We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #793 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for my birthday weekend with my husband. The hotel was lovely and clean, Room 134 was a bit small and wifi didnt work but does in reception, and resturant. Breakfast was fine cereal, toast, tea & Coffee.
Beds was very comfortable would stay here again.
The hotel was located right by tube which is very handy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
I must apologies for the concerns you have risen regarding the Wi-Fi signal should have been stronger, but we are happy to inform that we are making various tests to enlarge the signal.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets all the expectation of our guests.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    394
    319
    129
    110
See reviews for
199
360
122
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My friend booked us in at this hotel for an overnight stay while we explored London and I have to say that for £30 for one night and continental breakfast the following morning was exceptional value for money. The room was really clean and the beds were comfortable, decent selection of TV channels and it was not a noisy area of town either so I got a good night's sleep.

The location is fantastic as well, literally around one minute's walk away from the tube station so getting into central London was a doddle. If I return to London in the future then I will certainly consider staying here again the staff were friendly and helpful.

Thanks for making it a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Didee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

I could not have given a better description of what we are all about - thank you for your kind words. You have also highlighted some very unique aspects of our property that could sometimes be mistaken - it’s a small nice Hotel with a fantastic location, focused on customers satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Never - or rarely - believe hotel descriptions on the Internet. Even when you have a second pair of eyes. Just like an online dating profile hides the fact your potential lover is socially inept, a hotel website does not reveal that the toilet seat may fall off when you are seated on it, or that the airconditioning switch is one metre above your height, or that your room will be so small you can barely open your suitcase. Or that NONE of the services stated in the online description are available - no laundry, no airport shuttle, no fridge, no good concierge service. The hotel staff told me it was not their job to carry my Three heavy bags up the four flights of stairs to my room.

Anyway, to compensate for it all I was given free internet for my week long stay (pity my room isn't appealing enough to want to stay around to use it!) and there was an upgrade to a bigger room the next day.

Every morning I woke to the sound of construction works taking place in the hotel. Sometimes the fire alarm would sound too.

The serviceman who came to is my toilet seat was pleasant enough but he had bits falling from his dreadlocks.

Breakfast was included in the price but it was ordinary - cold croissants, weird yoghurt and some fruit.

It was bearable to sleep in (apart from the plasticky mattress) but nothing more. Ok value but a tiny room with very few amenities.

The plus side was the excellent location - in Earls Court close to the tube and pubs and a laundromat. I felt extremely safe travelling solo.

I travelled in July 2012.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in the second floor.. the hotel and room were very clean, bathroom and toiletories were very good.. the hotel's location is perfect, a minute away walking from Earl's court station which includes 2 main lines Picadilly and district lines, as well as the disability and lift facilities.. the breakfast was continental and adequate .. Wifi was included but slow.. the room was very small but contains everything u need.. in-room safe, free luggage storge, lift were very beneficial... they gave me extra heater as the air condition doesn't heat the room well.. the walls isolation wasn't good and u can hear all the surrounding footsteps.. but overall i had a pleasant stay and would definitly come back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the second floor, single room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoaaBoshra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets all the expectation of our guests.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really good location, staff friendly and room (121) nicely decorated. Will come here again when needing a cheap night in London!

One complaint, the wifi kept cutting out every now and again in the room, this combined with no signal on phone (not their fault) made life a bit difficult...

Room Tip: Single rooms are tiny. But as a tall person, was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 113Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
I raised your comments about the Wi-Fi to the Manager and we will do our best to prevent that a situation like yours is repeated.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets all the expectation of our guests.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend in January as a couple. The hotel staff could not do enough for you-helped us find lots of attractions and told us which tubes to take. The hotel is located very close to the tube station and is very easy to get to if coming from Euston station. As I didn't think breakfast was included I was grateful for the continental breakfast offered. The hotel was always warm, which was great for the time of year. Rooms were cleaned daily and are very modern. If you're after a clean, modern, hotel close to the city centre I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug_CLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very happy to read that the combination of our location, the high quality of our rooms, and the benefit of the breakfast received has been such a winning one! It sounds like you had a great time, and that is what we always aim to provide here at the City Continental.

Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

When I arrived at the hotel my room was ready (I was early) and was allowed to use to luggage room. I was upgraded at no extra cost when I arrived back at the hotel later. The rooms were nice and clean. The guys on reception were very helpful (Bradley and Orville) and lovely to talk to. The hotel loses a point however as the shower was very slow draining so you had to turn it off and leave it for a bit to drain before you could turn it back on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerys1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets all the expectation of our guests.

I have raised your comments with the Manager, and we are looking for various initiatives in order that your experience with the shower is not repeated.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#534 of 1,067 in London
435 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#463 of 1,067 in London
268 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#491 of 1,067 in London
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Property: City Continental London Kensington
Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #793 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn
City Continental London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing