We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nadler Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nadler Kensington
Ranked #62 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We've stayed in London many times and generally like to be near the South Ken neighborhood. We've had good experiences and not so good experiences so we decided to try Base2Stay (horrible name!!) based on the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. I thought the place was incredible. Smallish room (by American standards, not UK standards) but everything was so perfectly designed it all worked. Great bed, beautiful bathroom, small couch and ottoman, small kitchen completely equipped AND (God bless you) AC that actually worked and free Wi-Fi. The hotel is housed in a lovely old building, yet everything is new and chic and the location is perfect. Close to the Tube, restaurants, grocery stores, cleaners, everything you could possibly need. And, the most comprehensive hotel guide I have ever seen -- covers absolutely everything you would ever need to know. I love this concept. It really is all about the room and the location and not being "nickled and dimed" for everything. Having just come from a stay at a luxury hotel in Lucerne where the room rate was insanely expensive and everything was extra (and no A/C!) I found Base2Stay a wonderful alternative. Stay there. You will love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,315
    1,012
    135
    46
    21
See reviews for
833
1,227
599
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I did a lot of research before deciding on this hotel and all the reviews about this hotel are right.

The hotel is in a great location.....easy walking distance to earls court station, lots of choices for restaurants and for those who want to use the kitchen facilities there is a supermarket in easy walking distance.

Our room was nice. We especially liked the free internet on the tv, the kitchenette which saved us money with breakfast and the heated towel rail in the bathroom. This proved to be such an asset when it came to drying our washing. Washed that night, dry or almost dry by the next morning. Our only complaint was that our room was on the ground floor and backed onto a courtyard where workers parked their cars. I had asked for a quiet room and It wasn't noisey at all however you had to keep the blinds drawn all the time for privacy.

As I said "We will be back"

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at base2stay 3 seperate times while in London in July. For our family of four (children 12 and 16 years old) base2stay was fantastic. What was great about it was the location, we walked to hyde park often, swimming at the serpentine lido, also walking to the natural history and victoria and albert. The kitchenette saved us alot of money. Sainsburys is close by at Earls Court with alot of easy to prepare healthy food options. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the broadband was excellent and we liked the music available through the tv sytem. We found the staff helpful.

One note of caution is don't book the taxi through base2stay, they send unmarked taxis that charge twice the price. There are great transport options by base2stay with the earls court underground very close and the black taxis were not too expersive from this location to for example the west end.

If we were going back to London we would not hesitate to stay here again, we absolutely loved it. It contributed to us having a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knights4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassar-London, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Knights4,

Thank you for your 5* review of our hotel and for taking the time to share feedback with others on Tripadvisor. My team and I are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us on all the three occasions. We are glad that the location, service and facilities met with your expectations.

I am sorry to read your comments regarding the taxi. base2stay Kensington only utilises licensed mini-cabs. All the companies we use are properly vetted to ensure the safety and security of our guests. As part of the process, we also make sure their list of charges are consistent and in line with TFL’s Public Carriage office (PCO) recommendations. We recommend licensed mini-cabs instead of London Black Cabs because we find they can be cheaper as their charges are fixed, not metered, so they do not charge any extra for waiting, or traffic related delays and unlike Black Cabs, can be pre-booked for a guaranteed pick-up time. Therefore we are able to reliably inform guests of the cost of their proposed journey prior to booking .

I hope the above helps explain the position but if you feel you were unreasonably charged by a base2stay recommended taxi or the price you were told prior to booking the taxi is different from what you ultimately paid, please feel free to contact me direct as I would be more than happy to investigate further.

We thank you for staying with us and are delighted to read that you loved our hotel and will stay with us again the next time you visit London. My team and I look forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our past experiences in London have been spotty. We've either paid a lot for upscale accommodations, which haven't always lived up to their billing, or we've paid less and ended up near the kitchen or dying from the lack of A/C. Base2Stay, while oddly named (sounds to us like a hostel...) is a very nice, well, base to stay in London!

The concept is to "keep things simple." No food service. No frou-frou add-ons. No mini-bar. But that's actually the beauty of the place. You end your time there only paying the price you were quoted, and you don't feel like you were nickeled and dimed to death. (or the Pound Sterling equivalent)

Our room wasn't large, but it was certainly adequate. Great bed. A/C that kept us nice and cool, which is really an issue with the seemingly warmer summers in Europe and the UK these days. A fridge to store water, wine, cheese and other goodies in. A very nice bathroom with a shower. Very quiet. It's on a side street and the traffic flow was light. And FREE wi-fi.

In many ways, the place reminded me of how Marriott runs their hotels. Non-fussy and solid. Pleasant, helpful staff. The Earl's Court Tube stop is about 3 blocks away -- an easy walk. A fair amount of great local restaurants AND you can ask for coupon's at the B2S Front Desk that will give you a percentage off. We ate at Strada a couple of times and got 20% our entire meals, including the wine.

All in all, I think B2S is on to something here.

My only caveat would be the room size. Some travelers, particularly people from The States, who are used to larger places, might find it hard to get used to -- but my experience is that if you want something at this price point in London, you room is always going to be small!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank overeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this property for the first time for 8 nights.It is in an Excellent location,London-wise and is a short 2 blocks to the tube stop of Earl's Court.The front desk staff were friendly and accomodating,from ordering taxi's,to resto recommendations and printing boarding passes.The rooms worked on all counts,roomy,minimal without fussiness and a solid kitchenette area with micro,kettle,sink,dishes and small fridge..bathroom products were a little spartan but serviceable.Perfect size property,initimate but private and very little noise from rooms next door and hallway;cleaning staff prompt and property well maintained. in a great neighbourhood;pubs a short walk and eateries as well.In short,I strongly recommend this property and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiritedtraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Although the room was the smallest of all the rooms we shared during our two weeks in Europe, it was also the most comfortable and the most intelligently designed.

My daughter and I arrived in London a few days before a Harry Potter tour, and found the location to be ideal. We walked to a local grocery store and loaded up on some fruit and snacks. We also walked to the local tube station in moments, and were in central London within twenty minutes. If you're coming here. Get an Oyster card prior to your arrival, and learn how to use it, otherwise you'll pay full fare if you forget to tap out.

The staff are very professional, but quite frankly they're also a bit too stoic, and a bit of individual personality would be nice to see. I'm sure it's all part of the image the mother ship wants projected, and I suppose it's all the norm in the industry.

I sincerely hope they expand this idea, and would not hesitate to stay here again if I'm able to return to London.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImpairedVisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

base2stay is located in a great location, just a few blocks from the tube stop Earl's Court, making it easy to get to the main attractions and to and from the airport. The staff was friendly and very helpful. While the room was small, it was clean and practical. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#29 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#55 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#185 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Property: The Nadler Kensington
Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
#42 Family Hotel in London
#58 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay
The Nadler Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing