We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #490 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. Great location. Very clean throughout. Breakfast was basic but nice. Very average, nothing that made me go WOW. The only real problem was the loud (what sounded like) a water heating/boiler system? Kept waking me through the night so didn't get a good nights sleep. The bed was extremely comfortable though

Room Tip: I bought a hairdryer with me but the room had one so could of saved space in suitcase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
I’m really glad you found us in location.
I’m sorry you encountered a problem with some noise – we are experiencing some minor intermittent issues with our air conditioning system. Can you please email my Guest Services Manager, Tracy on gsmcity@holidayinnlondon.com and we can get some further information off you.

Thank you for your other positive comments

Craig Penry
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express London City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    553
    320
    82
    67
See reviews for
375
201
81
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Check in was fast and the room served. The rooms were adequately furnished although the toilet shower cubicle did not block the water after you showered and the floor would get very wet. Fittings were all working and was a pleasant stay. The breakfast was generous and a hot meal in cold London before the day ( Tube strikes and cold wind and rain ) would start you right!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the lift lobby. Or else its a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and are front desk staff were quick with the check in!
The shower cubicle issue doesnt sound right at all - can you email my Guest Services Manager, Tracy on gsmcity@holidayinnlondon.com so that we can investigate this more and get this rectified.
Thank you again for your comments and review

Craig Penry
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express London City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend as had a night out in Shoreditch, I requested an early check in as was arriving on an early flight, got the the hotel about 11am and was granted the early check in and also given a late checkout until 14:00 along with a welcome letter and free drink & snack voucher as a platinum IHG Rewards member.

Hotel included free wifi which admittedly was a little slow but it was free after all so I didn't mind at all! The staff were great, I asked at reception for directions to the venue we were going to on the Saturday and not only did they tell me but actually printed me a map too, I thought this was a great touch!

Room looked brilliant and the bathroom was lovely! Black tiles in bathroom and a blue colour scheme throughout the room, was really modern and looked recently renovated. Included with the room we also had breakfast, sausage, scrambled egg and beans great to start the day!

All in 5 stars for a great stay, will definitely stay again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonniegraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for such a great review. I will make sure the team are passed on your feedback.
I hope you will visit us again when you are in London.

Craig Penry
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express London City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and found it to be ideal for our stay. Room was clean and modern. Only complaint - the bed is a bit small. Breakfast was fine. It is well located for underground into centre of London which is only 2 stops from Kings Cross. Lots of shops and pubs around. overall Ideal for a visit to London.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed here recently with my Mum and we were thrilled with our twin room. For the area it is easily the best value hotel around, it's very close to Shoreditch High Street and also to Old Street station.

The rooms were average sized for London, sparse but nicely decorated with good beds (not too soft) staff friendly and the 'free breakfast' (I think it's clearly built into the rate) was a pleasant surprise. I had thought it might be terrible but it wasn't at all. Limited hot food but plenty to eat overall. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Nice and simple, spacious and clean room, friendly staff, Great value for money, Comfortable, clean and friendly hotel, stay there for a week for business purpose, breakfast had limited choices........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliftonSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
214 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I think this has to be one of the better value hotels in London in my experience. The location is really good being 5 minutes walk from Old Street. I stayed 1 night in order to attend a function on Shoreditch High Street and found the hotel very well placed.

Check in was efficient and friendly and the staff were able to give effective directions. I was on the top floor and had a nice sized room. The room had everything needed for 1 night. When I reported that the television remote had no batteries the reception staff sent someone with a replacement within 5 minutes which was impressive.

The bed was exceptionally comfortable and I had a really good night's sleep. The room was very clean as was the bathroom and well kept. Towels were of a decent quality and there was sufficient hot water. I would agree with previous comments about the soundproofing. I don't think I heard a thing all night.

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable. I would echo comments about the lack of bacon which I think is an essential component of breakfast. That said there was an ample supply of cereal, croissants and tea and coffee, all of which were fine. It doesn't go down in my list of all time great breakfasts but it was acceptable. I noticed that the staff were very conscientious in refilling the baskets when they started to run low.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. The location is great for Shoreditch or the city. The value for money is excellent as there are enough of the comforts you need and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgentineTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#299 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#112 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Property: Holiday Inn Express London City
Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing