We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay although no heating in shower room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
Ranked #346 of 575 London B&B and Inns
East Lothian
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pleasant stay although no heating in shower room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had one night stay as we were having lunch at The Ledbury then seeing War Horse at Drury Lane Theatre. Wanted hotel close to Kings Cross for convenience for train next morning. Basement room was comfortable although outside light shone all night. Down side was that there was no heating in the shower room which would have been really nice considering the cold weather. Breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Check which rooms have heating in shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn K, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Luiz Golinski
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
+44 (0) 207 837 1940
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    264
    213
    111
    113
See reviews for
154
211
94
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn for 1 night after a work Christmas party. I got a great deal (under £100/night). Looking at some of the photos and reviews from others, I was a little apprehensive (I thought the room would be super small, outdated and a bit dirty). I also wondered if the location would be in one of the more ugly parts of Kings Cross.

I was totally pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff were super nice, the room was modern, clean and a very good size. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was great tea and coffee facilities in the room and it was quiet.

Overall, this is a fab hotel for short stays. It's perfectly situated for access to Kings Cross, St. Pancras and North London, so great for business or a last-minute hotel if you're going to be on a long night out.

If you're looking for a quaint location with lots of outside space and greenery, this hotel probably isn't for you. And, although the hotel offers breakfast (very nice), it's not great and served in a teeny tiny room that really only fits 4 people.

Having said that -- a great value choice when compared to other cheap London hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pommefranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn K, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Luiz Golinski
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
+44 (0) 207 837 1940
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stopped overnight on business and was apprehensive based on location and external appearances.However to my total surprise and delight my room (208) exceeded all expectations.
It was clean, modern, well appointed and I would certainly return. Indeed I have stayed in so called "marque" hotels with my wife on theatre weekends that charged twice as much with lesser specations. This boy from the north will certainly be returning!

Room Tip: Very well appointed room 208!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larson200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn K, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Luiz Golinski
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
+44 (0) 207 837 1940
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Although potentially a little pricey for what it was, the 'hotel' (a bed & breakfast, if anything) provided a fine place to stop over for the one night I was in London. The room itself was clean and fitted with the necessities, nothing special, nothing really missing. An en-suite is built in, all a little small but in the centre of London for a stop-over stay it was sufficient.

Breakfast was a little hectic in the morning with a small breakfast room obviously not suited for the number of guests staying at the bed and breakfast. As I was on my own it wasn't really an issue but for those in a group or family may find it difficult to get a table.

The little contact I had with the staff was friendly and polite, so no issues there. It was a perfect location for myself, located only a couple of minutes away from the venue I visited in the evening (the Scala) and 5-10 minute walk from either St Pancras or Kings Cross.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aled P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn K, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Luiz Golinski
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
+44 (0) 207 837 1940
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

It's called a hotel, but does not have a Bar or Restaurant so in my books it's a Guesthouse or B and B. On walking into reception I was met by very friendly and helpfull staff. My room was absolutely lovely, recently decorated, nice desk to work on and ample tea n coffee facilities, in room wifi was good. Sadly my experience was marred by the carpet on the stairs leading to my room was worn threadbare on the steps.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank QualityQuester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn K, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Luiz Golinski
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
+44 (0) 207 837 1940
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by Treyn Holidays, for 1 night prior and on return from a holiday to Germany by rail. I can only reiterate that the rooms were so small that together with our luggage, we had to move around, by 'numbers'. We had problems with the shower control on the first night and stood the risk of being scalded. The breakfast room was tiny and the choice fairly limited.The staff were friendly and helpful. There was no lift access to our room on the return trip and the stairs were not easy to manage with suitcases. There was a lot of noise between 3 and 4 o'clock in the morning, with people leaving for early trains etc. perhaps. Although convenient for St Pancras Station, at £100 per night we would have been better taking more time to choose a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn K, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Luiz Golinski
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
+44 (0) 207 837 1940
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We called ahead to check booking in time so our daughter could get an afternoon sleep. We were told 1400 hrs. When we arrived at 1430 hours we were given our key, but the room was not made up, it was dirty and had the previous guests food and rubbish in the room. Disgusting.

At breakfast on the Sunday there where twice as many guests as tables and chairs. Other guests were having to perch at our table and balance there plates on it as well. At one point I asked for a coffee mug and was told they had run out!! 5 minutes later my wife was asked if she had finished her drink as they needed the mug!

We tried to resolve our complaint with the manger on the day but, predictably, was told to email, write etc. I have given the hotel ample opportunity to resolve my complaint but they have fobbed me off with the cut and post replies of " we take every complaint very seriously" etc etc, but haven't actually addressed any of my complaints.

Overall, great location but don't waste your money here, it's not cheap and they've really let themselves down with their poor service and worst after care.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mtjnandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn K, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Luiz Golinski
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
+44 (0) 207 837 1940
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#540 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#877 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kings Cross

Property: Comfort Inn Kings Cross
Address: 2-5 St. Chad's Street, London WC1H 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Kings Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished hotel in Georgian dating from 1700; situated in a quiet location in central London, with easy access to underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kings Cross Hotel London
Kings Cross Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn London
London Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Kings Cross London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing