We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and convenient for South Bank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Ranked #457 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is not in a popular hotel spot, but is very convenient for the South Bank area ... It is almost opposite Tate Modern. Busses run regularly to east and west London, including the regular circular trip to London Eye, Covent Garden and Tower Bridge areas.

It's functional. Breakfast is 'free', basic but sufficient. It has been recently refurbished, so areas bright and clean.

(There is no fitness area but I can't find a way to take off the review)

Room Tip: Lovely views from 6th floor towards St Paul's cathedral (not the other way, it's a building...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Annypurple
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - I was pleased that you found the hotel convenient for your needs in terms of locality, cleanliness and friendly staff & that you felt we offered great value for money.
This is something we try hard to achieve although it can be challenging in the Central London market. Good to see you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our expectations for this hotel were not high as we had stayed at a very expensive Holiday Inn hotel in London a few days before and were very disappointed. However, from the moment we checked in we were very impressed. The staff was always attentive, friendly and helpful. When we needed anything, we received it almost immediately.

Since this was an express hotel, I warned my family not to expect much in the way of breakfast. We were stunned to find the usual hot dishes, a good selections of cold cereals, plenty of fruit and chocolate and plain croissants. That was a big money saver with a family.

There were two large screen tvs in the spacious lobby plus free internet also in the lobby. There were also several computers for public use (handy for printing boarding passes)

The location is very handy for restaurants of all kinds and the area felt very safe. However, it was a longish walk to the Underground when was uncomfortable in rainy weather.

I would stay there again. The caring staff made a big difference.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Mizlibrarian
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us - it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt that the location was ideal for your needs.
I do hope that we will see you again on your next trip into London & I am sure that we can direct you to a closer Tube station that is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
Thanks again and Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Typical holiday inn express, clean rooms and given the location. Very quiet rooms given the location with for the present a building site next door and a railway line also nearby. Close to a shopping centre a two minute walk away. Breakfast is basic but adequate.

Room Tip: A busy area so the higher the better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear s_parsons
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel - it was great to read that you found the hotel clean and ideal for your needs during your trip to London. As you say we are in a great location for many attractions - I do hope that we will see you again on your next visit. Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Holiday Inn Express - you know what you're going to get; a clean pleasant room and a passable breakfast. What makes this a bit better is the warmth and genuine-ness of the staff. They like to talk, like to keep their guests happy - full marks to this international crew. The location is fine. Southwark is an interesting area, and the RV1 bus outside takes you to Covent Garden in one direction and the Tower of London in the other. Paul's French Bakery is just across the road - lovely light snacks, croissants and super coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crwydryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Crwydryn2
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you found the team very friendly and helpful and I have shared your feedback with them, it is always refreshing to get positive reviews that offer compliments! to the team. It was a pleasure to have you stay and look after you during your trip to London & I really do look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I use this hotel periodically when working in london and it has consistently provided a warm welcome on arrival and clean rooms. Double glazing is much improved, but if a light sleeoer ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Breakfast is included, a help yourself bufet with sausages, scrambled eggs, beans and toast plus a wider selection of cold items. Big bonus is 2 macs in the lounge area for guest use and free wi-fi if you've jointed their regular guest scheme.

Room Tip: Rooms at front face onto a busy main road. Ask for a high floor or a room at the back if you want a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS&BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear JS&BS
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it was good to see you back again. We are working hard to maintain the consistent high standards of guest service and thank you for highlighting this in your review. It is clearly important to both you and us - we look forward to seeing you again soon - Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It has good location, which has walking distance to two nearby metro stations, London eye, London tower, etc.

It was a bit noisy outside when I stayed there for weekends. It seems like I could hear the police-car and ambulance all day long, maybe that was the football-match night.

There are several nice restaurants and cafe around there as well. I think it is good for people who traveling alone in London, safe, helpful staff, etc.

Room Tip: Better choose the one not facing the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luluValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear luluValley
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel, I was pleased to read that you found our location to be ideal for your needs and trip to London. So sorry that you encountered some traffic noise during your stay, this can sometimes be a problem as we are situated on a main arterial route along the south bank of the River Thames. On your next visit, do ask if we have any rooms available on a higher floor which may help reduce the noise you encountered during your stay. I hope we will see you again soon. Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#301 of 1,072 in London
2,012 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#264 of 1,072 in London
3,355 reviews
The Wellington Hotel
#498 of 1,072 in London
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Address: Snow House 103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Romantic Hotel in London
#318 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $127 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-London Southwark, the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting London. The hotel is situated on the south-bank of the River Thames and only minutes away from major London tourist attractions, such as the New Tate Modern, Shakespeare s Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, The London Eye, which offers spectacular views of the London sky-line, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express London Southwark features 136 contemporary style bedrooms, all individually air conditioned offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, modem points at work stations with Free WiFi and Freeview television. In addition, the hotel is in close proximity to both Southwark Tube only a short distance from direct access to Westfield Stratford City, the O2 & Canary Wharf via the Jubilee line and Blackfriars Station Terminal with access to the Circle and District lines, allowing convenient access to attractions in the heart of London such as Leicester Square and London s Theatreland. All bedrooms have recently been renovated and the hotel has a newly refurbished lobby, great room and breakfast room. Free breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing