We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search

“Appalling service from untrained staff”
Review of The Grove Pub

The Grove Pub
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
Ranked #9,051 of 28,985 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: British
Description: This stunning example of Victorian architecture has stood as a haven from the hustle of Balham high road since 1877. The interior design is inspired by this decadent period when the scandalous Victorians lorded over the largest Empire in history and Balham was resident to many of London's most notable characters. Enjoy a real ale and one of our famous homemade snacks in the bar, a gin and tonic on the terrace, or enjoy a lavish celebration in the Florence lounge. We do a quiz on Sunday's, chances to win some free pints and a cash prize! We have also launched our exclusive vegan and vegetarian Meat-free Monday's menu available 5-10pm Monday's.
Restaurant details
Description: This stunning example of Victorian architecture has stood as a haven from the hustle of Balham high road since 1877. The interior design is inspired by this decadent period when the scandalous Victorians lorded over the largest Empire in history and Balham was resident to many of London's most notable characters. Enjoy a real ale and one of our famous homemade snacks in the bar, a gin and tonic on the terrace, or enjoy a lavish celebration in the Florence lounge. We do a quiz on Sunday's, chances to win some free pints and a cash prize! We have also launched our exclusive vegan and vegetarian Meat-free Monday's menu available 5-10pm Monday's.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once a great local, sadly now a complete joke.
We went in intending to have dinner only to find that there was only one person on duty who was busy talking to friends at the bar. When we asked for a meal which a card on the table said would be accompanied by ta glass of wine he disappeared to find out. After 15 minutes we left.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Service
Thank JB084439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveBalham, General Manager at The Grove Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review with us. Whilst I understand your frustration, I would like to point out that there are some inaccuracies in what you write - namely that the group of "friends" you state the staff member was chatting with, was actually a group of locals that he was engaging with, and indeed serving, at the time. Secondly, that when he went for a manager to explain through the offer with you that he was not gone anywhere near the 15 minutes that you mention. If you would like to discuss this further, and reach a situation where we can show you that the multiple reviews we have praising the service, attentiveness of the staff and the fact that many, many of our guests are commenting about how much they love the pub then feel free to email me at grovebalham@youngs.co.uk. I look forward to your email, and to being able to show the reasoning for all those statements from other guests. Kind Regards, Andy (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020

the Grove is a local favourite of mine, always a welcoming atmosphere and happy staff! the menu is suited to everyone and food is always top notch, I'm all for the veggie options! its a great little place to have dinner, or enjoy some drinks with friends, definitely recommend to any of those visiting or living in south london

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maddison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveBalham, General Manager at The Grove Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Many thanks for your lovely words Maddison, we're glad that what we do gets noticed. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the staff who will be delighted to hear it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Andy (GM) & The Grove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

The Grove is one of our local pubs in Balham, London and this Christmas Day we decided to forgo hours in the kitchen cooking and take the whole family for Christmas Day lunch. This is our 4th Christmas at the Grove and definitely the best for food and service. Everyone working was cheery and super helpful. The menu was varied - not just the obligatory Turkey. I had pie! So tasty, I love the fact they do not rush you out and your table is your own. The Grove and her staff have definitely earned a place in our hearts (and tummys!) Thank you

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexandradS1910UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveBalham, General Manager at The Grove Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Many thanks for your lovely review Alex. I have passed this onto the team who are delighted to receive such positive feedback. We hope to see you very soon - especially with so much going on (our Quiz Relaunch on Thurs 16th, Burger & Beer, inc non-alcoholic, Night every Wednesday or maybe after Dry January, for the 6 Nations in February. Regards, Andy (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

The pub is lovely spacious and good range of wines to have a drink with mates. But the food is unappetising , poor quality. Have eaten there a couple of times - sharing / starters very small and tasteless. This week had main course and none of us impressed at all- In fact worst Caesar salad I have had ...tasteless !
Pity - if the food was great it would be packed out as staff and ambience are fab.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank amandahM7728HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveBalham, General Manager at The Grove Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review with us, however I'm, understandably a little confused with your comments regarding the food you have had here - "a couple of times"? I don't believe these concerns have ever been passed on to anyone at the time?
As you can see from other reviews, all other reviews seem to have a differing opinion - something matched out by the comments we get daily in the pub too. If you could please send me an email at grovebalham@youngs.co.uk to expand on your comments, I would be interested to hear in more detail of your concerns.
I will leave the same reply on the other reviews you have deemed it necessary to leave also.
Regards, Andy (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019

The Grove is a lovely pub, with great food, a nice relaxed atmosphere and good staff.
Will be going back again very soon.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveBalham, General Manager at The Grove Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Many thanks for your lovely review Chloe; it was a pleasure hosting your visits through the festive period.
We hope to see you again in the new year. All the best, Andy (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Grove Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing