We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Ranked #425 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

For an express it was as you would expect!! Room small but more than adequate & bathroom smaller with that ridiculous door!! But spotlessly clean. What makes up for the above however is the staff @ this hotel-they all went over & above what is required of them,so pleasant & helpful-probably best staff at a hotel I have ever come across 5 star customer service! A big thanks to Georgia this morning who went out of her way & found us some form of breakfast cos we missed the sitting which finished @ 10.30!! Staff really make this hotel,def would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nnaD0nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear D0nnaD0nna
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & thanks for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and helpful team that are working here. I think they are a great team too! but I would say that!!
I hope we see you again soon and I have shared your feedback with the team and specifically Georgia.
Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    441
    222
    66
    35
See reviews for
286
257
54
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

It takes a 5 minutes walk to reach The Bank, S. Paul Cathedral and the Tower Bridge as well. The bedrooms are beautiful and comfortable. I feel like suggesting the breakfast too. I'd say it was just perfect.

Room Tip: Very close to the main attraction (it takes a 5 minutes walk to reach Bank City and Saint Paul Cathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Laura P
Thanks for taking the time to let us have your review following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel location great for your needs.
I have shared your feedback with the team here and we hope to see you again on your next visit to London. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very basic hotel. The bathroom was so small that when opened the door closed over the toilet so you had to re-open it to go to the loo, last time I saw that was in student accommodation.

The radiator was very noisy during the night and at one point I thought the window must be open due to the road noise from outside, sadly they were already closed and just very thin. My feet also stuck out over the end of the bed and I am average height at best. The breakfast was pretty good but not good enough to encourage me to stay here again.

No where near the quality of a standard Holiday Inn hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Speke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Blue_Speke
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that the hotel did not meet your expectations on you last visit. We do have a mixed type of bedrooms and some of these are indeed smaller than others due to the nature & design of the building.

With regard to the maintenance issues that you have highlighted,we have investigated your acommodation details and carried out some remedial works to ensure that this noise problem is erradicated for the future. I do hope that you will try us again at some point in the future on your next visit to Holiday Inn Express hotels. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good hotel in very good location – close to the Tate and the Globe. Staff were helpful and welcoming. Excellent breakfast- lots of options including some hot options. My only gripe would be that the coffee is very weak. Room was small but fine. For what is probably predominantly a business hotel lighting in the bedrooms needs to be addressed- I had to give up early- and the rooms do need a lick of paint here and there. All in all a good hotel and I would be happy to say again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farthingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear farthingate
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us following your recent stay. I was pleased to receive your feedback and have shared this with the team here. In particular, thanks for your comments about the strength of the coffee & we have adjusted the dispense level.
For your information, i thought it was important to let you know that we have just started a refrubishment programme for the existing 40 bedrooms which will consist of soft furnishings upgrades and redecoration in these bedrooms. Your comments came at an opportune moment! I hope we see you again on your next visit and thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I ended up with this reservation from a priceline bid and could not have been happier. Clean room. All the staff we dealt with were personable, knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was a nice continental with good selections. The location was a leisurly 10 minute walk to Southwark tube and 12 minutes to Blackfriars. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear VAtravelingmom
Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the HIEX Southwark. It was great to read that you had a brilliant stay with us and that you enjoyed the staff and hotel location. I have shared your feedback with the team here. Thanks again & i hope we see you again on your next visit to London. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
244 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

were in london for the marathon weekend so everywhere was expensive. however this was well priced. rooms are not massive but then none are in london. everyhting was very clean. good powerful shower. nice modern oopen breatkfast area and a very good free breakfast. a good value hotel in a great location. don't miss going to borough market if you are staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear fiona229
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following you recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay and found the hotel suitable for your needs - I do hope we will see you again on your next trip. Thanks again! Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have Parkinson's disease, but did not choose to mention this when booking a twin room for my daughter and myself. As soon as I approached the Reception desk the young lady summed up my situation and greeted us with ... " would you like an Accessible room?" From that moment we had wall-to-wall kindness from all the staff. I have drugs which need to be kept in the fridge - this was organised. I did not feel well enough to go out to eat - food was organised and sent to our room. We paid a very fair price for the room and would certainly book again.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ElizabethD
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. it was great to read your comments about how the team dealt with your needs and requirements during your stay with us. I have also shared this feedback with them. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#195 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#310 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#542 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Address: Snow House 103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Romantic Hotel in London
#318 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-London Southwark, the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting London. The hotel is situated on the south-bank of the River Thames and only minutes away from major London tourist attractions, such as the New Tate Modern, Shakespeare s Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, The London Eye, which offers spectacular views of the London sky-line, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express London Southwark features 136 contemporary style bedrooms, all individually air conditioned offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, modem points at work stations with Free WiFi and Freeview television. In addition, the hotel is in close proximity to both Southwark Tube only a short distance from direct access to Westfield Stratford City, the O2 & Canary Wharf via the Jubilee line and Blackfriars Station Terminal with access to the Circle and District lines, allowing convenient access to attractions in the heart of London such as Leicester Square and London s Theatreland. All bedrooms have recently been renovated and the hotel has a newly refurbished lobby, great room and breakfast room. Free breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing