We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better with some effort from the hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Ranked #543 of 1,088 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could be better with some effort from the hotel staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The staff at reception was quite unhelpful. I wanted to pay upfront cash but they were wondering for a while why I want to pay upfront. We made our booking ages ago and requested a twin room.. however, we were told that all twins are occupied and they gave us a double room. London was at its warmest and the air conditioning was not working at all in the room we were provided. When the lady from the reception came in to check our rooms air conditioning she was trying to imply that its perfectly ok and she clearly said 'our hotel does not have air conditioning.. its the air from outside which our system throws into rooms' .. I was very certain that it is a lie as I have stayed at this hotel before and was certain they had very good air conditioning in rooms. However, we were moved into another double room which had perfect air conditioning (for sure it wasn't the air from outside).. and we were promised a twin room for next day.. Next day as per their promise we were moved into a twin room.. The rooms was ok as it was supposed to be.. but changing 3 rooms wasn't great when you are on a holiday.. breakfast is very very basic..

Despite all this I think this hotel is average and not poor because once u have a good room its quite comfortable and cleaning staff is good.. and the best part is hotels location and access.

Room Tip: Don't go for a double room with sofa bed.. it will leave no space for u at all if u decide to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmedJamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear AhmedJamal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay and I am sorry during your return visit to the hotel we failed to meet your expectations. I will be feeding back your commets at our next management meeting. I appreciate all feedback good or bad, as this helps us to improve our service and standards. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again and we can show you how great we can be.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    358
    214
    64
    51
See reviews for
195
226
70
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with two other work colleagues at this hotel for three evening. Yet helpful when asked we all thought the reception staff who are the face of the hotel could have been more welcoming and a little less (looking down their noses at us). It was a shame as the rest of the hotel was faultless.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darral T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Darral1970,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but very concerned to read that you felt reception team looked down their noses at you. I would be grateful if you could e-mail me your reservation details so I can look into this further. You can contact me direct at tracie.barrie@redefinebdl.com.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for four days on arrival in the UK. The taxi ride there from Paddington seemed like it was miles away, but actually it was just 5 minutes walk to the station, then 10-15 minutes on the DLR to Tower to start sightseeing, or with a change you could shop all day at Canary Wharf. Also handy to the O2 and the Emirates Skyway (5-10 minute walk)
The sofa bed wasnt made up in our room and when we enquired they had no housekeeping staff (despite the fact that we had had to wait because the room wasnt ready when we arrived) so they had to change our room - rather than have the bed made up in the first one. The 2nd room was much more basic bordering on rundown and the sofabed was extremely uncomfortable.
Breakfast was included in the price and there were plenty of choices for hot, cold, and continental. WiFi was also free. Staff were mostly helpful, some more than others. The only downside was the lack of eateries for evening meals. Lovely Italian place next door - but there is a limit to how many pizzas and pasta you can eat in a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_choccie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Desrkiwi_choccie_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations during your visit. I am sorry that you was a little dissappointed with the hotel not serving dinner. In addition to the Italian next door we have a wide range of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. I am sorry that you was not made aware of this during your visit.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Given the price I wasn't really expecting a lot from this place, but I needed somewhere close to the O2. This place was perfect. A few minutes walk from Canning town DLR / Tube station, and a doddle to get back to after the concert finished. The room was clean and comfortable (and air conditioned, which we were glad of on the hottest day of the year!). Staff were pleasant, and the breakfast buffet had a good selection (which included sausage / egg / beans, so that was me sorted). I really cannot grumble. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: A few reviewers have moaned about front facing rooms suffering from road noise. We didn't find i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeltrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear rebeltrucker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel perfect for your visit to the O2. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in the area.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This Hotel is great for the O2 Arena just one tube ride to the O2 or the cable car which is about eight minutes walk from the hotel towards the O2. The double bed was smallest I have ever slept in, so it was extremely cosy for both of us and we tried not to move as we would either fall out or hit each other in the process when we rolled over. The breakfast selection was poor and very limited, scrambled eggs only, beans and very cheap sausages for hot choices. The usual limited cold selection provided. Not worth the money...I have had better on the motorway services!! People were left stood around waiting for the crockery to be brought from the Kitchens once they ran out.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room that is away from the main road and the tubes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annunziata468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Annunziata468,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel however I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with our breakfast. As an Express Hotel we offer limited hot items of sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. Our sister hotels at Holiday Inn offer a full English breakfast. Thank you for your feedback regarding the sausages, as a result of guest comments we are in the process of trialling different sausages that will meet our guests expectations. I do hope that yopu will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Leonards on sea
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for an event at the 02 arena. Perfectly situated for the venue, about 200 metres from the underground station and only one stop away. The staff are friendly and helpful, clean room, comfortable nights sleep and a perfectly acceptable breakfast on offer. Pretty good all round and no complaints

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear bigdoss,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting London.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I wanted to have accommodation near to the O2 Arena but the close-by hotels were exepensive.

I was recommended this hotel, which is the next stop from the O2 Arena and only about 10 minutes walk from the Canning Town DLR Station.

The hotel is clean and has the normal Holiday Inn Express decor. Special surprise is the free WiFi that extended to my room as well as the reception areas.

Bed was comfortable - But the Sofa Bed was not and is far too hard.

The breakfast was a free choice of cereals, breads and sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans. Pity that the sausages were poor and the scrambled egg appeared to be made from power. Free newsapapers - The Times, i and Daily Mail gave plenty to read.

Overall, good hotel for those wanting to go to the O2 Arena.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay for your visit to the O2 Arena. I hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting the area.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#556 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing