We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected of a '5 star' hotel -and a 1 Star breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #208 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I expected of a '5 star' hotel -and a 1 Star breakfast!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a romantic night away in this hotel as wanted to experience a London 'Luxury' hotel and they had a great special running if you booked in January. I have never stayed in a London hotel as live in London so I guess I do not have anything to compare it to and I hear compared to other countries London 5 star means other countries 4 star in some cases. I did have higher expectations after other reviews though. I always use trip advisor so will make the review easier by writing a list of PRO's and CONS...

PRO's:
-Friendly helpful staff - they really were polite and the service at the bar and when dining for dinner was excellent
- Delicious lunch and dinner (prices are on the expensive side given there is nowhere else decent in the immediate area to eat)
-Great room furnishings and touches- Molton Brown freebies as well as great extras- sewing kit, cotton pads, toothbrush etc etc
- rooms have latest hotel technology (although we coudl not get our curtians to open and close electronically no matter how we tried- maybe they are not meant to.)
- Beautiful SPA and a gown and slippers in your room to use at the SPA
- great views over the river from the bar/restaurant
-12am check out

CONS:
- I am sorry to say, the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel (we travel a lot). The plates were ice cold, as was the food (cold oily eggs), it took 10 minutes to replace the orange juice that had finished as well as the bacon and when it did come out it was so oily and did not seem cooked - no crisp at all. There was a very tired looking bowl of whole fruit (no fruit salad), limited cereal options and limited pastries. In short- no where near the standard of the rest of the hotel. The room was also full at 10am on a sunday so I suggest going early to breakfast to avoid sharing a sofa/table with other people.
- I would have been annoyed if I had paid the full listed price for a night in the hotel (we had a 50% discount) and the River view room mainly looked onto the heli pad with the river in a distance to the left.
-£25 valet parking fee (for 24 hours): Given the hotel is not close to any transport links so driving is recommended, this was over the top.
- We arrived for 2pm check in and were told the room would be ready for 2:15 - so we had lunch at the bar (not a cheap one) to kill some time and returned at 3:30pm only to be told that the room was still not ready. I raised the point that we were entitled to check in from 2pm and was told by one lady 'yes check in is FROM 2pm' which I thought was quite rude as we were entitled to be in a room from 2pm. The hotel manager then came out and apologised and offered us free late check out the next day which, since we had somewhere to be the next day, I requested to be swapped for a discount on the parking fee - we obtained 50% off.
- The SPA foot spa and showers had no hot water at one point- even the hot was ice cold
-The hydra pool was chilly - other peopel were commenting - it needs to be a few degrees warmer
- our bath tap was almost impossible to turn on for some reason.

I have given it an AVERAGE rating only because I feel that I would have chosen a cheaper 4 Star hotel in a better location close to transport links if I was visiting London - for the location and the cons above, I think the full cost of a room per night is over the top.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKIRK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    454
    147
    41
    51
See reviews for
133
765
66
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Verta. It's is next to the Rafayel Hotel on the left bank and has direct access to the heliport. The hotel reception is very modern with an slight old fashioned travel twist having a few old pieces scattered around. The staff were efficient and very professional.

The rooms are similar the malmaison style with a very modern and clean line.
The bathroom was half the size of the room with a shower and full size bath and an amazing addition with a tv over the bath !! And even more impressive was the Molten Brown freebies !

The room overlooked the heliport and only when the helicopters are nearby can you hear anything .. It's amazing to watch the coming and goings of the rich and famous makes up for that entirely .. It's £300-£1200 to land there so it's like famous people bingo !

Now the spa ! as a serial spa goer I know my saunas .. And oh my god did this one tick every box .. It's just lovely ., its got 2 saunas and a steam room with complimentary towels and Parisian freebie toiletries. The hydro pool is small but is very clever with jacuzzi and hydro jets at every turn.

The breakfast was fabulous with a wide range of foods .. I mentioned to the waiter about one of the products not being as it should and he removed the whole section to ensure it was rectified.

The hotel has a shuttle bus to sloane square which we used but unfortunately only goes one way. This is an excellent mid priced 5 star hotel , if the location is suitable for your stay then the hotel will surprise you

I recommend .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trysull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice hotel,comfy and clean.
All latest high tech in room. Lovely view of Thames. The location is far from west end, a good walk from clapham st. We found the best way to travel back and forth was to take the bus either 44 or170 from victoria st, the bus stops just outside the hotel at York Gardens, the various stops
are highlighted in the bus its therefore easy to get off at the right stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

First the good part - stunning style and fittings, very friendly and attentive staff, great comforts - all the things you would expect from a hotel of this kind. But then a strangely poor experience on some real basics during a weekend stay: the wireless internet signal was constantly dropping out and unable to get to certain websites (at times even Google!); we ordered room service at night and a 'parsnip soup' arrived cold and tasting pretty much like blended tomatoes - a pasta ordered at the bar was also very bland and basic. I ordered a pinacolada and got what tasted like just bottled pineapple juice with a slight coconut flavour - nothing fresh in sight. Generally the food needs much more flair and quality to be in keeping with the luxurious feel of this place. Breakfast is adequate and no more - by 8.45 the bread felt old. The seating areas near the windows of both the bar and breakfast areas are cold and drafty. When you fill the bath, the water spurts out of the shower extension and sprays all over the surface. The minibar had less choice than I would expect even in a 3 star hotel (e.g. no spirits). Maybe I was just unlucky - but from this one experience I would not be able to recommend it and would hesitate to go back, despite the very attractive set-up and general comfort of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great room, great food, great meeting facilities, and the majority of staff were very attentive and friendly. This was spoiled by the unsmiling, unresponsive breakfast service team, who failed to bring my order without at least one reminder every single morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've just run our event at the Hotel Verta and have had an excellent experience. The staff were helpful, the food was excellent and the everybody bent over backwards to accommodate us. Although the hotel is slightly off of the tourist track, it does represent excellent value for money and (my wife informed me) that the spa facilities were wonderful. Also, despite the hotel being next to the Helipad, it is quadruple glazed and was extremely quiet inside. All in all we have found it hard to fault the Verta

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiCEBSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Verta has (I think) been open about three years. We had a double room wth Thames views, well, overlooking the Battersea Heliport. It is not easy to find, you will need a satnav, good map or taxi! There is valet parking, at £25 a night. The hotel has a modern, convention centre business look and feel about it.

despite having a no smoking policy sign in the room, our room smelled of smoke. The air-conditioning made lot of noise, but the young maintenance guy who came very quickly fixed it. He was most helpful and courteous. The room itself was comfortable, quiet, clean and spacious, the bathroom was very modern and spotless. No complaints other than that the windows were sealed, hence the need for the aircon to be working.

Breakfast was in the mezzanine overlooking the Thames (gre day with the tide out), with mainly foreign business people from abroad. Front desk was friendly and helpful.

Price was excellent, we booked it through Expedia and it was nearly half price, including breakfast. Once again, no complaints.

Only negative is that it is a bit out of the way, lost in small jungle of commercial buildings next to the Heliport. Cabs came quite quickly. I believe they also run a shuttle bus over the river.

So, good value, but hidden away, but if you want a reasonably priced room for the night, south of the river, it is worth trying.

Room Tip: Make sure it has not had a smoker in it and that the aircon is not noisy (they fixed it by loosening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your room was not to the high fresh standard that we aim to provide. We do appreciate all your comments and rest assured that the Housekeeping Department is aware of your feedback.

I hope that next time we will exceed all your expectations.

Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#160 of 1,069 in London
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#688 of 1,069 in London
601 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#104 of 1,069 in London
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
#167 Business Hotel in London
#196 Romantic Hotel in London
#251 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing