We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INDIFFERENT, NOTHING SPECIAL” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #595 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“INDIFFERENT, NOTHING SPECIAL”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Decided to stay at this place after reading Rick Steve's book on London. Honestly, I don't why this place was even recommended. The rooms were bare bones basic, like the other reviewers mentioned. Almost burned by hands after touching the hot lights on the head boards. No shower stalls, so why didn't the staff mention about the hallway bathrooms having shower stalls to use? Found out about those by accident on my last nite there. The continental breakfast was the worst I ever experienced in Europe/London. Served in the basement, it was depressing. Packaged muesli and cheese, some bananas and apples and some yogurt. Eggs, beacon were extra. No baked goods, only brown or white toast. The coffee was just awful. The front desk staff were pleasant enough, but somewhat indifferent. Asked about restaurants, local pubs in the area, and wasn't able to get much info. Found out later after walking around, there were TONS of different places to eat, so why didn't they mention those areas/streets? I gave this 2 stars because of the convenient location to the tubes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    185
    112
    39
    23
See reviews for
98
106
92
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night.it does not have aircondition,kettle to make tea or coffee,no safe,just bare room.i found the room dusty.the hotel has a very dull feel.the breakfast is ok nothing great.
only thing i particularly disliked was to go down for a cup of tea in the morning.
not convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIWYA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Garden Court Hotel and are very pleased. The room was small but clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast fine. You can order a cooked breakfast for a small fee if you like. Love the location, close to both Bayswater and Queensway underground. A shoppingmall, Whitleys, nearby and Boots are open until midnight. On Queensway you will find the Chinese restaurant The Four Season, worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IngridSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night in May 2012 and it brought back memories of how terrible English hotels can be at their worst.

First, the location was brilliant: a 5 minute walk to Bayswater tube, and plenty of food options, pubs etc along the way. We walked from the hotel through Hyde Park to Knightbridge, and on the the main sights of London. A long walk, but very doable from the hotel.

The checkin experience was great - in fact all our dealings with the front desk were excellent - they were eager to please and very helpful when we asked typical tourist questions. The lobby area was nicely presented with some quite cute lifesize bears dressed in Beefeater and Grenadier Guard outfits. So far so good.

We get to our room in a tiny lift and yes, our room was slap bang next to the lift. Since it was just one night's stay we didn't bother to make a fuss and try for a different room. The room was pretty tiny - very firm double bed (we are used to king sized beds as standard so I guess we're spoiled). The room smelled of stale smoke. There was one window, with a grubby net curtain - I opened the curtain, pulled up the ancient sash window and the outlook was pleasant enough: backing onto other residences of a similar age. The window did have a brass 'lock' fitted but was impossible to engage.

Downsides for the room:

- window that could not be locked and rattled all night long with the moderate wind outside
- no bin
- no safe
- no phone
- no fridge
- musty cigarette smells
- dusty
- WC lid not properly attached
- old, faded and slightly smelly comforter on the bed
- no aircon (but there was a fan)
- no bedside lights: instead there were 2 bare halogen lamps pointing down from a wall mounted light fitting; only one was working
- lift noise
- noise of other guests moving around - none were unreasonably noisy but the constant squeaking of the floors above was hard to ignore

After a pretty terribly night's sleep we went down for breakfast - we had been told it closed at 9:30am so were were there around 9:20. We saw that a continental breakfast was included, but we could add eggs and bacon for an additional fee. We asked for this but the 3 babooshkas sitting on their backsides in the kitchen told me this was impossible since last orders for bacon closed at 9:15am.

So anyway, we checked out, the front desk lady was very nice about directions and leaving our bags there for the day.

All this would have been fine if it has been reasonably priced - but the bill 135 British Pounds ! To put that into perspective that would have paid for a luxurious 4 or 5 star hotel in Singapore, Hong Kong, Tokyo, Sydney, or Barcelona. Might have been market rate for London but we felt extremely ripped off.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbenne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

sheffield
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and I have just got back from a two night stay at the Gardens Court hotel and had a great weekend.
We were welcomed by the very polite, friendly receptionist who made us feel at home and allowed us into our room well before the check-in time. The hotel is in a lovely area, about 5 minutes walk from Bayswater tube station, just off bustling Queensway and quite safe at night. Breakfast is a mixture of cerial, toast, fruit and yoghurts although you can get bacon and eggs if requested for a small extra fee.

We were also grateful for the comfortable and quiet night's sleep as the hotel is in a little gardened square away from any passing traffic. Rooms were nice and cosy – in need of a little refurb here and there but otherwise fine. We would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. If you don't like walking up lots of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkleytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here on my own for what was meant to be 2 nights but turned into 4 after I came down with a cold and had to change my plans to rest up. I was given the single room on the first floor - no ensuite but situated right next to a bathroom so that was quite handy. The room was tiny and out dated (a desk but no chair) but clean and warm and had a tv and a sink. Only one thin skimpy pillow though which seemed a bit tight. I guess by london standards it wasn't bad value. The bathroom however showed signs of damp and the plug hole in the shower blocked, meaning i was standing in a soup of murky water every time I had a shower. Yuck. Breakfast, basic and (two bits of cheap toast and a coffee) and very silent. The area is very touristy and there's a dodgy hostel a few doors up with unsavoury characters lurking around, though that's not the hotel's fault. Overall - basic, outdated but okay for a night or two in London town. With a few tweaks it could be a (literally) little gem but as it is it seems it's resting on its laurels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_red_courgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay on my way to Heathrow. It's small, quiet, very clean and in a convenient location (near Paddington station). I wouldn't want to be there for any length of time on holiday, but for a short city stay, it's perfect considering the price. My only gripes would be that the hot water in the tea & coffee room was never hot (perhaps they could invest in a proper urn). Secondly, I was leaving quite early for my journey to the airport so asked what they could do for breakfast. I mentioned I'd be very happy if they could just leave a bowl of cereal and some milk out. Instead I was given a small tray with 4(!) yoghurts, 8 mini blocks of cheese, 2 bananas, 1 apple and a selection of jams. No bread though, and no cereal which was perhaps the only thing I'd really wanted. Apart from these minor niggles the place was faultless.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#500 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#441 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#516 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#284 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#780 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#297 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Property: Garden Court Hotel
Address: 30-31 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #595 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court London
Hotel Garden Court
Garden Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing