We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, if you know what to expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Equity Point London Hotel
Ranked #184 of 860 Specialty Lodging in London
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, if you know what to expect”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in a shared room for 8 people. Used just as a place to sleep. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

What you should know:
*The place is pretty much as it looks in the photos except it is a little beat up - scuff marks all along the walls. The staircase is quite narrow (use elevator when you carry your luggage up and down).

*Towels are not provided - if you are travelling to other hostels on your trip, I suggest investing in a travel towel (or two)

*When using wifi - buy wifi for the device you are going to use the most. The password they give you to use the internet is not transferable between multiple devices, that is to say you can use either their computers or your own personal device (e.g. tablet or smartphone). If you want to use both, they told me I would need to pay (at least the minimum fee) for wifi on both devices. Also, I should add that roughly 2 hours of wifi access was enough to last me 4 days.

*Good security. Must present your access card to security before entering hostel. I have come after midnight on several occasions, and there was always someone there to check.

*Bathroom/Washroom is cleaned everyday - there is a little whiteboard hanging from the door that says who cleaned this room and when.

*The floor inside the room was probably the least appealing part of the room. The one in my room looked very old and unclean...in one word...scary! Wore a pair of sandals I had brought with me, so I was okay.

Keep in mind:
Roommates can have a big impact on your experience at any hostel. Some of the ones I had were friendly, quiet and considerate, while others partied hard, vomited all over the bathroom floor, made phone calls (in the room) until around 3am. I thankfully missed most of this since I would Skype family and friends from the computer room till around 2-2:30am.

Overall impressions:
It is in a safe neighbourhood.

Would go there again, but may want to try another hostel in another location first for comparison.

The hostel staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The tourist information was very helpful and complimented well with my guidebook.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    457
    365
    180
    184
See reviews for
179
89
455
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as a college weekend away. 8 of us in one room all bunk beds. Initially was fine. By the second day there was a horrible smell of damp coming from the bathroom, yet it was clean. During our stay we were not provided with clean towels. I would recommend if a large group were to stay to divide members of group to smaller rooms. Location was excellent as near local shops; tescos, sansibury etc... and near tube stop also. Great spot for going out at night as there is a common room downstairs which we drank in. Be careful though your not aloud drink spirits in the common room so hide it (our vodka was taken away the first night!!) Great spot as no curfew on hotel! Can't comment on breakfast as was asleep every morning when it was provided. The decor when you enter the hotel is really cool and funky. Staff were friendly and let us use the phone and recommended food etc for us to get to take away one night and we were given a small 'sitting room' late one night to eat our take away in which was really nice. Defo a great hotel for a low budget tour and for going out as close to all amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a private room with 2 friends.
When we arrived the room wasn't ready yet but we were able to store our luggage or wait. As we had just arrived, waiting was not a problem. The lobby consists of a simple bar and a internet café upstairs. Staff was quite busy and forgot to inform us the room was ready.

Breakfast consisted of cereals and toast served in the basement of the hostel, there was a large room with enough seating for everyone.

Room was simple but clean, shower was only so-so. Considering the price it's a good hostel for a affordable stay in London. The immediate area isn't that interesting however.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went with a friend to stay overnight while sight seeing in London. We opted for a shared room for 8 (4 bunk beds) The rooms were clean, although other guests were not overly tidy, this is to be expected at a hostel. We paid About £20 each for an over night stay and this included breakfast. Location is not far from Paddington station, so ideal from a transport point of view. Not the most amazing place I have ever stayed by any stretch of the imagination but for what we paid, you could not complain. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan9320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hostel was better than expected, staff were extremely friendly and rooms were very clean. The wifi not being included was a annoying. The lockers were easy to use and very easy to lock. The bathroom was clean, but the shower was on the crap side with the hot water going from very hot to very cold. Breakfast is included but wasn't much besides toast and cereal. Room was a decent size. Overall not a bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wish we had checked trip advisor first before we booked. Thankfully we were only staying two night. Rooms were ridiculously cramped. Our heater was broken and was on for the first night even in this heat. Staff were unhelpful when asked to fix it. Showers were filthy, crusty curtains and in the two days we stayed our bathroom was not cleaned despite the fact that 8 people were sharing it. Would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything in this hotel and in London is very expensive. Hotel is dirty, people who run hotel are cold and family rooms are very small. WiFi cost £9 for a week. Room key cost £1 per person. Hotel dont have a kitchen. Breakfest is included in price but you can choose between jam, honey, cheese and cereals, for drink you can have coffe or juice. You can't use microwave after breakfest. In the group room, you can stay until midnight, while in the courtyard you can accommodate up to 8PM. We talked louder after 11PM and the security guard came to warn us. It's not allowed to consume alcohol in rooms, in hall or outside the hotel. It's not possible to open a window in a room and the rooms are very stuffy. Light after 5min in your bathroom just go off and shower is so small that fits only one leg.

Room Tip: don't go there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captured0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
967 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Atlas Hostels
Atlas Hostels
#151 of 860 in London
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#158 of 860 in London
282 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point London Hotel

Property: Equity Point London Hotel
Address: 100-102 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 860 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Equity Point London Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Equity Point London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing