We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing premier about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Premier Notting Hill
Ranked #359 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Awful hotel, will never stay here again. Read mixed reviews before I booked this online. Didn’t book breakfast as at £15 per person per night they are having a laugh! There are several cafes / restaurants nearby (Whiteleys, Pret A Manger) where you can get yourself a cheaper (and more substantial) breakfast. The first room (No. 1) we were allocated was the size of a store cupboard. Seriously. My husband is 6’ 3” and I'm 5' 4" and we didn't have room to swing a cat. It would have been a squash for just one person nevermind a couple. The handle broke off the bathroom door, there were cigarette burns on the bathroom shelf, our double bed was squashed up against the wall and there wasn't one window so it was very dark. After visiting Reception several times to complain the Manager appeared as if by magic and offered us another room in the basement. A clubroom apparently. This was basically a normal sized double bedroom with a bigger bathroom with a shower cubicle over the bath and was a vast improvement on the first offering so we moved. The only downside was that the hotel handymen were outside our bedroom window from very early in the morning, chatting and smoking. A set of earplugs eliminated that problem. Be aware that they take your card details on arrival to put a £20 deposit against you in case of food /drink taken from the rooms minibar. The irony? Our minibar was empty even if we had wanted anything! Luckily the £20 wasn't taken from our bank account. Plenty of tea / coffee in rooms with kettle, ironing board and hairdryer. We stayed 2 nights, 2 nights too long.

Room Tip: Only take a basement room if it doesn't face the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for 4 days at the hotel. The facilities were good. The service was outstanding. Staff went out of their way to help me and whatever I asked for was there almost immediately. Would like to give a special mention to Kazim for excellent service. Am going back next week.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend last October. The location is quite good it is about a 5 minute walk to the nearest tube station which is Bayswater. There is also lots of shops and restaurants near by at Queensway. Our room itself was really small but was clean and the bathroom was new. There was also aircon/heating which could be adjusted as you like. There was only free internet in public areas which did not correspond to the advertisement. Would not recommend eating breakfast there as it was £15 each for a cold breakfast which was not very appetizing. All in all it was good value considering the location and local amenities and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are executive rooms which I imagine would be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill is a good hotel.
It's not luxurious but it´s nice and gives you what you need for a pleasant stay.
The room was small but confortable. The bed was too small, I'm 1,82m and i've sleept with my feet out of the bed.
The bathroom was nice with a very good shower and the heated floor.
The free wi-fi was also a nice feature but the signal in the bedroom was too weak.
The breakfast was good, there was a little bit of everything. It's more than enough for the start of a new day visiting London.
The breakfast room was very small, more than 10/12 people and it was too crowded and noisy.
The best thing about this hotel is really it's location. It's near the Bayswater Tube and Bus Stations, near Hyde Park, Notting Hill (Portobello Road Market, etc) and there are a good variety of restaurants near the hotel. Basically it's on walking distance of a lot of interesting place.
If you don't have lots of money to spend, but want to be in a central hotel, I think this is a nice choice for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valter1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The rooms are awfully small and the hotel didnt have food of any kind other than at breakfast. The room was absolutely freezing and the air conditioning kept cutting out so it never got warm. The hotel also advertised free internet but wifi was only available in public areas and the internet cable in the room was so ridiculously short I couldnt use the computer in bed even though the socket was right next to it. The whole hotel was shabby and outdated. Definitely not a 4* accommodation.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank SamuelHolland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for one night with the mrs. The room was very small but we had no issue with that. Very comfortable bed and sleeping was excellent. Felt very cosy with wooden furniture.
A bit strange how they locked the window with a wood nailed to the frame…
Nice location near cinema and great places to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHUK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Das Shaftesbury ist ein schönes Hotel und meine bisherige Meinung zu Hotels in London hat sich verändert. Dachte ich bisher immer, dass das Zimmer winzig und auch ein bisschen ranzig sein kann, wenn man ja nur die Nacht dort verbringt und man nicht so viel Geld ausgeben möchte, wurde ich überzeugt, dass man auch für wenig Geld ein tolles Hotel bekommen kann.
Die einzigen Schwachpunkte lagen in leider verschmutzten Handtüchern (trotz Wechsel jeden Tag, auf jedem Handtuch noch Flecken) und in der grauenhaften Aussicht. Ich hatte ein Zimmer im ersten OG, auf einen 5 qm großen Hof, wo sich die Lüftungsrohre befanden und die ganzen Nacht durch Lärm machten.
Vom Service her gab es keine Klagen.
Ich habe nicht im Hotel gegessen.
Grundsätzliche würde ich es empfehlen, aber von Zimmer 112 abraten.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at The Premier Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#289 of 1,075 in London
1,681 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#317 of 1,075 in London
2,323 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#425 of 1,075 in London
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#604 of 1,075 in London
760 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Premier Notting Hill

Address: 5-7 Prince's Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England (Formerly London Premier Notting Hill)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#254 Luxury Hotel in London
#360 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $104 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Premier Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from Hyde Park and Notting Hill Gate, The Premier Notting Hill is situated in a quiet square in Bayswater, and close to Queensway, Whiteleys Shopping Centre and the London Underground. Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus can all be reached in 20 minutes via tube from Bayswater station, which is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. 20-minute links to Heathrow Airport can be taken from London Paddington rail station, which is a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
The Premier Notting Hill London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing