We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great English Pub near Big Ben” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Stephen's Tavern

St. Stephen's Tavern
Ranked #1,199 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Westminster
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great English Pub near Big Ben”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great food, great atmosphere near Parliament. AJ had the Tanglefoot and Steak Pie which was excellent! I had the Fish and Chips plus peas and it was all very tasty. The wait staff was very accommodating and we'll have to go back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SWilliamsoninVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    313
    99
    42
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Little Pub Near Big Ben”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch at this cozy little Victorian style pub located along Bridge Street close to Big Ben. When we arrived it was very busy and crowded but within minutes we were shown to our table. The lunch menu had a nice variety of pub style items to choose from at a good price. I ordered our food and drinks at the bar. The bar waitress was pleasant and friendly. Our food arrived without much delay. Our orders were prepared to our liking and we were very pleased with our lunch. We would return here for lunch again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael J Mr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fair price, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Ate here this evening with my wife. Location was great and we quickly were seated in the upstairs dining area. Took far too long for the only waitress to even offer to get us drinks. Drinks were good and at a good price. My wife ordered the Fish & Chips, fish was over cooked and likely premade! I had the Bangers&Mash, it was as I would expect from any pub. Asked the waitress for a fresh napkin at one point and one was never brought, she also never checked on us to see how our meal was or if we were satisfied with it. However when it came time to sign the check she hovered over me and watched as I completed her tip on the check...Really! Hope she wasn't expecting a large tip.

Helpful?
Thank Glenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“terrible food and so over-priced, nice staff though”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been here twice, both times to escape the rain after showing the Big Ben to relatives who have never been in London before. Yes the location is great for tourists, but why is the food so bad? Fish and chips looked and tasted no better than the stuff in your freezer; fish was breaded rather than bubbly beer-battered. Burgers were not very nice. The cost reflected the fact that we were right next to the Big Ben, main meals were 10-13 pounds.
Do have a beer here if you are doing touristy things and get tired or rained on, but do not eat here.
Because of tourists, the place tends to be full of people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Goood food, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We chanced upon this pub when we needed a place near Westminster and didn't want American fast food.

The food is simple, but tasty and good. The service was also quite good. It's a little crowded in there (tables right next to you), but we were fortunate to get a booth and it was lovely. The decor and style of the building is quite charming.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAisMyTrueHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Stephen's Tavern also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to St. Stephen's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing