We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship-shape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nadler Kensington
Ranked #58 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Four business colleagues and I stayed for one week (in a total of 5 different rooms) so we had a good "taste" of this little gem of a hotel. Rooms have a calming, contemporary design -- very small (think private yacht state-room) -- but highly efficient, immaculately clean, very quiet and had all the necessities, including free wi-fi. Kitchenette (stocked with plates, glasses and utensils) was a real plus for those quick, early-morning breakfasts or late night snacks. No in-house dining, but plenty of great pubs and restaurants around the corner, including mini-marts to get food to stock your in-room fridge. Bathroom was small (no surprise there) but surgically clean and beautifully modern. Hip and friendly staff were fantastic assistance with taxis, local restaurants, and directions. Only complaints were medium grade mattresses (three of us agreed on this) and lack of common sitting area so no place to sit with colleagues or friends when in the hotel -- just three Barcelona chairs in the tight reception area. Overall, a tremendous value and we plan to stay again. [Note for families: this is more a business efficiency/singles/couples hotel than a family hotel -- having children in such small rooms would be impossible].

Room Tip: Avoid lower level rooms. Recommend first floor (above ground) so you easily walk down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie_Conway, Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear DeBoston,

Thank you for your really excellent descriptive and thoughtful review. Thank you also for complimenting our team.

I note your comments on the mattresses. We regularly check and replace our mattresses throughout the hotel, and following your comments, I will make this a priority.

With respect to families, we actually won the Tripadvisor Traveller’s Choice Award in 2011 for the best family hotel in London. Next time you stay, we would be delighted to give you a tour to show you the variety of accommodation to suit all needs that we offer, ranging from great value single rooms, to spacious deluxe rooms that sleep up to 4 guests and are ideal for families. Our mini-kitchens, free Wi-Fi and free music, games and internet on HDTVs, as well as movies at only £2, are also much appreciated by our family guests, no less than our restaurant discount vouchers that add to the value of our offer and mean that guests explore the neighbourhood, living more like a local!

I would recommend all guests to call and speak with our knowledgeable team directly about their needs, and we will propose the best category of room for their requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,203 - 2,209 of 3,869 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

One night stay -- got the single room for 93 pounds. Easy access to hotel via Earl's Court tube station. Friendly staff, very helpful with restaurants, taxi reservations etc... My room was clean well organized, although avoid "L" (as in lower floor below the main floor) rooms that are next to the street (mine was room L11). The noise of people walking / talking and of cars driving by was a tad annoying. Overall I would stay there again if just me and a for quick trip. For my family would probably use a more full service hotel. To be clear, though, Base2stay delivered exactly on what it promised -- a clean room, great location, very affordable price, free wi-fi (a real luxury in Europe), and good service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cloudwalk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

For a short break in London (4 days) this hotel was everything it promised on the website. So convenient to Earls Court tube, lots of pubs, shops and restaurants nearby and the mini-kitchen made it easy to prepare breakfast each day. Extras included movies for only 2 pounds, and a selection of free music CDs. Although the room wasn't huge, it was very comfortable and very clean. Checkin staff all very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mews have a bit of noise from the rubbish collections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pam2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great location and we went for the bigger room (thank goodness) the rooms are pretty small. Not so impressed though with no shampoo or conditioner...also asked lady cleaning our room and she said they had no shower caps and no extra soap bar was allowed.(so after 26 hour flight not so impressed about having to go and get extra soap and shower cap/shampoo etc). Quiet location though which was greate and really this should be shown as Earls Court as it's 3 minute walk to tube station which was perfect...also fantastic to be able to open up your windows!!!

Room Tip: Go for larger room for sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redkanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie_Conway, Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We supply Keiji aromatherapy hair and body gel together with a bar of Keiji soap, but I apologise that you were not aware that we do not provide conditioner or shower caps. However, we are always happy to purchase goods on behalf of guests and deliver them to their room on request. We will always gladly restock gel and soap, and I apologise again that this didn’t happen. Chambermaids will be reminded!

However, I am pleased that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to benefit from our great location and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed at this relatively new hotel for 4 nights. Only one block from earls court station, this secure hotel offers a modest sized room. The hotel design is itself slightly strange with small staircases located in strange places. Our room faced a side street driveway so we drew our curtains as soon as we return to our room. However, clean and offers free in room wifi. Overall, a comfortable stay at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie_Conway, Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer kind and helpful feedback of your stay at base2stay Kensington. Our hotel was originally converted from Edwardian townhouses; therefore some of the original features still remain. For any guests that require step-free access to their room, we do have some corridors that offer this. The side street driveway you refer to is in fact a private mews, and so has almost no passing traffic. Our team will be more than happy to assist with any special requests in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to base2stay on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed for one night last week. Compact room, lovely double shower, nice toiletries, luxury towels - very helpful staff. Good location two minutes walk Earls Court underground station. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days over Christmas and it was really great. I would have given it 5 stars but thought that it was a little overpriced (mainly due to the size of the room). Otherwise there was nothing to complain about. The rooms are well equipt and the kitchenette is really useful. The location is brilliant, it's just round the corner from Earls Court station and easy enough to walk in to High Street Kensington (10-15 minutes) or Knightsbridge (15-20 minutes). The staff were really helpful too. I stay in London a lot and would definately recommend this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which was very quiet and looked over a nice garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sm1ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#182 of 1,078 in London
3,429 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $105 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay
The Nadler Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing