We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Premier Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Premier Notting Hill
Ranked #370 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Luckily London is a city where you don't spend too much time in the hotel room. No WiFi in the rooms???? but its ok no one has smart phones or tablets these days, only laptops so there is a cable in the rooms for internet access..... It made it hard to make some travel plans for the day as you had to get ready then go to the lobby to use the WiFi, Which I'm sure has a cap per user as mine gave a "wrong password" message after an app I had, about 30 mb, updated.
The room was tiny, the smallest room I ever stayed in and the heating seems to only be in the bathroom. Some mould on the roof and the bedsheets were, well, not very new.
We didn't get it but breakfast at £15 each, I'd be expecting gold plated eggs for that, crazy price.
Service was friendly execpt for the one guy who insisted on burping loudly multiple times as I was trying to use the common WiFi.
Area is safe and its close to a busy main street and Bayswater tube stop is a 3-4 min walk.
Took a few minutes to find as we were looking for a Shaftsbury hotel but the name outside is Premier something or other?
If it was a 3* it would be ok, but this place is a 4* Hotel. How it ever got 4*'s is beyond me.
Good location, staff helpful, poor hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    465
    171
    106
    120
See reviews for
144
466
167
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room I stayed in (802) was in the basement which wouldn't be my first choice but it was a decent size, clean and with the all the usual trimmings. It worked out at just under £80 per night and for a hotel in this part of the London over the Easter weekend represents very good value for money.

I would have awarded the hotel the full 5 starts but they need to address some of their services.

March 2013 was famously cold and it was freezing first thing in the morning down in the basement unless you dialled 0 and asked for your heating to be turned on. Also, coffee and milk were never replaced after the first night. However, despite these minor blips I would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mackyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in February this year and were very pleased we did. All the staff at the hotel went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to the Club Room at no extra cost to ourselves and the room offered us everything we needed the room was also clean even if some of the fixtures and fittings could do with upgrading. The location is perfect for exploring central London and the reception staff will not hesitate to offer their assistance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPrice25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked via lastminute.com and wasn't disappointed. We had a complimentary room upgrade (so don't know what the smaller rooms would be like) and the room was fine - very clean - and even had a microwave (although I don't think all rooms have this facility). The breakfast was OK. The staff were excellent. It's an easy walk to/from Notting Hill underground station. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked this last minute for a weekend trip to London. I was surprised to be directed to the basement and the smallest single room I have ever stayed in! Everything was cramped and it was difficult to walk around with my luggage in there and I really didn't have that much with me! The room was also quite warm and stuffy.

The room and bathroom were clean but the bed was lumpy and had seen better days. At first I didn't think there was a window but then noticed a small one next to the door. It was easy to miss because there was no light coming through it. It looked out into a tiny recess filled with gigantic, ugly pipes which made a racket all day and night. I'm a heavy sleeper so it didn't bother me but I can imagine the noise would keep many people awake.

There was no WiFi in the room, nor could I get a normal signal on my phone. I found this particularly annoying as I had to go upstairs to the lobby to make private calls and access the Internet. It seemed everyone else was doing the same thing so it was quite crowded upstairs.

On the plus side it is only a five minute walk from a couple of tube stations so it has good access to central London and I felt quite safe walking in the immediate area, although it is tucked away along quiet residential streets so can take a bit of finding.

Only two marks from me as I expect much more from a 4 star hotel and did not think it offered good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ootnaboot88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Wales
Level Contributor
386 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Awful hotel, will never stay here again. Read mixed reviews before I booked this online. Didn’t book breakfast as at £15 per person per night they are having a laugh! There are several cafes / restaurants nearby (Whiteleys, Pret A Manger) where you can get yourself a cheaper (and more substantial) breakfast. The first room (No. 1) we were allocated was the size of a store cupboard. Seriously. My husband is 6’ 3” and I'm 5' 4" and we didn't have room to swing a cat. It would have been a squash for just one person nevermind a couple. The handle broke off the bathroom door, there were cigarette burns on the bathroom shelf, our double bed was squashed up against the wall and there wasn't one window so it was very dark. After visiting Reception several times to complain the Manager appeared as if by magic and offered us another room in the basement. A clubroom apparently. This was basically a normal sized double bedroom with a bigger bathroom with a shower cubicle over the bath and was a vast improvement on the first offering so we moved. The only downside was that the hotel handymen were outside our bedroom window from very early in the morning, chatting and smoking. A set of earplugs eliminated that problem. Be aware that they take your card details on arrival to put a £20 deposit against you in case of food /drink taken from the rooms minibar. The irony? Our minibar was empty even if we had wanted anything! Luckily the £20 wasn't taken from our bank account. Plenty of tea / coffee in rooms with kettle, ironing board and hairdryer. We stayed 2 nights, 2 nights too long.

Room Tip: Only take a basement room if it doesn't face the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for 4 days at the hotel. The facilities were good. The service was outstanding. Staff went out of their way to help me and whatever I asked for was there almost immediately. Would like to give a special mention to Kazim for excellent service. Am going back next week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#380 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#292 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#239 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#458 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Premier Notting Hill

Property: The Premier Notting Hill
Address: 5-7 Princes Square, London W2 4NP, England (Formerly London Premier Notting Hill)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#360 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Premier Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from Hyde Park and Notting Hill Gate, The Premier Notting Hill is situated in a quiet square in Bayswater, and close to Queensway, Whiteleys Shopping Centre and the London Underground. Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus can all be reached in 20 minutes via tube from Bayswater station, which is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. 20-minute links to Heathrow Airport can be taken from London Paddington rail station, which is a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
The Premier Notting Hill London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing