We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, not a great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Ranked #710 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I like to stay in the Paddington area for it proximity to Underground as well as Heathrow Express, so no complaints about location. In fact, I like that it was tucked away from a busy street. The lobby and room were certainly clean and there was an electric kettle with coffee, teas, and biscuits. But I could find nowhere to plug in the kettle except on the bedside table. Hardly a disaster. My room looked out on a small balcony which featured one of the outside floodlights and it took some manipulating to get the curtains closed all the way to block it out at night. My room was also very warm with no way for me to cool it down except open the balcony door. And the walls were rather thin. Fortunately, my neighbors were not too loud and went to sleep before I did. Breakfast was abundant and nicely done. All in all, not horrible at all but for 184 GBP per night, even at London rates, I expected better and know it can be done.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the front of the building with a floodlight in front of the window.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeleine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Madeleine05,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the great location we have. I have noted your comments with regards to the curtains and flood lights. I would also like to apologise for the lack of sockets in the room. Please rest assure your comments have been shared with the relevant department and we are currently refurbishing the rooms for better service.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Quality Crown Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 861 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

A lovely hotel near hyde park and Paddington station.Very clean rooms,friendly staff and good breakfast...stayed for 6 nights and it facing the small Talbot garden with tulips growing made it more wonderfull

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Mona400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Mona400,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014. 4-poster bed in comfortable, clean, well-sized room. Breakfast very tasty. Staff very helpful. Walking distance from Paddington station and buses. Very quiet area but near to shops and restaurants. I've stayed in many hotels in London and often been disappointed. But I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Caroline S,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

First trip overseas and hotel and staff very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived.In Paddington and close to stations and parks so made moving around so easy. Particular thanks to Witek who was always helpful and knew everything and offered suggestions on where to go in our limited time in London.Witek seemed to be everywhere and did everything, porter,barman, tour advisor. Enjoyed the experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tez1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Tez1951,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. A very special thanks from Witek for appreciating his efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Situated near Paddington Station amid hundreds of small hotels, once found, accommodations were clean with convenient tea/coffee quite handy and a comfortable bed. Located facing a charming park, this small hotel has a little bar (friendly, helpful bartender), a rather complete breakfast spread, and an incredibly helpful staff. (When we checked out, we gathered our luggage and were walking toward Paddington Station. Suddenly, MAHMOD, a staff member ran up to us and handed us two pairs of glasses we had left behind. He then offered to help us onward to the station, which we declined. Such kindness made quite an impression on us.)

Our room was on the first floor, facing the park. The opening and closing of the front door, and guests coming and going at all hours might be a problem for some. (Our night stands had little boxes of ear plus for our use if needed......LOL!).

Loved our return visit to London, and thoroughly enjoyed the location and staff of this quirky little hotel.

Room Tip: I imagine that rooms above the first floor would be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyndybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Cyndybear,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is a very short walk to Paddington station which gets you to almost anywhere in London and because it is part of the Choice Hotels system which is generally reliable in the U.S.. The hotel sits off the main streets in a small square called Talbot Square. It is pretty and relaxing and we had a lovely view of the square from our window. It was also less expensive than a lot of the hotels in the area. The rooms are small as is typical in Europe but well appointed and comfortable. Room and bath were clean and contained tea and coffee service, and the hotel does a turndown service in the eves. They are also in the process of installing air conditioning which is an added luxury and not that common in London where the weather is cool most of the year, but can be warm in the summer. There is a small bar in the hotel lobby that was a nice place to have a small respite before going out to dinner. The front desk and bar staff were wonderful - friendly and very helpful with any questions we had. The rooms came with a full English breakfast which is served downstairs in a very nice breakfast room. It is a wonderful spread with both hot and cold choices. The only drawback to the whole stay was with the breakfast staff who where not very friendly and sometimes even a bit rude. Despite that, we enjoyed our stay here and would definintely stay here again. One last bonus - it is right on the route for morning pickup for most of the day-trip excursions you can book to go to places outside London.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement floor, it can be noisy with breakfast nearby. Ask for a room to the front with a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. However, I do apologise for the shortfall with regards to our breakfast team. I can confirm that we have taken action on this.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just been 3 night and really enjoyed with this hotel good location and very friendly staff and helpful especial wetik very nice man and good manner very helpful to the customers , thank to all of you , Andersen

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

25 March 2014

Dear Andersen,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stylotel
#601 of 1,073 in London
777 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#662 of 1,073 in London
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Address: 8 Talbot Square, London W2 1TS, England (Formerly Quality Crown Hyde Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #710 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Price Range: $217 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION -Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park
Quality Crown Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing