We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #493 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Morlautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have to say that this was possibly one of the best hotels I have stayed with in a long time. The staff was gracious and helpful. They went above and beyond anything that they had to do. The location was perfect. It had a mix of everything for everyone. There tube is in less than 10 minutes walking distance. There are several great places to eat nearby...and for those who love the night life there are several nice pubs and clubs in the area...but most of all the staff made the stay great...and the breakfast was not too bad either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear AI S,
Thank you for your great review. It is always a pleasure to read when a guest has enjoyed their stay at our hotel.
Thank you again for your comments - I will ensure all staff are made aware of this and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    585
    328
    89
    67
See reviews for
394
208
84
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I travel to the Old Street area now and again for work and like to stay nearby the office. Sometimes I get the stay at the Hoxton Urban Lodge which is great if work are paying, however most of the time it's too expensive and I have to find a 'budget' hotel. I have stayed at the Travelodge nearby and the Thistle further away and in comparison to these two similarly priced hotels, the Holiday Inn Express was a breath of fresh air. Yes it is pretty chracter-less and the insides look like every other Holiday Inn Express I have stayed at, but there the place is clean and well designed and some comfort to be taken in the fact that it is a modern building - it means the rooms are reasonably large and the bathroom features all work. The room I was in had a great bathroom without any usage or age related detritus anywhere to be seen, and soap and shower gel dispensers. Tea and coffee facilites were in the room (no biscuits - tight wads!), the television picture was ok, and there was a telephone. There was a choice of firm or soft pillows, plenty of extra bed coverings and towels. The design of the room which was on the 5th floor over-looking the busy main road was such that traffic noise was minimised as much as possible (without bricking up the window completely). The window was small, double glazed and heavily curtained. There was no great view so i didn't care - I was more concerned about getting a good night's sleep. This I did without the aid of my ear-plugs for a change, but perhaps helped by several pints of Fuller's 'Honey Dew' at the pub down the road. breakfast the next morning was a busy affair, but the selection of stuff on offer was good. My only minor criticism of the breakfast was that there was no bacon (probably to expensive for them to lay on) and no bananas that I could spot (although there were apples, oranges and plenty of juices). However I enjoyed a bowl of crunchy nut cornflakes, a croissant with jam, a few juices and a coffee while watching the morning news. I also noticed a lot of free newspapers and magazines lying around which I thought was a nice touch (despite my craving for a banana).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor (the highest level) and if you can get one facing away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couchmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear couchmagpie,
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm sorry we dont offer Bacon, it's actually a Brand Standard in Holiday Inn Express to offer 3 hot items in our free breakfast which is Scrambled Eggs, Beans and Sausages.
I'm really pleased you liked our bathrooms, we had a major refurbishment back in 2011 for bathrooms and bedrooms.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights travelling with two teenagers and having two double rooms.

This is a hotel to choose for its location and for it being new, clean, predictable and, for being London, not overly expensive. Don’t expect anything else, i.e. no particular charm, no free wifi in the rooms, an only mediocre breakfast buffet (be prepared to get something elsewhere if you’re picky on this).

Our only real complaint would be that the air conditioning is a bit too noisy. Only positive surprise was that the bathroom actually was reasonably sized.

Beyond that, a nothing-special-hotel-experience which is easily forgotten; but then again, in London you could end up a lot worse at this price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LNJGF,
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I'm sorry you felt the hotel had no charm. My team at the hotel pride themselves on their welcome and friendly attidude.
WIFI is not free at present, but for our regular Gold and Platinum Priority Club Guests will we be offering free WIFI from July and our enginnering team are working on the current issue we have with air conditioning.
Thank you again and I do hope you will come and stay with us again when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have stayed in many holiday inns but was disappointed with this one. The bed was really uncomfortable and my two sons were in a sofa bed that dipped in the middle(when i say dipped they ended up on top of each other) and whenever they moved position the bed squeeked loudly. The air conditioning/heating was difficult to control and the room was roasting-we didn't sleep well at all. We went to go for a swim in the private gym, along the road, which is available to guests of the hotel at a reduced rate and asked the staff for more information-they couldn't give us any and even struggled to let us know where it was. When we got there, eventually, the prices had gone up and children were not allowed-even 2 boys to use the pool aged 13 and 14yrs-they have to be over 16yrs. We were gutted, this was one of the reasons we booked this hotel, for a relaxing swim after lots of sightseeing the evening before our 6hour train journey home to Dundee the next day. Breakfast was ok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Julie-anne A,
Thank you for your review on our hotel. I'm really sorry you and your sons found the beds uncomfortable, I've sent a PM to you for some further information. I'm really sorry about the mix up at the Gym/Swimming Pool. I have asked my Operations Manager to chase this up to make sure this is all sorted and our staff have the correct information.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst on a business trip. The hotel is fairly modern and the reception staff were friendly. The room was also of a fairly decent size (for London) and the room and bathroom were clean.

That was pretty much it for good points. I found the bed very uncomfortable and lumpy and combined with the very noisy air conditioning / heating vent which was almost directly above I got a very poor nights sleep.

There is no free wi-fi for guests, which in an age when you get it free in most coffee shops and restaurants seems to be a bit tight. I also thought breakfast was terrible, I am not normally fussy when it comes breakfast but there was very little I fancied from either the hot or cold selection.

In summary a good location and reasonably priced but failed its primary function of being somewhere I could sleep - also the extras of breakfast and internet are poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear adamf76,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel. I'm pleased you liked the decor and size of the room and found my team friendly.
We are looking at our WIFI service and this will be changing shortly. We also have our engineering team looking at this intermittant issue with have with AC noise in some of our rooms.
Thank you again and I do hope you will come back and stay with us again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Old Street location near tube, buses into City, Shoreditch and Islington is a great one. Value for money is generally good for expensive London. The in-suite bathrooms are really well done and the room interiors, though a bit cramped by North American standards, are quite good. In fairness, we were having a problem accommodating our teenage daughters in the same room elsewhere and Holiday Inn permitted that. It required particular discipline in such a tight space however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ubarky,
Thank you for your review on our hotel and I am pleased you really liked the bathroom and bedroom design.
Holiday Inn Express is proud to be able to offer family rooms to guests, but I do appreciate your comments that things can be a bit tight when there are 4 of you in the room.
Thank you again for your comments and I do hope to see you back here when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have to stay nearby for work, so the commonly cited advantage of nearby nightlife is wasted on me.

But this is as good as some high end hotels I've been in other cities. Staff is friendly and helpful, wireless is reliable, rooms are good and bathrooms are all new. The facility/building itself is drab and dormatory like, and the morning breakfast is bleh. But for the price, this is a great deal in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreekmoreWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear CreekmoreWorld,
Thank you for your review on our hotel. I am pleased to read you liked the hotel and found my team friendly and helpful.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#312 of 1,067 in London
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Property: Holiday Inn Express London City
Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing