We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Ranked #706 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Diamond Bar, California
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“small, helpful staff”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good points: Hotel staffs are all very helpful, convenient location, only 5+ minutes walking to Paddington (direct access to Heathrow, and almost everywhere by their subway 'UNDER GROUND')
Bad points: over all, this is a 2 star hotel in USA, a 3 star hotel in China, but based on their own standard, it is a 4 star hotel. Elevator did not work when we arrive, we have to carry our big luggage to 4th floor, it was a good exercise though, otherwise you have to wait till they finish the maintenance of the elevator (don't know why the maintenance has to be in daytime). Room is small, bed is very small too, not easy for two adults. Corridor is very narrow, and you can hear the conversation from the room opposite. We tried to block the light and voice from corridor by slipping clothes into the space under the thin wood door, but it did not work well. We paid about $200 on booking.com for this ‘Executive Double Room ’, if you want to use their WIFI, pay another $20 for 24 hours. With this amount, we can get Inter-Continental in San Francisco, Ritz-Carlton in Beijing or Shanghai. There are lots of hotels nearby (something like 50+), choose wisely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaTourDotCom U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    309
    162
    119
    93
See reviews for
214
266
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel on a business trip.
Close to Paddington underground station.
As this was our first time in London, Witek and his staff helped us to get the most out of our short stay!
Breakfast was very good and kept us going for a long time.
Rooms were a bit small but the beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. We were please to read Witek and our staff surpassed themselves as normal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed one night. Staff helpful. Hotel on the shabby side in need of a makeover. Room small would not like to have been trying more than one night. Noise carried as walls thin. Small bar. Breakfast adequate but not the best quality. Good location if travelling from Paddington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacs511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. We were please to read you found everything as expected and our staff were helpful and friendly.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holte dk
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

quite and good room at a green square.
The setting of the hotel is ideal; 1000m. from Paddington station, with direct connection to heathrow
Wirek and his colleagues: very friendly and helpful.
Good breakfast.
The entreehall looks a bit shabby. A lick of paint could help a lot.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lodewijkHolteDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. We were please to read you found everything as expected and our staff were helpful and friendly.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. What to say about it. The worst hotel I have ever stayed. Very dirty, 1 towel dirty, the bed cover had blood, checking in the room I found one bag and clothes in the wardrobe from some personnel probably, single room is extremely small, you can not put your clothes on. Don't go there, there are so many hotels around Paddington. Stayed on 26th February 2013

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Dim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel can be good...
I stayed there for a week and a half during Jan 2013
The entrance is tiny, don't expect to spend there quality time.
One small tiny elevator. You will spend a lot of time if you are in the upper floor waiting for.
Due to old wood, there are many noises at nigh from the rooms around you.
Although the room kept clean, very strange that for 10 days no one took the empty water bottle left of the floor and the same with the soap bottles. For some reason they love keeping empty bottles all over.
Breakfast reminded me dog's life. Everyday the same! do not expect to see anything different for your whole stay. Everything is very fat but I guess for some reason that goes for most hotels for some reason.

The staff is very strange. Some are very nice (sometimes even too nice getting into your personal life) and some will keep telling you they go by the book so matter what you say like talking to a robot.
I expected a package. When I asked at the reception if they got it they say no. They keep trying looking for it at the store room, went thru the paper and say they are very sorry but nothing arrived to me. When I entered the room, the package was on my bed.
On the last day they keep knocking on my door every 10min to check if I checked out. I dont understand why they dont check with the reception instead of bugging the guests.

The hotel location is good if you want to get to Pennington station in 3mins.

Bottom line if you are coming to travel and just going to sleep, it might be a good choice. I would not recommend it for business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronenkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology that the hotel was not to your expectations.
Every issue you have mentioned has been logged and discussed with the hotel manager and staff concerned.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Over Priced and Extremely Poor Quality Hotel. We had guaranteed reservations (from USA) and they gave our room away the first night, (we were there at 9:00 AM and they stored our luggage). We we returned around 7:00 (went sight-seeing) the only room left was a shoe box in the basement - with no ventilation or airconditioning (No one could sleep - heat & claustrophobia) . The next day they moved us back upstairs after complaining to management. We paid for breakfast and the room through our travel agent. On the third day, they decided not to honor the breakfast coupons we had used the first two days, even though we showed them the receipts that we had paid for them. We later found out from fellow cruisers that others had stayed in superior hotels at half the cost directly across from the museums! The hotel directly behind them had air-conditioning running 24-7 which we drooled over, and were less expensive. Antiquated, Overpriced, and Unprofessional. (Not Everyone - One of the desk Managers was the only saving grace). Would or could not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoGoGophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apology that your room type that was booked was not as expected.
We do as standard always try to upgrade all our guests when ever possible.

We do hope that this has not deterred you from using us again and should you decide to stay we will ensure an executive room is allocated.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#751 of 1,069 in London
49 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#615 of 1,069 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Property: Quality Crown Hyde Park
Address: 8 Talbot Square, London W2 1TS, England (Formerly Quality Crown Hyde Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION -Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park
Quality Crown Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing