We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #849 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As budget hotels go, this one was pretty good. I chose the hotel because the website stated it had been recently refurbished and we had a "new" twin room in the basement. Bathroom was small but adequate with a nice step in shower and glass door (I hate shower curtains). Beds were really comfortable and despite being in a busy part of London just off Earl's Court Rd it was surprisingly quiet at night. The morning was noisy because our room was next to the breakfast room but that was fine as we needed to be up early. The only downside of the room was the lighting; there is only one overhead light and no lamps. This was a bit harsh in the evening but not bright enough in the morning to see to do hair and make up. There is a little desk by the window with tea/coffee facilities and a big mirror which would have really benefitted from an overhead light. Overall, I was satsified with the value for money and the cleanliness and so would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all of the rooms are refurbished. Might be worth checking before booking.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
There are newer reviews for City Continental London Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had read the reviews on this hotel and I was not sure. I assumed it was a case of people expecting the Ritz on a budget. What I did not expect was to be asked for £20 upon check in. I was appalled that the receptionist was was ready to take cash for this! After a heated discussion I left my credit card detail but I was far from satisfied with the explanation as to why this had to happen. I was even more annoyed to be told that it would take 5 days to refund the money. This was in case i had used the wifi (impossible as no password was provided) or had damaged the room! I am not a teenager and my mothervwho was staying with me is 64! The breakfast buffet is placed on a shelf unit which makes for long queues for food. Why can they not use trestle tables? It would be easier. The beds were tiny and too soft. Also the air con has no remote control which means you have to operate it on the unit with no temp control so you are either boiling or freezing. Adequate yes but not for the price I paid through Superbreak at £100 per room per night. I will be complaining about the £20 charge as I do not believe anyone should take extra cash from you or hold your card details for 5 days with virtually no explanation! It is clean however. Thats really all that stands in its favour.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincolnshirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I chose the hotel because of its handy location next to Earl's Court tube station. The room was tiny and the lift did not go all the way up to the fourth floor, so I had to drag my suitcase up a set of tiny stairs to get to my attic room. The hotel rooms had been refurbished recently. The cleanliness of the room was not up to a standard. The bed sheet had a red wine stain on it that obviously had not washed off. The hotel was supposed to have free wifi (which is one of the reasons I chose it), but it was not working that evening and the reception staff were very unhelpful with the situation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurapug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

On the picadilly line, stop Earls Court with lift to the street. Easy to handle luggage. Very nice and easy. Turn right and first street on the right, that´s it. 1 minute. Many food, drinks options all around, a few supermarkets so all needs can be sorted easyly.
Hotel has lift up to the 3rd floor, narrow corridors, stairs to several areas of the building so previous reviews about the complicated of the building is understandable. Still is a manageable maze.
Breakfast is included, toast, croissants, and "push a bottom" coffee and orange juice, jams , boiled eggs and tinned fruit cocktail, milk and cereals. So a continental breakfast. It´s true that at around 8 it gets so busy that you have to share table, but bare in mind that some are 6 seater so you may end up stuck in the middle and it gets a bit too close for comfort at peak times. At 8.30 it was fine and before 8 no problems. Pre paid wifi available, time to use your time 72hrs. I stayed in a single room and just fine, coffe/tea making facilities, hair dryier on the room, not bathroom, and most curious no draws, so had to work out how to keep things. Safety box. All rooms are renovated. Individual heating in each room.
Nice and pleasant staff. You can keep your luggage after check out in a tiny room, so may have space issues if not left before 11am.
I found the hotel to be a good option, taking into accoun pros/cons and rates, I would think this is a decent option for a trip to London. Easy to connect by tube, buses to Kings Rd, Victoria, walking distance to Kensington, South Kensington. You can even walk to many of London attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracielas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very pleasant young men on the reception....Mohammad and another one in the evening...didn't get his name.....the room was clean and looks like its been refurbished...but very very small...bed is no where big enough for two people to sleep comfortably....I spent most of the night lying against a very cold wall as one side of the bed was against it.....went down for breakfast at 7.50 as was told they serve breakfast from 7.30 but nothing was set up....did eventually get breakfast.....we was in room 213 and there was a continual drone from extraction fan on the floor below ..would like to have been moved to another room but was told the hotel was full....

Room Tip: Not 213 unless you are a very small person by yourself
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valley1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was a bit concerned what the rooms would be like at this price, but I have to say that I'm very pleasantly surprised.

The single room is extremely tiny, and is not for those who are claustrophobic (seriously), but when you're in London you're not there to spend time in your room. The room was newly refinished, tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

Storage is limited & a better design choice would have been a bed that has drawers underneath & more hooks on the walls, but again for the price I am completely, 100% satisfied.

I have a feeling that your experience can vary tremendously depending on your room location. I would request to not be near the breakfast room because I can imagine that that gets quite noisy in the mornings.

I seriously cannot imagine a better bargain. For this price I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudolphNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent budget hotel, though if you have mobility problems it is a rabbit warren building of corridors and stairs. We stayed in room 4 which was out the back of the hotel . It was very clean and quiet. Great location, just a couple of minutes from Earl's Court tube. Would stay again for a short city break.

Plentiful continental breakfast. Mario on reception was especially helpful & deserves a mention.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 4 are out the back of the hotel but larger & very quiet for sleeping.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#461 of 1,072 in London
321 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#532 of 1,072 in London
445 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#660 of 1,072 in London
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#506 of 1,072 in London
1,042 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#387 of 1,072 in London
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #849 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $95 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn
City Continental London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing