We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded to a room that's doesn't work!!!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #204 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upgraded to a room that's doesn't work!!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Arrived at the Verta and the reception staff were excellent... That's when the good service ends, upon arrival in our room we found out very quickly the TV's did not work, this was reported to maintenance immediately and we were informed this would be looked at, the call was made around 14.00 time is now 21.50pm still no show of maintenance , called down to reception was advised maintenance would come up to the room, 20 mins later no show, I call reception again and advised that the TV's have not worked for three days, basically the hotel is now full and nothing can be done, to say we are unhappy is an understatement, we have had a great day in London celebrating my parents anniversary and the Hotel has let us down........ DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgepau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Dear Georgepau ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to read that you have appreciated the excellent service of our receptionist. However, it is regrettable if the condition of the television did not live up to your expectations. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. I have forwarded your comments to the hotel management so that necessary improvements will be taken, as we work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior.

Thank you for staying with us and hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Divina P.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    412
    136
    37
    48
See reviews for
115
696
62
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed for a week in Oct/Nov. Staff were great, breakfast was amazing, the suite was big and had great views with an unbelievable balcony. Only downfall was it's position. We got lost so many times in the first few days. One time was quite frightening as it got dark early and we were lost near the station with some very unsavoury people. We would of used the shuttle bus, (that was the plan when I booked) but they didn't have any child restraints available. Also we accidentally left a souvenir t-shirt in our room that we got for our son who was back in Australia, but we weren't offered for it to be sent out to us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Could not fault this hotel. Went as a treat for my partner's birthday and the staff bent over backwards to make our stay special. Chilled champagne on arrival as I requested, and one of the best rooms (at no extra cost) with a prime view of the helipad. Fear not, the soundproofing is excellent so you cannot hear a thing but it makes for an interesting view!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was booked for me as a birthday present for a one night stay in March 2014. It was a weekend stay and we went down on the Saturday around lunchtime. Our train takes us into Liverpool Street, it then took what seemed like forever to navigate ourselves to this hotel. Unfortunately, it was nothing special to make it worth it. There are no close transport links. We asked the reception when we eventually got to the hotel around 4pm if there was an easier way to get around to which they said not really and gave us a map. At no point were we offered the free shuttle bus that the hotel offered even though another couple at the reception at the same time were. We ended up getting a taxi back to the hotel as I did not feel comfortable walking in the streets around the hotel to get back later at night. When in the hotel room, we found it very stuffy and we asked a cleaner if there were anyway of getting any ventilation into the room. You could not open the windows at this hotel, which we found a little odd. There was no real wow factor with this hotel unfortunately, I don't think we will bother returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Dear Laura B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for falling short of your expectations, particularly on the shuttle service and room ventilation. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I took my boyfriend to London for his birthday and we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The first time we arrived we took the tube, which with lots of bags was a bit of a pain as the hotel is 10 minutes walk away from the nearest station through a dodgy area. We later realised that the 170 bus drops you right outside and connects you to Victoria and the hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service to Sloane Square.

On arrival we were extremely impressed. The decor is very modern and classy and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The concierge took our bags up to our room for us. The room itself was spacious with a great view of the river Thames. We had a bath and a shower, and there was a TV in the bath! There was also a massive HD TV with lots of free channels. The bed must have been a queen or a king and lots of pillows were provided.

We went for a meal in the hotel's restaurant on the first night because we were so tired that we didn't want to go out. The menu is minimal, it is more of a bar than a restaurant. There was a large selection of cocktails, but they were £11 each. Again though, the service staff were very friendly and professional.

One of the best things about this hotel is definitely the breakfast buffet. Ours was included in the room price, but otherwise I think it is about £15 per per day. Of course there was the trading English breakfast option with bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, beans, mushrooms and hash browns. The only things it was missing was fried eggs and fried tomatoes. There was also a selection of cereals including porridge and lots of fruit to choose from including melon. The pastry selection was great - croissants, pain as chocolats and various other Danishes. The staff bring you over and teas, coffees or juices.

One night we did order a cheese board for room service and it arrived instantly and was added to our bill to pay on checkout.

Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the free spa.

We definitely recommend this hotel and hope one day we can return again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend getaway in March and the whole stay was fantastic. Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Good food and quick to arrive with room service. The free shuttle into Sloan Square is a huge help as the nearest tube is a 10min walk. Bathroom was excellent and the spa fantastic.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tom_lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I am reviewing this hotel based on the great deal we had. Compared to other London 5star hotels it is very well priced. The spa was great, the breakfast was excellent, the staff were very helpful, the rooms were well equipped, spotless and quiet. We will definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmorgans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Morgans,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel. We are always offering competitive prices on the London’s hotel market. Looking forward to welcome you again for another “fab London break”

Kind regards,

Brandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K West Hotel & Spa
#265 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Dorsett Shepherds Bush, London
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Luxury Hotel in London
#167 Business Hotel in London
#196 Romantic Hotel in London
#251 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing