We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #490 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

One of the advantages of this brand is that you know pretty much what you're going to get wherever you go. This is a good hotel for a relatively cheap and cheerful stop n London. Not in the best location, but was good for the gig we were going to, and the price was right. Breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate, and there were no problems with going back for more! Would use this one again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid noise from the very busy Old Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzzerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear muzzerati,
Thank you for your feedback on my hotel after your recent stay. I'm glad your enjoyed your stay and you made use of our free self service breakfast buffet.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next trip to London City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    553
    320
    82
    67
See reviews for
375
201
81
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Overall a good stay.

Couple of points - room was very large (528) and in a quiet location at the back BUT the bathroom had no form of heating at all not even a heated towel rail so on one of the coldest days/nights of the year the bathroom was not a place you wanted to spend anytime at all - it was FREEZING in there.

We were checked in at about 10pm on Sunday evening and the chap on reception did not give us eye contact once - so very poor greeting/arrival.

Breakfast was a bit of a free for all and wasn't that great.

Our room keys kept de activating and this appeared to happen to other guests as on three separate occasions there was a line of about 3 or 4 people all wanting the re activated.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michaeldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Michaeldevon
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the hotel. I'm was sorry to read your comments about the lack of welcome from our front desk team. I will make sure our guest service manager is made aware of this to ensure re-training is done. We pride ourselves on our welcoming staff and I'm dissapointed you didnt experience this on check in.
You will be pleased to know that following feedback from yourself and other guests we were able to retify an issue with our key card system and all now working well.
Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Around half the price of the other hotels I was looking at in the area. I always have a good experience with the Holiday Inn Express in UK.

Don't expect fantastic service and great rooms but for a business trip this place is perfect. The rooms look new, clean, modern and are by all accounts very large.

Wifi is not free which is always a negative.

Location is 5 minute walk from the tube station and there are plenty of nice (albeit mostly Asian) restaurants within a 2 minute walk.

Breakfast which was included had the typical sausage, bacon, egg, beans choice ( as well as continental ) and did the job perfectly.

Safe area, no complaints, good service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Tom C
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us here at London City. I am pleased your found your room clean and tidy.
I have taken your comments onboard on free WIFI and will are looking into this as a brand standard, so please watch this space....
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend break. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is of a good standard throughout. The room was large clean and comfortable, with a large modern bathroom. The breakfast is included in the price and is perfectly adequate.
The hotel is in a ‘trendy’ area which has a busy nightlife. It is not centrally located, but has convenient tube and bus links.
Had a pleasant stay at a reasonable price and would be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear GJW1
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at London City. I was really pleased to read your enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming your back to the hotel on your next visit to London City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for business and perfect for city break too. Couldn't fault it in any way, breakfast was included and was adquate. Staff were very efficient and friendly. The rooms were quite generous in size and I got a rally good sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAXYScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear JAXYScotland
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel. I am really pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our guest customer service and I;m so glad to read you found this to be true.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giswil, Switzerland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was there at February 2013. The Room was really clean, unfortunately it was the only service that worked properly. The AC didn't work (was always cooling the room instead of warming it), after saying it was a little bit better, but still cold *i just give up to ask again). The Bet was ok, just a thin blanket). You don't have either place to take out all the things from your baggage.
Internet... this was my biggest frustration, you pay for it! and not cheap, 10 Pounds for a 24 Hours - 3G Connection (One month subscription costs 60 Pounds/Month in England). After paying for a Week pack 45Pounds, the 3rth night was so slow that i couldn't either skype, and i mean only Skype! . I told them and they just say "must be a problem with the provider...", no cash back, no checking how many users where connected... nothing... no way to discuss with the manager, i just felt hopeless.
The breakfast hat variety but poor quality of the products.

If you give a Service of HI-Speed internet, and doesn't work, i don't care if it's the provider, that's not my problem, just bring the money from this day back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Joan B,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is the hotel I normally use when I'm in London for work, and I've stayed many times now. It does everything I want for a business trip - comfortable, clean, quiet, and relatively spacious rooms with enough space to do a bit of work if that's what you want. Breakfast included, it's not spectacular, but absolutely fine to get you going in the morning.

Location is good to walk to good bars and restaurants. Old Street tube stop a few minutes away.

Staff have always been friendly and helpful.

Can't fault it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear MartinSpoon
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I'm really pleased you enjoy staying here at the hotel and everything is to your satisfaction.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#299 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#112 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Property: Holiday Inn Express London City
Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing