We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #480 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Go this room as was attending friends family event. Stayed for two nights and didn't try the bar or restaurant. Room was very tidy as was bathroom. However how they can charge the same amount of points as the kings cross hotel beats me as there was no gym or pool. Colour scheme of room was blue and lilac which I think they chose to relax you and aid with sleep. Bed was comfortable and ensuite only had a shower, however it was large and water was piping hot. Couple of pain retouched required in bathroom but nothing major. Couple of negative points. When asking for an iron and ironing board normally porter in hotel will bring it up. In this one the customer has to go and fetch it. If wanting a lie in pray that the cleaners don't clean the room next door. They batter the walls like there's no tomorrow. Area round about has lots of graffiti on buildings etc but it's the very impressive artistic type, even has a banksy across the road.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Big-J0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed for a week while in London for business. The rooms are very clean and modern, though the lighting is more sexy than functional. The hotel is super close to the Tube and there are a lot of great restaurants in the area for dinner.

I have to commend Sojad Achach, who checked me in and assisted me during my stay. Her customer service skills and commitment to my contentment as a guest were phenomenal! She truly went above and beyond, which does not happen everywhere (I say with confidence as I travel the globe monthly). I even wrote the GM to sing her praises as I was so impressed by her!

The staff is great here, location convenient to transit and the hotel very good! Would recommend with confidence.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TD1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We enjoyed our stay but the hotel is expensive for the quality of the rooms they have. The breakfats is fine (woth the type of hotel it is), but i was really disappointed by the housekeeping! We arrive on saturday morning, the bedshit di not get change till tuesday evening, and on tuesday morning I requested housekeeping to change it they say "ok" but did not. on monday night my socks dropped under the blanklet, I found them back there on tuesday night whane I was about to sleep. Ate some crakers that dropped on the floor, it was still there on a day later. The housekeeping is seriously poor!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safiatou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Safiatou T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. Great location. Very clean throughout. Breakfast was basic but nice. Very average, nothing that made me go WOW. The only real problem was the loud (what sounded like) a water heating/boiler system? Kept waking me through the night so didn't get a good nights sleep. The bed was extremely comfortable though

Room Tip: I bought a hairdryer with me but the room had one so could of saved space in suitcase!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

I’m really glad you found us in location.
I’m sorry you encountered a problem with some noise – we are experiencing some minor intermittent issues with our air conditioning system. Can you please email my Guest Services Manager, Tracy on gsmcity@holidayinnlondon.com and we can get some further information off you.

Thank you for your other positive comments

Craig Penry
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express London City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Check in was fast and the room served. The rooms were adequately furnished although the toilet shower cubicle did not block the water after you showered and the floor would get very wet. Fittings were all working and was a pleasant stay. The breakfast was generous and a hot meal in cold London before the day ( Tube strikes and cold wind and rain ) would start you right!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the lift lobby. Or else its a long walk.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and are front desk staff were quick with the check in!
The shower cubicle issue doesnt sound right at all - can you email my Guest Services Manager, Tracy on gsmcity@holidayinnlondon.com so that we can investigate this more and get this rectified.
Thank you again for your comments and review

Craig Penry
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express London City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend as had a night out in Shoreditch, I requested an early check in as was arriving on an early flight, got the the hotel about 11am and was granted the early check in and also given a late checkout until 14:00 along with a welcome letter and free drink & snack voucher as a platinum IHG Rewards member.

Hotel included free wifi which admittedly was a little slow but it was free after all so I didn't mind at all! The staff were great, I asked at reception for directions to the venue we were going to on the Saturday and not only did they tell me but actually printed me a map too, I thought this was a great touch!

Room looked brilliant and the bathroom was lovely! Black tiles in bathroom and a blue colour scheme throughout the room, was really modern and looked recently renovated. Included with the room we also had breakfast, sausage, scrambled egg and beans great to start the day!

All in 5 stars for a great stay, will definitely stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonniegraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for such a great review. I will make sure the team are passed on your feedback.
I hope you will visit us again when you are in London.

Craig Penry
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express London City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and found it to be ideal for our stay. Room was clean and modern. Only complaint - the bed is a bit small. Breakfast was fine. It is well located for underground into centre of London which is only 2 stops from Kings Cross. Lots of shops and pubs around. overall Ideal for a visit to London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#300 of 1,072 in London
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $108 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing