We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Arch London(London)
$375
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$210
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$190
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$302
$261
Kensington Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
$162
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$112
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$258
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$388
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $474/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveler rating
282
506
243
73
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
506
243
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthwark tube stationborough marketsouth bankbeanstate modernhi expressmillennium bridgeglobe theatrejubilee linelondon eyewalking distancefree breakfastthe sofa bedyogurtst paul's cathedralminute walkclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Situated close to Blackfriars and walking distance from Borough market, this excellent hotel offers very up to date accommodation with a fresh and plentiful breakfast included. The team here will make your stay and cannot do more for you. Great value, good location. A terrific stay and I will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerMoth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Tigermoth1969

Thank you so much for your great review following your stay at the hotel. I will certainly share your feedback with the team here who will be delighted to see that their efforts have been recognised. At Holiday Inn Express we strive to providing a guest experience that is Simple, Smart, Spot on. Many thanks again and I hope you will stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had a good 5 day off with Family here. Very nice experience, as the hotel is located near many tourist spots in London and was within my budget. Small but enough to accommodate a small family by using the sofa as bed, well managed and cleaned room. Good service at the reception check in and checkout, Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ram_Kovath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Kovath

Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay with us. I am glad that hotel was suitable to your trip requirements and the team here will be delighted to know that their hard work has been recognised. We strive to deliver a guest experience that is Simple, Smart, Spot on. Many thanks again and I hope we will have the honor to serve you again next time you visit London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel, as we know that Southwark is a good area for being able to travel around London. Myself and my wife spent two nights in a room on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel, but asked to be moved because of the excessive road noise. We then moved to the 3rd floor at the rear of the hotel. There is lots of construction work going on at the back, but it is quiet between 5pm and 8am. So much better than the other room. The rooms themselves are small and have the smallest double beds we have ever slept on! However there is air conditioning. We normally stay at the Southwark travelodge which is cheaper and comfier than the HIE. Breakfast was included and consisted of cereal, some fruit and a cooked brekkie which was always scrambled egg, sausages, and baked beans! Why no bacon or a change of type of eggs? There was also toast, coffees and juice. My report might seem a bit negative but I think that we expected a bit more for our money! On the plus side the ladies who staffed the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and the rooms were kept very clean. We wouldn't stay here again but it served its purpose for our short break.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sofa bed as well as a normal bed, as they are bigger. Get a room around the back but not too high as there is only one lift, that only holds four people. It is tiny!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cragster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Cragster

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am disappointed that your experience was marred by the external noise emanating form the adjacent building sites which unfortunately we are unable to control. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. With regards to your breakfast comment, please be aware that at Holiday Inn Express, bacon is not included in the free breakfast menu, however I will share your thoughts with our food and beverage team so that we can enhance our offering in terms of quality and variety of breakfast items available. On a separate note I am glad that you found the reception team friendly and helpful and I have already forwarded them your feedback. Many thanks again for your constructive review and I hope you will restore faith in the Holiday Inn Express Brand in the near future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

After only paying £88 for a double room with sofa bed for our 15 year old son (including breakfast) our expectations were fairly low. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was immaculate, and had everything we needed. The bathroom was vey clean. Bed and pillows very comfortable, and we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was fine, limited on choice for a hot breakfast, but again for a Central London hotel, and what we paid we didn't expect a great choice. What we had was really nice, and all very well presented. The hotel is about a 20 min walk to the London Eye. Would definitely stay again, and if you just want somewhere to sleep and shower it is great value. The staff were so helpful and welcoming. Well done.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Jenny B

Thank you so much for your five stars review. It is a pleasure to see that we have exceeded your expectations and the team here will be thrilled to see that their efforts have been recognised. Thank you for recommending us and I hope you will choose us again next time you visit London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our most recent visit to London, for the ICO Spring Screening Days at the BFI. We deliberately chose a budget hotel on the basis that we only needed somewhere convenient to sleep near to Southbank and so our expectations were not overly high.
The room was quite small, basic but clean - and the 'free' breakfast was fine, if a little limited. You of course get what you pay for - the only real negative was the bed was small and rather uncomfortable, so we did not really get a good night's sleep, but then that is often a problem for us when we are away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One_of_the_BOFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear GrumpsDC

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us understanding what we are doing right and where we need to improve. I will certainly share your comments with the rest of the team and I hope you will stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews