We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff but a shame about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Ranked #692 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but a shame about the room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

We were moved to this hotel after booking a room at the Comfort Inn Notting Hill but they could not accommodate as due to a problem with the third floor.
Located on a quiet square very close to Paddington station, the hotel looked quaint & tidy from the outside.
The reception staff were very friendly & efficient. Our room was located on the 5th floor (top floor) and was small & cramped. The room was clean & the funishings in good condition. Though the hotel is completely smoke free, our room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. Our room was located at the front of the hotel but the tiny window offered no view.
We had booked a double room but were allocated a twin room. Within five minutes of mentioning this to the receptionist, a housekeeper knocked on the door to re-arrange the beds. A very quick response but not the most comfortable solution.
There was a problem with the toilet in the tiny en-suite - it just wouldn't flush. Nothing was done about this problem during our stay but we only had to put up with it for one night.
The breakfast was basic but OK. More choice would have been nice.
Checking out took awhile but the reception staff was very efficient and worked their way through the queue quickly.
I felt the room was very expensive for the size & problems it had. Not quite what you would expect from a Quality Crown hotel.

  • Liked — The friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — The non-flushing toilet & room size
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa073, Marketing Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2008
As stated, this guest was upgraded to one of our 4 star hotels whilst we dealt with the problem in the 3 star hotel they were originally booked in. We had hoped that they would be more than satisfied with the replacement hotel.

All our hotels are non-smoking and so it is disturbing to hear that the room this guest stayed in smelled of smoke. We would like to thank the guest for bringing this to our attention.

The Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park is a very popular hotel as it has the benefit of being located in Paddington, close to Oxford Street and London's main attractions yet is set in a quiet garden square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    309
    162
    119
    93
See reviews for
214
266
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

I was worried by some of the comments about the size of the rooms and asked the travel agent to ask for something larger, but I ended up with a very small room but a large bathroom, shower only. Another room they showed me was even smaller. Granted this is London, but in the United States the room size and quality was far below that of AAA 3 star hotels where we've stayed. I'm fairly tall, and the ceiling of this top floor room seemed low, and the side along the wall also had a roof slant too it, such that if I stood up on that side in the narrow space between the bed and the wall, I could clunk my head.

I do not like a soft mattress, I prefer a hard one, but this thin mattress had metal coils which poked at me. I did a lot of thrashing the first night, then finally put the quilt and other covers under me to get the mattress bearable. I then had to go down and ask for another quilt to cover me at 11:30 at night. I mentioned the problematic bed in the morning, but the hotel was so full that they couldn't offer another room, and I was afraid, anyway, that another room might be noisier. Perhaps because I was polite and calm they did not seem very concerned.

We also discovered that the showers use a heater that generates the hot water on demand rather than storing it in a tank, and the shower created a sound like a jet taking off. When someone took an 11 PM shower in the room next door it was very noisy and woke us up. I don't think anyone could sleep through someone turning on the shower in a next door room.

This was March and cool, but our room on the top floor was rather warm. We remedied this by just keeping the bedroom and bathroom windows open, but the top floor rooms would be unbearable on a warm summer day. I don't think there is air conditioning.

I used the fitness center at their nearby sister hotel, and it was okay. The basic cold breakfast was good and the breakfast room pleasant, the overall service decent, but I don't think I'd go back to this hotel. I had expected much more based on the three or four star ratings. Certainly don't expect a huge room with a poster bed like they show in their photos. Such rooms may exists but they must cost more and are not the norm at this hotel.

  • Liked — breakfast in breakfast room
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa073, Marketing Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2008
The hotel rooms in London are typically of a much smaller size than rooms in America, unless you pay a lot more. The room that this guest stayed in is a decent size room for a hotel in central London.

We are sorry to hear that the guest was unhappy with the bed. We are currently replacing the beds in the hotel which is done every 2 years as standard practise.

The rooms are well equipped with all the amenities guests require including complimentary WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, etc.

One of the advantages of this hotel is that it is located with easy access to Oxford Street, Hyde Park and even Heathrow Airport via the Heathrow Express at Paddington Station.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Tipperary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

Booked a triple room so was not surprised to find the room a little packed. Rooms were very clean and beds comfy enough but you could hear every stir from room above. Towels were so well washed that they were thin and grey. Was not inexpensive so expected a little less dingy.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RconTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

Positives: Location near Paddington station and Hyde Park. The hotel sits off the main road on kind of a cul-du-sac like arrangement, and overlooks a nice garden. Beds were comfortable. Desk clerks were nice but ineffective - did not fix problems we called about (see "negatives" below). Has an elevator.

Negatives: NOT ONE DROP OF HOT WATER FOR SHOWER IN THE MORNING. Clerks did not seem affected at all when we called to report this. Toilets only flush intermittantly - can be quite embarrasing. Also, we got to London early. When we arrived at the hotel they graciously did hold our bags, but uniformly turned away everyone that arrived early. We left our bags, walked around the neighborhood, had something to eat, and still got back before 2:00. They wanted us to wait until 2:00 to check in, but my friend got a little noisy about being very tired and wanting to check in. Guess what? Our room magically became ready immediately. Why are they so reticent to let people in their rooms early if they're ready? Also the room was tiny - one of the smallest yet priciest we encountered during our two weeks in the UK & Paris.

Notes: Didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on that. I thought it was expensive so we walked a block down London Street and had breakfast in a restaurant.

Summary: The negatives outweigh the postives. No shower and a toilet that works only sometimes trumps the good location.

  • Liked — Very nice location
  • Disliked — No hot water in the morning - could not take a shower. Toilet was temperamental.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

The Quality Crown Hotel is a very good hotel in a nice area near Hyde Park. The hotel is in good location to Paddington Tube Station and surrounded by plenty of good pubs, restaurants, and mini-marts. Club rooms are a bit small but that’s expected in Europe.
Breakfast is good and you have a choice of a full English breakfast at extra cost or a free Continental breakfast with a good selection.
The only thing I did not like about this hotel was the fact that we could not get hot water until much later in the evening and there was a problem with the window in our room. Every time there was a breeze or a large lorry passed the hotel the window would rattle as it was hard to completely close.
Good location, clean comfy rooms and beds, nice breakfast and fast check in by friendly staff was a plus.
I think I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone in London for a few days.

  • Liked — Comfy beds and location
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water during the day
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayday2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

We were looking for a quiet, reasonably priced hotel for a 4-day get away, arriving from San Francisco. We took the Heathrow Connect (cheaper alternative to the Express) to Paddington Station and walked (about 10 mins.) to hotel. The staff set aside our bags, as like many people, we arrived early morning and had to wait for our room. We walked thru Hyde Park, had a pub lunch and got room by 1:00. We had a Club Room on top floor...it was clean, efficient and mostly quiet; heard some noise early morning, but to be expected as people getting ready to head out. We had breakfast included in our rate, and for a little extra, we had it brought to our room! The convenience to 2 tube stations, the buses and Hyde Park, plus being on Talbot Square, instead of busy road, was a good choice for our stay.

  • Liked — Convenience, price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Travelers5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#795 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#772 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#662 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Property: Quality Crown Hyde Park
Address: 8 Talbot Square, London W2 1TS, England (Formerly Quality Crown Hyde Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #692 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION -Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park
Quality Crown Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing