We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Premier Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added London Premier Notting Hill to your Saves list
London Premier Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England (Notting Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend last October. The location is quite good it is about a 5 minute walk to the nearest tube station which is Bayswater. There is also lots of shops and restaurants near by at Queensway. Our room itself was really small but was clean and the bathroom was new. There was also aircon/heating which could be adjusted as you like. There was only free internet in public areas which did not correspond to the advertisement. Would not recommend eating breakfast there as it was £15 each for a cold breakfast which was not very appetizing. All in all it was good value considering the location and local amenities and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are executive rooms which I imagine would be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill is a good hotel.
It's not luxurious but it´s nice and gives you what you need for a pleasant stay.
The room was small but confortable. The bed was too small, I'm 1,82m and i've sleept with my feet out of the bed.
The bathroom was nice with a very good shower and the heated floor.
The free wi-fi was also a nice feature but the signal in the bedroom was too weak.
The breakfast was good, there was a little bit of everything. It's more than enough for the start of a new day visiting London.
The breakfast room was very small, more than 10/12 people and it was too crowded and noisy.
The best thing about this hotel is really it's location. It's near the Bayswater Tube and Bus Stations, near Hyde Park, Notting Hill (Portobello Road Market, etc) and there are a good variety of restaurants near the hotel. Basically it's on walking distance of a lot of interesting place.
If you don't have lots of money to spend, but want to be in a central hotel, I think this is a nice choice for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valter1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The rooms are awfully small and the hotel didnt have food of any kind other than at breakfast. The room was absolutely freezing and the air conditioning kept cutting out so it never got warm. The hotel also advertised free internet but wifi was only available in public areas and the internet cable in the room was so ridiculously short I couldnt use the computer in bed even though the socket was right next to it. The whole hotel was shabby and outdated. Definitely not a 4* accommodation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelHolland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for one night with the mrs. The room was very small but we had no issue with that. Very comfortable bed and sleeping was excellent. Felt very cosy with wooden furniture.
A bit strange how they locked the window with a wood nailed to the frame…
Nice location near cinema and great places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Das Shaftesbury ist ein schönes Hotel und meine bisherige Meinung zu Hotels in London hat sich verändert. Dachte ich bisher immer, dass das Zimmer winzig und auch ein bisschen ranzig sein kann, wenn man ja nur die Nacht dort verbringt und man nicht so viel Geld ausgeben möchte, wurde ich überzeugt, dass man auch für wenig Geld ein tolles Hotel bekommen kann.
Die einzigen Schwachpunkte lagen in leider verschmutzten Handtüchern (trotz Wechsel jeden Tag, auf jedem Handtuch noch Flecken) und in der grauenhaften Aussicht. Ich hatte ein Zimmer im ersten OG, auf einen 5 qm großen Hof, wo sich die Lüftungsrohre befanden und die ganzen Nacht durch Lärm machten.
Vom Service her gab es keine Klagen.
Ich habe nicht im Hotel gegessen.
Grundsätzliche würde ich es empfehlen, aber von Zimmer 112 abraten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Positives : perfect location 5/8 min walk to Bayswater & Queensway tube stations.
Handy location to use as a base for touring around London.
Negatives :
Room : I would imagine prison cells are bigger ?!!! You could not swing a cat in it they are that small !!! Oversized Americans beware!!
Breakfast way overpriced !! £12 + when you can get cheaper down the road for £6.50 ish ??
No bar !!
Conclusion : A serviced block of apartments in a nice location pretending to be a hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loughgalwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked to stay here after having a pretty good stay in this hotel last year. Unfortunately our loyalty was rewarded by being moved to a sister hotel which barely qualified as a 3 star in Kensington. On the day we were arriving I was contacted by the booking office citing boiler fault and we can't check in at this hotel for our 3 days stay. The hotel we were moved to had a tiny double room, a bathroom you can barely maneuver in and our bedroom was right next to a busy tube track and we can hear trains every minute going pass right up to 1am. The free breakfast and friendly staff were the only compensating feature. The staff offered to check if the 'boiler problem is fixed' but I doubt that will happen. Besides, I have a 2 day conference to attend and I can't leave in the middle of it to move to a different hotel. It seems from other reviews at Tripadvisor this hs happened before. The money I paid was not worth the room, next time I'll go somewhere else. I regretted booking from this hotel chain and will never again book with them. It's a shame because I had a good experience last year. My advise is to book at your own risk, it's a lottery where you'll end up!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IzHas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in and your patience while we looked into this matter.
it was confirmed that the Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill did suffer a maintenance problem on the day of arrival. Therefore we arranged for an alternative accommodation you. We understand that you were less than satisfied about this and we sincerely apologize for the trouble caused. We have taken the complaint into very serious consideration and have been implementing measures to ensure that we further improve on all our services.

i will appreciate if you could send me your contact detail to dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.comin order for me to contact you directly and discuss the same in depth.

i understand from your comments that you had a very bad experiance and once again apologize for the same

With Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#341 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Premier Notting Hill

Address: 5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Luxury Hotel in London
#365 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — London Premier Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in restored 1850s Townhouses offering elegant comfort in a quiet garden square; short walk to the antique market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your London Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
London Premier Notting Hill England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing