We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel is nice, most staff helpful ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #233 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hotel is nice, most staff helpful ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in July, the hotel room was nice. Clean, all the basic amenities you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. Had a room facing the heliport as requested, they do say the glass is sound proof, but faint spins of the blades do make it through the the glass. I had no problem sleeping however. The cleaning staff do a good job, the reception was friendly. The location is aimed more for the heliport than anything, the hotel is around 20 minutes outside of London. The closest overground is Clapham Junction, a 10 minute walk through classic English estates. This can be a bit frightening for those new to the UK if you're walking at night time. They offer a shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction, however they run pretty rarely so expect either a walk or a taxi. Taxis cost around 14 pounds via Uber into city centre in good traffic. The breakfast selection was decent, they have fixed the seating so previous reviews of high tables can be disregarded. However, we went for breakfast at 10:24 expecting to be seated and eat as long as we grabbed food before 10:30, which was communicated by reception. We were denied entry, and suggested to get room service. The food was still out. I get that they have to stop sometime, but not before the advertised time. It just instills frustration and anger if you've shown up before the time is up. This was especially frustrating as it was a late night before, and we got up to eat breakfast. It's just one of the things you don't want happening. I'd suggest in future for them not to deny entry until after the advertised time is clearly passed. I was standing there at 10:24 and was given a no. Other than that mishap, it was a pleasant stay and I will most likely be back in the future. The hotel has a lot of class is a bit out of the way, and has very comfortable and nice rooms.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Ronald,

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry you had a disappointment with breakfast one morning - but am delighted that most of the team here looked after you really well- our guests always compliment us on the staff .

On transport I wish we had explained to you the best transport solutions into central London - as there is absolutely no need to take taxis at all - we have very easy access to central London through trains and buses.

Kind regards,

Beverly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    383
    131
    35
    47
See reviews for
106
638
57
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Slightly off the beaten track but in my view worth finding. I was upgraded to a suite so my stay couldn't have started on a better note. Room 402 is the one to fight for, views of the river and heliport with separate lounge, bedroom, wc, bathroom with massive jetted bath and large shower, total 3 TV's. Large floor to ceiling windows are quadruple glazed so room was completely silent. There is a free minivan shuttle to Sloane Sq. which is good but only one way which is not so good. I went to a restaurant in Covent Garden and it cost £25 to get back to the hotel. It was also £25 from Euston station in light traffic in the afternoon. There don't seem to be many restaurants nearby so plan to travel in and out of London. Also plan ahead for getting a taxi into London in the morning. I had to wait 40 minutes for a minicab so book the day before. Black cabs don't go past the hotel. All the bridges leading to north of the Thames very very busy in the morning. The 'ups' outweigh the 'downs' though and I would stay there again and would love to have spent a bit more time in that fantastic room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Simon,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you love room 402, which together with our Terrace Suites on the 14th Floor are superb. Really looking forward to welcoming you back again soon and please make sure we share with you the easiest transportation in and out of central London.

Kind regards,

Beverly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend birthday on a deal.we had a chance to upgrade for a suite for £60.the room is usually £450. Living room.bedroom with a super king bed,bathroom with jacuzzi with a window so you can see the river while you having a bath:))) it's amazing.the best hotel I have ever stayed!!!!

Room Tip: Executive Suite with River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Ivett,

We just love your review! We are delighted to be the best hotel you ever stayed in. Our 1 bedroom Suites 402 & 502 are amazing, as are 2 bedroom Suites on the 14th floor with roof top fabulous terraces.

Best wishes,

Beverly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and upgrade made a great weekend a fab weekend great staff and breakfast is a must. Rooms very clean and views were great. Hiring boris's bikes great for seeing rings along the south bank. Looking forward to another visit very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank utdno1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are looking forward to seeing you soon; hiring the bikes is very easy, but next times do ask us for helmet. It’s fabulous cycling/ running or simply walking on the Thames path.

Beverly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel was very clean, staff were very welcoming and helpful organising taxi's and shuttle drop off's for us. Bed was the most comfortable I think I have ever slept in - would love to know where they got them from! The location was the only downside, it worked well for us as we were going to a festival on Clapham Common but for sighteseeing or shopping it is a bit out of the way. The shuttle to Sloane Square if a bonus though

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sll63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

After a less than auspicious approach to the hotel (due to the building works on the roads leading there) our fears were totally allayed by the truly courteous and friendly welcome afforded us by the reception staff. The suite allocated us was outstanding both for its size,modernity and comfort. The views from the balcony of the Thames took ones breath away. In the morning the breakfast offered was one of the best we have had in a very long time. Special thanks to Rose Marie and Darius for their patience and friendliness, But all the staff we had interaction with were great.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was a beautiful, clean hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I would rate this hotel a 4 star however, the location in my opinion was not a great as it was centralised in Clapham. The surrounding area was not a nice environment, and it was a bit of a confusing 10 minute walk to the nearest station. It was not easy to get into Central London as I hoped. Apart from the location Hotel Verta was well-presented and very stylish, the rooms were spacious and we had a fantastic view across the River Thames, and the heliport. The helicopter were interesting to watch and they did not make much noise at all. The rooms were kept in good condition and the bathroom was big which included a bath and a shower, this impressed me as we only had the executive room. The breakfast was lovely and had a huge selection, I would suggest you purchase the breakfast on-line when your booking it or it will cost you more when you arrive. The hotel had a relaxation pool, sauna, steam-room and aromatherapy room, which you can use during you stay this was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clux2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#667 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
K West Hotel & Spa
#268 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#152 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Address: Battersea Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#167 Business Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Romantic Hotel in London
#251 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing