We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Arch London(London)
$387
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$206
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$280
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$254
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$181
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveler rating
282
506
243
73
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
506
243
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthwark tube stationborough marketsouth bankbeanstate modernhi expressmillennium bridgeglobe theatrejubilee linelondon eyewalking distancefree breakfastthe sofa bedyogurtst paul's cathedralminute walkclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This hotel is a hidden gem of London. It is a fantastic value. For little more than the dump hostel we were supposed to stay in, we moved to the HIE Southwark and could not have been happier. The location is not bad.. 5 minute walk to the tube and/or short cab ride to most places. The staff at the HIE was EXCEPTIONAL. I cannot even begin to describe the measures they took to make our stay better. The room was very nice; recently renovated. The bed was comfortable, the bathrooms were nice and the room, most importantly, was immaculately CLEAN! Just a great, great value. I will stay here again next time I am in London. It was a trip-saver!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommym96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in October. The staff on the front desk were friendly, rooms clean and in a good location if you want to explore the South Bank area and it is on the doorstep to the Tate.

The first morning I was there I went down to breakfast at 7am and was the only one there, options was limited with sausages, scrambled eggs, croissants, bread and cereal.

The next morning was a different story I went down at 10am and it was packed with no where to sit, I ended up eating at the bar.

My only major bad point to this hotel is the distance from Southwark tube station, it takes about ten minutes walk to get to the hotel from it, and after a long day of walking around London I just wish it was a bit closer.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank diveteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel is fairly convenient to London via the Southwark stop on the Jubilee line or the Millenium Bridge. The rooms are extremely basic; few amenities, no dressers for clothing, only shelves, insufficient lighting, shower only, no fridge or microwave. Worst of all, internet access was five pounds per hour! Use the free wifi at the Pret a Manger restaurant down the street instead. Definitely not more than a 3 star hotel. High priced for the value. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKABQNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Holiday Inn Express Southwark was a wonderful stay for myself and a friend for a week in London. The rooms were modern and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and things we should do during our stay. The hotel was in a great location, bus stop only about 50 metres from the front door. There is also a train station about a block away but unfortunately until i think it was the end of 2010 they are renovating the station and it is closed on weekends.
Also a continental breakfast was included which I generally expect to be toast and cereal but the breakfast was of very good quality for what was classified as 'continental' with good variety of food.
I would hightly recommend this hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed here for full one week with our family and had the best experience. The hotel is ideally located on the Southbank nearby all the London locations, tourist spots, very safe, three tube stations nearby-Southwark, London Bridge, and Borogh, and it is in an area that is quiet, clean, not crowded at all. The room and facility were very clean. Perfect hot breaksfast in the monring that gets you going for the day. The best part of the most friendly staff that is available 24 hrs to help you in everything that you need. You have many many nice and reasonable budget eating places. Many buses stop bere. You could walk to the the north and south banks and enjoy the best restaurants. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who is staying for short or long and looking for an overall perfect experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC-Washingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews