We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Ranked #458 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stay in HIEs quite a bit in North America, so we knew this brand would be a safe bet. You're certainly paying for the location, which is a short walking distance to a tube station that gets you anywhere, but we also walked from this hotel to everything between the Tower of London and Buckingham Palace. The staff were friendly and prompt. The hotel lobby is very modern. As for the standard rooms, they are small but comfortable. The amenities are slightly different than the basics you would find in North America (no soap bars or lotion, coffee is instant). The breakfast may lack the trademarked cinnamon buns, but I certainly preferred the London version. Free WiFi was good and speedy. My only complaint would be the bed was not at all comfortable. I found it to be worn and the springs made for an unsettled sleep. While it appeared the hotel appealed to business travelers more, it is certainly a prime location for any tourist.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theseoldroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    460
    230
    71
    38
See reviews for
295
273
54
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Just behind the Tate Modern and easy access to the City via the Millenium Bridge.

Reasonable sized rooms, quiet and comfortable which is what you need.

Breakfast options were very good, the only downside was the coffee machines which appeared to be instant and not whole bean :-(.

Would stay again if i need to fairly close to work.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank guy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

When I need to stay over in London for work this is my hotel of choice, mainly because it is close to the office, I also like that this hotel is always clean and there is a warm welcome from the staff. Breakfast is always fresh and hot. It s a great location for nightlife in the area and I feel safe there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mel M

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding the welcoming staff. It is great to see that we are your favorite hotel when you are in London for business. I will certainly pass your feedback to the team here and I hope I will have the chance to meet you in person you next time you visit us.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbadoo
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a birthday treat with hubby and two daughters. We arrived before the check in time but the staff were happy for us to leave our bags whilst we went off to visit the shops. When we returned the room were ready. We had two rooms on the 4th floor - looking at the room plans they were the smallest rooms available but having said that they were clean and comfortable with all the amenities we needed. The bed was small but comfortable with a choice of firm or soft pillows and the double glazing, once we realised there was a secondary sliding panel, was very effective. Wifi was also included in the cost of the room - take note Premier Inn! The public areas looked a bit like a 6th form common room but was perfectly functional. The staff were very friendly - happily making us a hot chocolate each when we arrive back from our theatre trip foot sore and weary. We had been promised a continental breakfast so were pleasantly surprised when there was also scrambled eggs, beans and sausages on offer.
Overall we were very impressed with our stay and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms do vary in size ? price related so check the size you would get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simbadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Simbadoo

Thank you for your great feedback following your stay at the hotel. It is a pleasure to see that we went beyond your expectations and I have already shared your feedback with the team here. We strive to provide a guest experience that is Simple, Smart, Spot on. Many thanks again and we all look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Situated close to Blackfriars and walking distance from Borough market, this excellent hotel offers very up to date accommodation with a fresh and plentiful breakfast included. The team here will make your stay and cannot do more for you. Great value, good location. A terrific stay and I will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerMoth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Tigermoth1969

Thank you so much for your great review following your stay at the hotel. I will certainly share your feedback with the team here who will be delighted to see that their efforts have been recognised. At Holiday Inn Express we strive to providing a guest experience that is Simple, Smart, Spot on. Many thanks again and I hope you will stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had a good 5 day off with Family here. Very nice experience, as the hotel is located near many tourist spots in London and was within my budget. Small but enough to accommodate a small family by using the sofa as bed, well managed and cleaned room. Good service at the reception check in and checkout, Very friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ram_Kovath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Kovath

Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay with us. I am glad that hotel was suitable to your trip requirements and the team here will be delighted to know that their hard work has been recognised. We strive to deliver a guest experience that is Simple, Smart, Spot on. Many thanks again and I hope we will have the honor to serve you again next time you visit London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel, as we know that Southwark is a good area for being able to travel around London. Myself and my wife spent two nights in a room on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel, but asked to be moved because of the excessive road noise. We then moved to the 3rd floor at the rear of the hotel. There is lots of construction work going on at the back, but it is quiet between 5pm and 8am. So much better than the other room. The rooms themselves are small and have the smallest double beds we have ever slept on! However there is air conditioning. We normally stay at the Southwark travelodge which is cheaper and comfier than the HIE. Breakfast was included and consisted of cereal, some fruit and a cooked brekkie which was always scrambled egg, sausages, and baked beans! Why no bacon or a change of type of eggs? There was also toast, coffees and juice. My report might seem a bit negative but I think that we expected a bit more for our money! On the plus side the ladies who staffed the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and the rooms were kept very clean. We wouldn't stay here again but it served its purpose for our short break.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sofa bed as well as a normal bed, as they are bigger. Get a room around the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cragster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Cragster

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am disappointed that your experience was marred by the external noise emanating form the adjacent building sites which unfortunately we are unable to control. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. With regards to your breakfast comment, please be aware that at Holiday Inn Express, bacon is not included in the free breakfast menu, however I will share your thoughts with our food and beverage team so that we can enhance our offering in terms of quality and variety of breakfast items available. On a separate note I am glad that you found the reception team friendly and helpful and I have already forwarded them your feedback. Many thanks again for your constructive review and I hope you will restore faith in the Holiday Inn Express Brand in the near future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#300 of 1,069 in London
1,990 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#257 of 1,069 in London
3,312 reviews
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Address: Snow House 103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Romantic Hotel in London
#318 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-London Southwark, the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting London. The hotel is situated on the south-bank of the River Thames and only minutes away from major London tourist attractions, such as the New Tate Modern, Shakespeare s Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, The London Eye, which offers spectacular views of the London sky-line, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express London Southwark features 136 contemporary style bedrooms, all individually air conditioned offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, modem points at work stations with Free WiFi and Freeview television. In addition, the hotel is in close proximity to both Southwark Tube only a short distance from direct access to Westfield Stratford City, the O2 & Canary Wharf via the Jubilee line and Blackfriars Station Terminal with access to the Circle and District lines, allowing convenient access to attractions in the heart of London such as Leicester Square and London s Theatreland. All bedrooms have recently been renovated and the hotel has a newly refurbished lobby, great room and breakfast room. Free breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing