We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Nearby Hotels
$155
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$371
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$321
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$127
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$166
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$164
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$179
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$1,063
$843
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveler rating
178
309
162
119
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
309
162
119
93
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 861 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Happened to stay there for 40 days as it is very close to my work place. Rooms are small but clean and hygenic. Staff is exceptional, people like Witek, Pavlina, Mahmood, Soffia are very kind and helpful. The English breakfast was good. Its definitely a nice place and worth for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift is a good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saravananv_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time time to write your recent review on our Mercure Hotel Paddington.

We are so pleased our hotel and staff surpassed. and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent hotel and localitation. Staff is wonderful and very cheap,the rooms are perfect and very nice.Also inclusive breakfast, waitress are very sympa, they can give every facilities. If you have a problem, hotelporter, WITEK, can help you, he is very friendly and he knows everythings about London.I will come back Quality Crown Hyde Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfredop495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time time to write your recent review on our Mercure Hotel Paddington.

We are so pleased our hotel and staff surpassed. and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

First of all, most of the critical reviews on this page are misleading, at best. The Quality Crown is the ideal location in London, being close to both Paddington Station and underground station at Lancaster Gate. Considering how expensive and smallish rooms can be in London, I was overjoyed at both the room quality and price immediately. The staff, including Witek, were always helpful and cheery and the breakfast quality and service were stellar every morning we were there. Unlike some of the other reviews listed here, all the amenities listed (such as iron, trouser press and hair dryer) were easily located within the room and our checkout process didn't take much longer than 20 minutes.
That being said stay away from room 606 if possible - it is located directly between the elevator and stairs to breakfast and seemed to be busy at all hours of the night and day. It also seems to be directly above the kitchen - granted I love to be woken up in the morning to the sound of someone making me breakfast, just not necessarily at 6am the morning after a red eye from the West coast of the U.S. However, it also meant that we didn't sleep through breakfast on any of the five mornings we stayed with Quality Crown.
The best part of traveling is experiencing the culture and the people, and quality crown lets you do this at a reasonable rate. If you want top quality then pay top dollar - if you want reasonable, comfortable and clean, I suggest the Quality Crown.

Room Tip: 606 located in an unfortunate location between elevator and stairs in a tiny hallway that is always busy. It also has a "window" that looks into the halllway of another part of the hotel. Try and re-negotiate if you are assigned this room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGIrl3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great location(2 mins Tube/Paddingtion Stn)
Surprisingly quiet location.
Room 205 well appointed and very clean(if a little cramped,but for an overnight it's fine)
Check in was not easy,(payment up front,an annoyingly increasing trend) and receptionist's first language was not english!
Just one small issue, on entering room i found the previous occupant had left behind a bottle of Perfume(and the cleaners obviously missed it) but even more annoying,when entering bathroom there was an item of "used" Feminine Hygiene(i beleive they are termed "Liners") left in the Waste Bin!!
The above are relativeley small points but do leave an impression
Breakfast was average buffet affair, well presented, plentiful,and very cheerful staff
In short, nothing special,but on a par with hundreds of hotels across london
Free Wi-fi was a pleasant surprise

Room Tip: Would suspect all rooms of a uniform quality(ie,acceptable)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've stayed in several hundred hotels. This is a clean 2 star hotel, it could be a 3 star if the management addressed a number of glaring problems. I have visited this hotel twice, thinking the first time was simply an unlucky or unusual occurrence, it wasn't.

1. Apart from breakfast times, the hotel is completely understaffed. There is only ever one girl on reception meaning check-in and check-out can easily be an hour long process. There is no fast checkout process, so plan for this if you have a plane or train to catch because the reception is always full of people waiting to check in and check out. Complimentary drinks should at least be provided if you are going to keep customers waiting.

2. I arrived both times after 2pm, neither time has my room room been ready, this is also after waiting 30 minutes to be 'processed' by reception, and then I was kept waiting a further 60 minutes until the room was prepared.

3. The room was supposed to come with free wifi, both times they have tried to charge me for wifi. This is London in 2013, even the train station has free public wifi and this isn't a budget hotel and they still charge for wifi access? You can 'negotiate' a room at the Hilton around the corner for the same price as this hotel and that hotel puts this one to shame on freebies and service level.

4. The room stated it has climate control, if that means a radiator and a window that you can open then you will understand the 'sales' techniques employed by the hotel. I won't say "tourist trap" but be very careful. The room description says things like iron, trouser press, tea making facilities, hair-dryer but neither room has had them readily available and they've had to be requested from reception. Not professional and damned inconvenient when you need to iron a shirt in the morning.

5. It's an old building, which is usually a good thing, as it means ceilings are high and the walls are solid, but this building has been redeveloped (cleanly but on a tight budget) and the walls are paper thin and the rooms are very small. You can hear people sleeping in adjacent rooms and just pray you'd don't get a room too close to the rickety old elevator or you'll be kept awake all night long.

I hope you find my personal experiences useful, in making your decision on whether to stay here.


Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guests,

Please accept our apology that the hotel was not to your liking or expected standard.
I can confirm we do not state we have air conditioning in any of our bedrooms and surprised to read this.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews