We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$207
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arch London(London)
$305
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$184
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$281
$260
Kensington Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$128
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$258
$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$401
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $474/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveler rating
282
507
243
73
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
507
243
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthwark tube stationborough marketsouth bankbeanstate modernhi expressmillennium bridgeglobe theatrejubilee linelondon eyewalking distancefree breakfastthe sofa bedyogurtst paul's cathedralminute walkclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Has its own car park at 18 pounds/night, decent breakfast, excellent location for all southbank attractions (borough market, Tate Modern, London Eye) for a great price. Staff was fine. As I had children with me, its safe location was important-- we walked the streets from Waterloo station at 9:30pm without a worry. One of the few places where you can book one room to fit 4 people. Easy walk to Southwark and Waterloo Tube which can get you easily to most places. If you're a walker, very pleasant 30 minutes to Soho and 20 Minutes to Covent Garden (though there is a bus on the next block that will take you to covent garden/aldwych). Next to bicycle stand as well. Beds a bit soft but otherwise quite comfortable stay all around. No complaints on anything.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heehawEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed at hotel in weekend where the UK was hit by real winter weather (by English standards...) and received excellent service from hotel staff when our flight was cancelled. Hotel in excellent location in walking distance to the traditional touristic sights but also very close to the Borough Market and Tate Modern - both places we highly recommend. We are fans of Holiday Inn from previous trips to the US - u know what you get and it is always of good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soren_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Myself, a friend, and two family members booked two rooms at the HIEx Soutwark for New Year's Eve 2010. The main factor in selecting this hotel was its convenient proximity to NYE fireworks viewing areas. We've also had good experiences at other HIEx hotels in the London area in the past.

Location:
The nearest Tube station is Southwark, although London Bridge station is not much further. Bus #RV1 (Covent Garden - Tower Gateway) provides direct access to the hotel and provides easy access to the Tower Bridge/Tower of London, the London Eye, or the West End.

Lobby/Reception:
The entrance to the hotel is on the corner of the building. There are three steps from the side walk up to the entry door -- could be annoying if traveling with a lot of bags. The receptionist greeted us immediately and checked us in - nothing special.

The elevator is TINY...not much room for 2 people and 2 small suitcases.

There are a variety of sundry items and beverages available in the reception area for purchase. There is also a bar, which is open until 2am, I think.

Rooms:
Each of the rooms were twin bed rooms. There was a fair amount of space, two towels per person, coffee/tea service, and a hair dryer. There was both radiator and "central" heating control in the room -- used the "central" to warm the room up and turned it off over night. The temperature remained comfortable.

My room was on the street side of the hotel and on the first floor. I was not bothered by noise or anything

Breakfast:
One thing we've always liked is the complimentary breakfast. Of the HI Ex's I've stayed at, I'd rate this one as having the least selection....it wasn't bad, just less than I've seen elsewhere.. They had hot food (sausage, eggs, tomatoes), a few types of pastries, croissants, and limited yogurts and fruits. Actually, the fruit selection was pathetic -- a few sad looking apples.

Security:
Upon check in the receptionist told us to have the cardstock room card holders with us when we came back from the fireworks, as it would identify us actual guests. This was due to concern for security after the fireworks and the chaos of people everywhere afterwards. They did check for this - which was fine - I'd rather it be more secure than not.

Overall impression:
If I needed to be in the South Bank area of London again, I'd consider staying here. It was clean and functional, but there was nothing that blew me away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rwoman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night only on NY Eve so that we could overnight in London after attending the NY Eve firework display on the banks of the River Thames. The only good thing about this hotel is it's location to the south bank/river. When we arrived, we opened a window to let some air in the room as it was stuffy and the entire window came off its hinges into my husband's hands! He managed to muscle it back into place but we had a draft coming into the room after that! The shower was pathetic, we could only get scalding or freezing water and the handle was damaged on the shower and we almost sliced our hand open on the damaged knob! The room is tiny and the beds are not very comfy. There is a kettle but the shower and vanity are of poor quality. We did not have time to complain until check out about the window and the shower as we were on a deadline to catch the fireworks. The breakfast is not bad (although eggs are inedible) but there is a great coffee machine that does expresso, latte's etc., (best part of the breakfast buffet) as well as cereal, juice, croissants, sausages, beans and toast all of which were nice. We stayed here on points for convenience sake but I would never pay to stay at this hotel and we would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Book an emergency room here due to the snow for 3 adults. No recognition of being a 'platinum priority club member' at check in. When I asked if I'd recieved an upgrade, oh yes we've put you in a big room. Well... with the sofa bed open there was no room at all to move around. In fact the bed went all the way up to the desk making it unusable. The room was really hot, we turned off all the heating and still baked. On the positive the hotel is on a direct bus route from Waterloo station, (RV1) and to Covent graden the other way on the same bus.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews