We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nadler Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nadler Kensington
Ranked #67 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here after a long haul flight from Australia. Staff were great, located in a quiet street, room was spotless and the bed was comfy. The showers were brilliant. They are power showers and take no time to warm up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,166
    968
    128
    50
    20
See reviews for
779
1,160
572
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have officially voted this hotel as the best of our trip - great location, excellent service, very clean and comfortable and good value for money. Our check in was very efficient and informative and although we arrived well before the advertised check in time, were given immediate access to our room. We were given a room with four beds on the lower level. There are lots of little steps to negotiate with luggage but we didn't find that too problematic. The room was a good size for a family of four with the most comfortable beds we've encountered thus far. The room was quiet and could be made dark. The hotel is to be commended for the comprehensive information folder it has compiled about the room, appliances, hotel services and local food, grocery and other businesses (even shoe repairs which we happened to need) - the best we've seen. The room was spotless and cleaned every day. The shower head could do with improvement (not the best water flow so perhaps it was nearing the end of its lifespan) but the hair dryer exceeded expectations. The kitchenette was equipped with a nespresso coffee machine, tea making facilities and sufficient crockery and cutlery for us to use comfortably for takeaway meals etc. The hotel can arrange an in-room breakfast (prepared by a local cafe) for £7 per person but we opted to eat out - the information booklet makes lots of resturant suggestions. Our only gripe was the intermittent wifi access. All our dealings with staff were great and we witnessed them dealing with a guest complaint (an unreasonable one in our opinion) very professionally. Highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GBM2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Wow! What a wonderful start to the New Year, thank you! We really appreciate your in depth review because your feedback tells us what works well for our guests. I’m delighted that you made the most of the hotel facilities. Thank you for bringing our attention to the shower; all our rooms are have over-sized showers with (usually) high water pressure, so I will investigate the issue you experienced and I apologise if this caused any inconvenience. It sounds like you enjoyed the best of the base2stay experience and we can’t wait to see you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked a family room for me and my three children. For once all the beds were a decent size as most hotels with spare beds in rooms assume children are midgets. The facilities were excellent - small kitchenette with coffee machine - much appreciated. The reception staff were most helpful too when we need directions or a taxi. Very clean and good location. Will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

There are the national hotel groups and there are these unique small hotels where attention to personal detail is key. Base2stay with respect to this was the vey best we've experienced. Every effort was made to accomodate us with our six month old baby as comfortably as possible. A wrong booking was dealt with immediately and remarkably efficiently. The hotel was warm, fresh and spotlessly clean. Hoping to go again soon....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicesterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We try to make sure that the essentials of our hotel have got something for everyone and I’m glad that this was reflected during your stay. We hope to see you and your family return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Compact clean rooms with mini kitchen, WiFi and satellite TV. Ideal for exploring London. It is an easy walk to Earls Court tube station (on Heathrow Piccadily line). The new reception area opening late 2012 will have coffee etc.available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette IN
Level Contributor
325 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were in London over Christmas and Boxing Day (which I would not recommend because everything closes including the Tube) and chose base2stay because it looked like the neighborhood had some ethnic restaurants that might be open on Christmas and because of the kitchenette. We were in a Superior room on the lower level which meant going downstairs and then up 5 or 6 steps in a strange configuration (if you have mobility issues, definitely let them know as many of the rooms would not be accessible to you).

On the positive side, the staff was helpful and friendly (though I sent email before our arrival that was never answered), our room was quiet and clean. The hotel was close to the Earl's Court Tube stop (Earl's Court road exit) and was near to many restaurants, small markets, Marks and Spencer, and Sainsbury's. Earl's Court Tube stop is on the Piccadilly line so it is easy to get to from Heathrow and King's Cross/St. Pancras. The wifi was fast and reliable. The nespresso, microwave, mini fridge, kettle, and dishes all came in handy since so little was open on either Christmas or Boxing Day. The location was also walking distance to many museums (closed December 24-26) and Harrod's.

On the negative side, we had booked a "larger" room for 3 people and it was still a very small room. The fold-out cot wasn't very comfortable for an adult. Also, for a room with a kitchenette it was odd that there wasn't a table and chairs in the room. So, the only place to sit and eat was on the bed or at the desk. My biggest complaint is that the terrace doors were drafty so the room was always cold. The outside wall where the cot was was very cold.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a terrace in the winter because the doors are not very weather tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, Owner at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello Azogal, thank you for your review. Our Kensington hotel is a converted Edwardian townhouse and mews. Whilst there is a lift to all floors, access to some rooms requires a few stairs to be negotiated. We are always happy to arrange for guests who may find these difficult to be accommodated in bedrooms with level access, if given notice. As a converted group of period buildings, this also means that few rooms are identical in layout or size, which makes our hotel more interesting and individual. I apologise if the draught-proofing of the French doors to the garden was not weather-tight, and our maintenance team, which is always on hand to assist with guest requests, will look at this immediately. With regard to the mini-kitchen, as a hotel rather than a serviced apartment, this is a convenience rather than for full meals, but the desk, not being fitted, is intended to be used as a table. I hope you will return to try us again, perhaps in summer, when our terrace rooms are very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Picking a good value hotel in London is always difficult, the main issues of price, location and size of room and usually hard to get a good balance.
In base2stay i think that the balance is met well, we booked a double room and the size compared well with other London hotels of the same price and the location on a quiet street within walking distance of Earls Court Tube Station is great for getting around. Earls Court also has a lot of Pubs and Restaurants that make grabbing food easy. Apart form the location and price the following were bonuses:
+ Efficient and helpful reception staff
+ Assistance with getting bags to our room
+ A clean and bright modern atmosphere
+ A well appointed room with internet TV.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia
Hotel Xenia
#85 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#20 of 1,072 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#39 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
No photo provided
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Property: The Nadler Kensington
Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
#42 Family Hotel in London
#59 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay
The Nadler Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing