We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory stay for two nights...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Ranked #606 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Satisfactory stay for two nights...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

After an uncomfortable one night stay at a 'Cabin Hotel' at Gatwick Airport we moved into the city and stayed here due to it's close proximity to Victoria railway station and Pimlico Tube station. We expected more space than the 'Cabin' room but it was only a marginal increase ! The room was small and cramped with no A/C, only a fan. A delightful receptionist, Beatriz, checked us in and confirmed my booking request for a quiet room. As a Priority Club member I sometimes enjoy higher than standard accommodation but I suppose requesting some peace (a rear facing room) was better than having a noisy room as some reviewers had suffered. Being on the third floor overlooking a back lane I was amazed how the low window opened without limit. Parents be aware, as the small notice advised... The room was small but everything worked and for two nights it was fine. I enjoyed the breakfast of cereals, yoghurt, croissants and preserves as well as the hot dishes of scrambled eggs, sausages (rather overdone !) and beans. Machines dispensed coffee and delicious orange juice. Since a previous reviewer had stayed a TV had been mounted on the wall in the breakfast room which was bright and pleasant (with skylights), although it was in the basement. Rooms and corridors were very warm but tolerable and the lift slow but sure. We had 30 minutes per-guest per-day of free WiFi which was enough. Maybe I am a bit tightfisted (!) but I think £150.00 per night for this room is just a bit over the top for such small accommodation. Even more for the advertised rack rate of £229.00 + 20% VAT if you walk in off the street. However I suppose the inclusive breakfast compensates. I would stay again here but look around at the competition first before making a repeat booking.

Room Tip: After staying in so many noisy rooms previously I always ask for a quiet room if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mr Toulson,

We greatly appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel and our services. Thanks to guests like youself and the comments that we received we continue to review and imrpove our services.

We are very glad to read your encouraging comments with regard to our staff and breakfast.
Thank you once again for your support and review. We would love to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    210
    193
    83
    36
See reviews for
132
157
45
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shillingford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

A really nice family room at a decent price in a good location. Breakfast was included which was a bonus. We have used Holiday Inn Express before and we would use them again. The price doesn't include VAT though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper08cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Jasper08cat,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant experience during your trip to London. Please note that our prices now include VAT.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, should your travel requirements bring you to London.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here on business for a couple of nights, the rooms are cramped - typical HI Express style, but functional. The room overlooked a busy road and opening the window was impossible due to the noise - there was no air con and it was really warm and the night was uncomfortable.

Breakfast was a bit of a joke, a cramped basement dining room... Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Matt W,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

No AC, lots of road noise, tiny rooms, grim shower, hoter than ####, but as a base when working it has a lot to offer. £150 per night in this part of London is very cheap, the bar and breakfast room is fuctional. Rooms could have been cleaner and needed repainting. TV fixed to the wall but directed away from the bed? Staff were a mixed bunch - some very good, and some very poor. The staff member who cleans the breakfast room was highly diligent bing the stand out memeber of the team. As with many business hotels, the location is the key. I spent 5 nights on a lower floor at the back of the property and would have slept well if ir was not for the unusual late summer heatwave.

Room Tip: Back of hotel and high floor. Rooms at front of the hotel are very noisy+++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I live in the UK now, but I am American. I have learned the hard way what to expect from UK hotels: no A/C, small rooms, lack of amenities, and poor customer service. In their defense, this is a different culture so while in London I purposely went with Holiday Inn bc it is a US Franchisor. I was disappointed, the rooms and reception desk really lack luster. Free wifi for half hour. As a Holiday Inn member, my room was shockingly tiny. It's not on the cheaper side end either. Keep in mind it is an older established area so its really depends how important the location is to you. The hotel is close to the tube. Also, I had what appeared to be blood and semen stains on my carpet. If you're expecting to find US Holiday Inn Express standards, just prepare.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear pamela j,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The room was really small - certainly not big enough for two people you could not walk round without bumping into things. You could not move in bed without hitting your head on the storage space or bedside table.
The storage space was adequate for one person but not useful for two.The carpet was wet. The maid left our window open which was on a balcony so anyone could have got in and we were out all day. When we reported the difficulties the reception staff did not seem interested in our problems.

One of the worst stays I have ever had in a hotel, got hardly any sleep. Will not be booking here again.

Room Tip: Do not book room 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

i can't understand some of the negative comments, this hotel is priced cheap for the area so some are expecting to much, we have just had two nights stay here and the staff were fantastic great little rooms and everything you needed , we had problem with our room and they moved us straight away with no problems, also let us leave our bags there after checkout,breakfast ok cereal , croissants , sausage eggs beans, yogurt , fruit, etc etc basic but fine, really well located 2 mins from pimlico tube so easy to get to all the attractions we will defo be going back :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoffy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager186338, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Hoffy W,
Thank you very much for taking to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria. I was pleased to read your comments about the hotel, staffs and excellent location and I have shared these with my team here.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards - Sachin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#260 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Corona
BEST WESTERN Corona
#540 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#504 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#599 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#201 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Address: 106-110 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria. This central London hotel offers well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, in house pay per movies, bar, breakfast room, High Speed Internet Access also available at charge. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore the 'Sights and Sound' of London, this 'Budget Hotel' is perfect for both occasions. The hotel is ideally located for any one travelling to London via Gatwick Airport or Heathrow Airport. London Gatwick airport is just 35 minutes from London Victora where as London Heathrow is 15 minutes by Heathrow Express to London Paddington station from where the hotel is a short journey by underground or taxi.Closest Rail link: London Victoria Station. Closest Underground Station: Pimlico Underground Station. Closest Coach Station: London Victoria Coach Station. Closest Attractions: Tate Art Gallery, Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, West End Theatres & Shopping. Accommodation: Twin bed rooms with two single beds for max. 2 adults and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa for max. 4 adults or max. 2 adults and 2 children. Nearest Underground Station - Pimlico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing