We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tad on the pricey side but worth it, just.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Swan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,617 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City of London
Transit: Underground: Chancery Lane
Description: If you don't believe in fairytales, perhaps a visit to The White Swan will change your mind. Tom and Ed Martin, the brothers who run the Swan's umbrella company ETM Group, have applied their magic to transform the former Mucky Duck into a charismatic gastropub. The groundfloor houses a beautifully restored pub packed with traditional features and serving classic pub favourites. Above this is a mezzanine area perfect for after work drinks or a casual drinks party. The first floor dining room meanwhile is an oak-floored, mirrored ceiling restaurant serving tasty British food from the best suppliers and carefully selected produce. The wine menu has been carefully selected from the world's finest vineyards but you are never too far away from a real Ale from the downstairs pub.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tad on the pricey side but worth it, just.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great pub, always a lively and pleasant atmosphere, however you still feel quite conscious of this when sitting in the main restaurant on the second floor - I'd typically expect something a touch more discreet from a restaurant of this price and quality.

As per the title, the menu did feel a tiny bit pricey, maybe £1 or £2 on each of the starter and main courses, how I must say my onglet main was quite simply fantastic. A superbly cooked well balanced dish I could easily have had a second helping of (not that the portion size was in the least bit misely).

Would definitely recommend if you're in this neck of the words, though probably not a 'destination' restaurant to travel to specifically.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidE171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    75
    19
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
“Well done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

On one of our last days in London, husband and I happened upon White Swan. It wasn't as crowded as the pub across the street (filled with rowdy football-soccer) watchers and we were able to get in easily. Ordered and shared the beef pie, which had the flakiest crust (like phyllo dough) and was SO good. The mashers (potatoes) weren't amazing, but with the beef gravy on top, they were better. Good service, clean loos, and would have gone back if we had more time in the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhD_Mama0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant recommend anytime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal during the week, we were made welcome, nothing too much trouble food fabulous atmosphere great ! Good value too ! Highly recommend .

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gillian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secret gastro heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Short and sweet - brilliant pub to go in for a drink and a exceedingly good restaurant that borders on fine dining up stairs, the food was astounding and the staff friendly will defiantly go back

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benhugheschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most perfect birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had the pleasure of dining here a few days before my birthday, towards the end of June. My dining companion let slip about the happy occassion and we were treated with the upmost of care and dare I say charm, a free glass of bubbly and just the right amount of attention. This alone would make it a stand out venue but the sublime food made it one of the most memorable eating experiences that I've had in some time. I am a self confessed foodie, my husband has branded me a fod snob so you can tell that my expectations are high, well the food at The White Swan exceeded those expectations. My companion had the Soup Au Pistou, a light and flavourful broth with a light as air tortellini, for our mains I enjoyed the days special, a skirt steak with braised flank I believe, confit of garlic, spinach and pan seared shallots, the flank was melt in the mouth tender, the skirt steak seared to perfection and served rare, the vegetables all tasting of what they should. My companion had the aged steak, she declared it one of the best that she has ever eaten, and that coming from a dedicated carnivour, desserts were a triumph the almond and apricot tart was accompanied by and amaretto ice cream and a birthday message written on the plate, the tart shell was still crisp and cooked all the way through, a major achievment in any restaurant, my companion had the chocolate delice which managed to silence her with its unctuous pleasure. All in all this was a fantastic experience, one which I hope to repeat in the coming months. I would highly recommend this to any diner who has michelin tastes whilst not the depth of pocket to accomodate, especially if you take advantage of the special offers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chocolatecookie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing