We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience London Transport Museum
from $21.00
More Info
from $90.80
More Info
Reviews (2,313)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveler rating
728
735
277
77
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
735
277
77
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covent garden tube train horse drawn annual pass all ages free cloakroom per adult interactive exhibits transport system gift shop flower market couple of hours great for kids entrance fee children and adults on display half term
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I have been trying to visit
London Transport Museum for many years now as my wife was not with us we decided to go

How disappointing

I expected more buses and information
I am a member of our local bus museum and our exhibits far out way London

Not impressed unfortunately

Dickie :-(

Thank Rdelawn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Having visited the old venue at Clapham and the current Covent Garden location back in the early 80’s, I was curious to see the present incarnation of this museum. The upper floors were the best, with a very informative narrative on the evolution of various modes of transport in the capital. The Poster Girls exhibition was also excellent. I was a little disappointed with the ground floor, with very few vehicles exhibited compared to what I remember and a lot of space devoted to eating and play areas. As other reviewers have mentioned, the behavior of children in the museum was appalling, why do their parents not just take them to a proper play area instead of spoiling other people’s experience? The gift shop was outstanding, so many interesting books.

Thank 170Hampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

We used to be regular visitors with our grandchildren when they lived in Earls Court. The good news is the new tube simulator which is absolutely fabulous. A great hit! The simulators are the most popular of all the items and it is a pity that the two former simulators have been abandoned, leaving only the ancient one which is difficult to manage.
There is a lot for children to do. Regrettably the maintenance of the exhibits is very poor: next to the old simulator are four 'trains' which should move from side to side at the touch of a button. It used to be one that did not work, now it is two. There is a similar tram which used to move from side to side which is now stationery. The mock bus has a bell press which does not work and in the model double decker 'boat' there is what looks like a large transistor radio, possibly a voice amplifier, which, again, does not work. There is a table road way with an underground underneath, very popular with the very young but the number of vehicles are very limited, maybe too many kids take them home?

Customers are barred from boarding the army bus which is restricted to school parties. A bad decision by someone.

Parents should be wary of the shop on the way out: it offers a fabulous range of every kind of vehicle a boy or girl would want to have.

The entry price lasts as many visits as you can manage in a year!

Thank nosmo-king-1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Interesting, informative and well-organized museum. It chronicles evolution of transport (mostly public) in London from XVIII-XIX centuries to our days and even gives a little glimpse to the future. Convenient downtown location, good cafe and gift shop

Thank Rolshchikov-Dmitry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, I agree with some of the posters who knock off stars because of noisy kids running around. I won't, because the museum is not at fault, the parents are. This is a great place for children and that is one of the risks one takes in coming to a museum such as this.

If you like the history of transportation in London, there is much to read. If you just want to gawk out actual examples, there is also much to see. From horse-drawn buses to steam engines on the Tube to more modern buses and trains, there isn't much that isn't here. If you have the slightest interest in this sort of thing, you need to go.

There is a cafe and, of course, a huge gift shop. Tickets are 10% cheaper online and you can skip much of the queue when entering.

Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went earlier today with my Mum as we’d both always wanted to visit and never had. We were also able to take advantage of the railway days out 2-4-1 offer so that was really good.

We found the museum interesting and worthwhile especially some of the exhibits (namely the Poster Girls; CrossRail and the War time section.

It was quite overrun with School parties and mothers with babies and toddlers so I imagine during half term and holidays it gets really busy too.

There’s a good gift shop but as expected it was quite pricey.

I’d recommend a visit and there were lots of interesting facts to learn so it’s educational too.

Thank natters14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The exhibits are quite interesting, but when I visited, it was so crowded with children that the noise and hubbub just got to be off-putting. It was on par with the Natural History Museum for sheer census of three foot tall bundles of fun.

The various vehicles are great, and the recordings of firsthand accounts of drivers seemed well presented and interesting. I particularly enjoyed promotional materials from the suburbanization of London driven by Tube expansion.

Ticket price is steep, but it is valid for a year.

1  Thank EWT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very exciting and informative walk around this green oasis in the middle of London. A very professional, courteous and quite large crew led us around the current station, the old station as well as wilderness surrounding the area. Fun fact to learn that the bats, who has taken over the old tunnels, has stopped the super cycle highway, temporarily :)

Definitely recommend if you're interested in learning something about London that not every has or will experience. It's a added bonus that the hidden tour ticket, will give you ½ price at The London Transport Museum as well as a 10 % discount on all items in the museum shop. Worth every £ and I'm so much looking forward to the "Down Street - Churchill's Secret Station" tour later this year. This tour is quite a bit more expensive, but I'm pretty sure that it too will by worth the money.

Thank NilsCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is far from the biggest museum in London, but certainly one worth visiting. It makes the history of transportation in London come alive through all kinds of displays and artifacts. It can be a little cramped at times with many visitors, but no show stopper.

1  Thank Bj0rnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took our 5 year old grandaughter to visit the museum , she thoroughly enjoyed at pretending to drive the bus and train. Quite a few of the exhibits were roped off which was a little disappointing as the kids want to get into everything. As with most things in London, gift shop overpriced as was the cafe. However the history of London transport is really interesting and there is a good exhibit showing the future crossrail.

1  Thank LCAS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews