We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$206
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arch London(London)
$307
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$283
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$258
Chesterfield
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $475/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveler rating
282
506
243
73
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
506
243
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthwark tube stationborough marketsouth bankbeanstate modernhi expressmillennium bridgeglobe theatrejubilee linelondon eyewalking distancefree breakfastthe sofa bedyogurtst paul's cathedralminute walkclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A clean and modern hotel, all you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express.
Comfortable bed and clean ensuite.
The staff were very accommodating and friendly.
Managed to get early check in for a wedding despite it being a busy Jubliee Weekend, they also stored our luggage for free on departure until we were ready to leave at no extra charge which was very good.
Breakfast was fine (buffet style), small selction of cereal, bread, sausages, scrambled egg, juice, tea and coffee. It was extremely busy though and we had to wait a short while to get a table for 4 of us.
Good location though, 5 minutes from the Southwark tube and convenient for tourist attractions
I would be happy to book this again and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz_Swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Maz Swindon
Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor with your feedback, following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were happy with the facilities and location of the property, which suited your needs for your visit.
I have shared your feedback with the team and thanks again. I hope we see you again when you are next in London. Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights over Jubillee weekend.This hotel is in an excellent location with close proximity to the tube stations, millennium bridge,the Thames and St Pauls cathedral. The family room was clean and comfortable with a modern well equipped bathroom. With it being the long bank holiday weekend the hotel was busy so understandably breakfast was busy but the staff worked hard to replenish stocks and clear tables. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, they allowed us to store Suitcases in the luggage room hours before our due check in time. Overall I think this hotel is good value for money, would book here again and recommend to others.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Sarah W
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel clean and good value for money. it is always pleasing to read when our guests have had a favourable experience and I hope that we will see you again, when you are next in London. Many thanks & Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good location, close to tube stops and some attractions.
The room was small but clean and quiet.
Continental breakfast was decent.
The staff were helpful when I asked if I could print off confirmation of something I booked online earlier.
Overall, I would stay there again, as the price was reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear A F
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. It was really great to read that you had a good stay with us and that the hotel was in a suitable location for your stay in London. I have shared your feedback with the team and I hope we see you again in the future. Many thanks - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for the Diamond Jubilee Pagent for it's location. The rooms are small, but clean. Having stayed at similar standard hotels we were a little disappointed with the overall experience. There was no information in the room, regarding services,meal times etc. We had a problem with air con/heating which was reported but not dealt with. We did not need daily towel change but did, purely because of no heated towel rail meant wet towels. very steamy bathroom no extractor fan. No real organization at breakfast too few staff meant the limited tables not being cleared, food running out along with plates and cutlery.
The staff that are at this hotel work very hard but need more help.

Room Tip: higher floor roooms are larger and refurbished
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Sally R
Thank you for taking the time to let us have your review with Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark.

I do appreciate the constructive comments that you have shared with us and noted the problems that you encountered with the comfort colling in your bedroom. I can confirm that we have contacted our Enigineering contractors who are coming to site to review the fault that you have reported & I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that the team here, were unable to resolve the problem, to your satisfaction at the time of your stay.

This does sometimes become a problem at weekends, as it is more difficult to rectify problems of this nature due to the unavailability of some contractors, especially due to the Bank Holiday weekend.

With regard to your breakfast experience, as the hotel was full to capacity at the weekend, we did encounter a large volume of guests taking breakfast at the same time, which did impact on our ability to deliver a consistant service with the replenishment of items from the breakfast buffet and the avilability of some tables.

I appreciate that this did take some time to get things rectified and thank you for your patience, during some of the delays that you encountered during your stay with us.
Once again, please accept our apologies and I do hope that we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

a short walk to everything tate modern millenium bridge the tube etc. enjoyed are stay.elevators small breakfest was basic

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1025mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear 1025mike

Thanks for your comments & review to Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will see you again soon on your next trip to london.
Kind Regards - Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews