had not been served a dessert because we had still had wine on the table-clearly not the case with surrounding tables-he just had an answer for everything! We had coffee instead which was. ok. Just to cap it all the bill came with service added with no option to remove it! Overall, worse than a disappointment just over- priced and frankly embarrassing and we were certainly not the only unhappy customers. I have never written a restaurant review before, but then I have never had such a bad restaurant experience. Avoid!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanR286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Below average in all respects!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We came through for lunch and ordered falafel's, fried potato and lamb kofta. The service was slow and we had to remind them about our drinks once our food had arrived. The food arrived quickly (in about ten minutes), but the falafel's were hard, as though they were reheated in the microwave and the potatoes were soggy but looked as though they were once fried, implying that they too had been reheated in the microwave! The lamb was very average and was not worth the price. Overall, we were happiest with the cool drinks. Don't be duped by the lovely interior. The food is below average!

Helpful?
Thank MinokaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Have to agree with the other reviews - not great - stay clear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went here with friends who'd been 4-5 times and said it was 'good'. The restaurant was packed, but then Lebanese restaurants are few and far between in SW19. The food is ok - nothing special, and certainly anywhere on Edgware Road beats this place hands down. The bread - probably the cheapest thing to make or buy in - was served stale, which as far as we're concerned is a very bad sign of them just trying to make money with complete disregard for anything else. The owner is arrogant, but his wife at least makes an effort with customers. The service - as other reviewers have pointed out - is bad - slow and we had to remind them several times for dishes and to take our order. They left out one dish - a favourite of ours, Fattoush - but we decided the effort to get them to bring it after such an effort with the other dishes wasnt worth it. Bottom line: Probably best avoided. If you are mobile and can get around london, then there are PLENTY of better places to eat Lebanese food at this price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StraightTalking108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I had fellafael meal it was very fresh and tasty, good service nice place for quick lunch highly recommend,i'll certainly go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aya Lebanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Aya Lebanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing