We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value - small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #747 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value - small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked through Agoda and got a really good price. The room (#401) was very small (probably the smallest hotel room I´ve seen) but recently refurbished. The bathroom was also very small but clean. The water pressure was ok and there was plenty of hot water. I could not get the air conditioning to work so the room was bit chilly, but the hotel had an electrical radiator that heated the small space up in no time. The breakfast selection was a bit sparse, but ok. The walls and the door was pretty thin so I used earplugs when sleeping. The location is very good. You can take the Piccadilly line straight from Heathrow airport to Earls Court and the hotel is just steps away from the station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gudrunjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    389
    311
    125
    103
See reviews for
193
348
121
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent five nights in the City Continental recently. Reasonably good value for money for a capital city. Got one of the refurbished rooms on 4th floor. Tiniest room I've ever been in - even thought the receptionist assured me that all the single rooms were of average size. By the end of the five/six days the room had begun to feel really claustrophobic. The absence of any communal space - ie - coffee shop, bar, sitting room, - was a real drawback.
Room was newly refurbished and very clean. The bathroom, like the room, was very small, but also refurbished, very clean with a lovely spacious shower. Tea and coffe making facilities a real bonus.
The breakfast room was small and became a bit crowded. Sharing tables was the norm - but I has no problem with that. The continental breakfast was more than adequate - plenty to eat and plenty of variety.
The carpets on stairs are sorely in need of replacing in places - as a matter of urgency. They look dirty and worn and create a really bad impression.
It is true that the location of the hotel is a huge advantage. It's just around the corner from the tube station - but I found the need for reliance on public transport a real menace. I used to stay in a hotel right in Piccadilly - it's now closed - and everything was within walking distance.
I had difficulty sleeping on two nights because of the noise being made by another guest - pounding and thumping around at all hours of the night. When I mentioned the problem to the staff they were more than willing to speak to the guest causing the problem. On the whole I found the staff very pleasant and helpful.
This hotel is in an old building. The window in my room was metal and wouldn't close properly. I had to secure it with one of my popsox to stop the wind catching it and blowing it open.
If I were staying in London again for a shorter period of time I might well stay in the City Continental - but definitely not for five nights.

Room Tip: Nobody wants to spend all their relaxation time in their room - particularly if the room is very sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maryvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

For the loaction, literally 2 minutes form Earls Court tube, and price this is great value for money. The rooms arent huge but clean and tidy. As mentioned by most visitors the breakfast room is way to small and after using it once i decided to eat out the following morning. The air con heats the room out and took a while to work out how to use it. There were no controls in the room but it could be operated manually. Before booking check out the hotels website as this was cheaper that the usual hotel booking sites.

Room Tip: Dont get a basement room there is no natural light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good points: Value for money, great location (tube station around the corner), lovely refurbished bathroom, clean & modern rooms, and for a Budget Hotel it offers a good Breakfast. Bad points: Single room is tiny and was rather cold, the air con for heating took a long time to kick in (you have to ask for the remote control at reception), walls are superthin (could hear the conversations from the next room) and pricey WIFI. All in all though, I would recommend the hotel if you're looking for somewhere cheap to stay for only a couple of nights.

Room Tip: If you're staying on your own upgrade to a Double Room if you can, as Single Rooms are very, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruemel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed one night while on business in London. Spend most of my time out - so just wanted a reasonably priced room near a tube station (Earls Court) and clean bathroom. Ticked all of the above for this hotel. Room was very small, but suitable for me on an in-out basis. Not suitable for a holiday where you will probably spend time resting in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I travel to London very often to visit my sister, who studies there and I always try and stay at different cheap hotels that are near the underground station.
From all the 3 stars hotel I have stayed in, this one is by far THE BEST!!!!
Firstly, I have chosen it because it is extremely close to Earl's Court Undeground (not more than a 2 minutes walk). There are a lot of places to eat nearby like Nandos, KFC, McDonald's, Burger King, Bistro's and supermarkets so you can find everything you need at less than 50 metres from the hotel.
The room I've stayed in was INCREDIBLY tidy!!! there was not a single thing that I did not like about the cleaness!
The staff was extremely helpfull. The breakfast area was pretty large so you didn't really have to wait for a table to be available. You could drink milk, fresh juice, tea, coffee, eat butter, cheese, youghurt, croissants, fruits, cornflakes, etc.
To sum up, I really, truly and honestly recommend this hotel for everyone who's in London and looks for a cheap hotel for a great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea23689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after an overnight flight at 8AM. We were told the room was available already but check-in was only at 1PM. So we were not allowed to go to the room to change cloths and take a shower. The luggage needed to be stored in a so called "locker room" where it was not tagged and where every visitor had free access to. The staff was not very helpfull at all on storing the luggage, "just do it yourself". Breakfast staff was not friendly at all, not even speaking English. Rooms are very small, no chair in the room and hardly any space to store the suitcases. Bed was also very small for 2 people, glad we are skinny. When asking the reception staff for making reservation at a restaurant nearby, we were told they don't provide "that kind of service". We are just wandering which service they provide anyway...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#496 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#510 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#839 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#579 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#444 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Property: City Continental London Kensington
Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #747 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn
City Continental London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing