We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Accommodation in Russell Square, London”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #517 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Standard Accommodation in Russell Square, London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

My mate and I (both in our early 20's) stayed here twice, once in December of '08 and once in January of ’09, on our fifth and fourteenth (final) stops on a round the world trip. We found the President Hotel to be a comfortable hotel, with quality rooms, good staff, but poor breakfast.

We stayed in a standard room, which included two single beds, a cupboard, widescreen TV (on 2nd visit) or a normal TV (on 1st visit), a kettle, draws, heater, clothes press and a simple bathroom including a sink, bath/shower and toilet. The room was by no means luxurious, but it was comfortable and clean. The shower had tremendous water pressure and the water temperature could be controlled easily. Unfortunately, the shower curtain encroached a little on our limited space, but that was just a small annoyance. Otherwise, the room itself was very comfortable.

The hotel also offered free wireless internet in their lounge area. Unfortunately, the speed of connection was dependent on where you sat and how many other people were accessing it at the same time. I was using it while a group of 10 to 15 American school people were trying to use it and I found that it was incredibly slow, but when I moved to another position, the coverage all of a sudden sped up dramatically.

In terms of the breakfasts offered by the hotel, guests were offered a Continental or English style. We paid for the English style on our booking, and I wasn’t impressed by the breakfasts at all and wished that we had only paid for the basic continental breakfast. The range offered wasn’t bad, but the fact that the scrambled eggs, bacon and toast were all cold, the juices weren’t cold or chilled and the fruit was rather sour wasn’t good. It was just not how I like to start my day. With this being said, the second and briefer stay we had at this hotel in January ’09, the breakfast was a lot better, but I would still not suggest that it was a good breakfast at all.

The location of the hotel was fantastic. Being just around the corner from Russell Square Tube station allowed for an easy train ride to and from Heathrow Airport along the Piccadilly line and then also an easy one stop ride to Kings Cross/St Pancreas Station, which is the London international station for Eurostar. The city proper was about a 10 minute walk, the British Museum was a 5 minute walk and then there were a couple of good restaurants around the area, including Munchkins (just past directly opposite the British Museum entrance) and Pizza Express.

This hotel was only one of two that we booked through the hotel itself for our entire trip. It is right next to the Imperial Hotel, which is a relation to this hotel, but more expensive. For what I saw, the two hotels were very similar and yet the President Hotel was considerably cheaper.

While on the topic of money, let me give all those who haven’t been to London a small word of advice in terms of the currency. Don’t look at something you’re considering buying and convert it back to your home currency. Look at it and think about whether it’s cheap compared to similar products that you are choosing from. Watch what you spend or put a limit on your pound spending, but don’t convert back until the end of your trip. Food, drink, attraction entrances, they’re all expensive and even more so when converting back to your home currency. But you have to eat, you have to drink and you have to experience London.

I’ve attached a couple of pictures for people to view how the rooms look. Please excuse the mess.

So in all, London was an interesting place and if I do go back to London, the President Hotel is where I’d stay… just without the breakfast.

  • Liked — The Shower
  • Disliked — The Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GT05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    1,284
    1,107
    349
    193
See reviews for
610
1,461
250
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

Stayed in the hotel for four nights, i booked it because i stayed there when on a course in london last year and i thought it was ok what i can remember ,its very close to the westend shows and everything you could wish to see in london is not to far away.
Downside to this hotel is the door to peoples room closed with a loud bang and it can get on your nerves in time,breakfast (english) was horrible very cold and you could tile your room with the toast it was that hard but we ate it anyway because we paid for it, staff very good and plesent clean rooms etc all in all its good for people on a budget and do not want to pay a high price for a central hotel in london.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roscoe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick Scotland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at The President as part of a National Express package. So convenient to the Tube and within easy walking to many tourist sites. Our room was large & quiet with clean towels, although I must say the carpets in room and halls very tired. Flat screen TV in room.

Lots of tourists on packages made breakfast busy, but included in our price was the steam table English breakfast, not good value otherwise. Staff always pleasant. If this hotel is an indication as part of the Imperial group, good value and great locations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing, honestly
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crewsaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. We landed at Heathrow airport and caught the train direct to Russell Square (Piccadilly LIne, approx 45 minutes and 4 pounds). Reception staff are miserable however porters are very friendly and helpful. We had continental breakfast included in our package, however this was dismal and we paid an extra 4 pounds to upgrade to cooked breakfast (worth paying). Hotel rooms are good for London and the room was nice and warm. Bathroom was clean with good shower. For price paid, I think this hotel is good basic London accommodation.

  • Liked — Location and friendly porters
  • Disliked — Rude reception staff and continental breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

I was there for 2 nights.
As soon as i opened the door a fish-smell gave me a worm welcome.
Receptionist very cold
Room was ok for 2 adults but the temperature was too high without any way to control it.
There is not any air condition system.
The bath was ok but i have to asked for an hairdryer and i have had to deposit 10 GBP for an orrible unit.
At the same time i have asked for a second towel. (just 1 towel for person...is the default) This time no deposit.
The AC outlet inside the bath was not working: i gave the info to the "information desk" at the reception, the gentleman has taken a note but nothing has be done.
If you need a continental breackfast while you are with a english breackfast fan, wel you can look elsewhere for your breackfast.
Windows of my room look at an hospital and as a final when i checked out, quite early in the day, i have asked for a secure storage of my luggage: i'm gonna take that in the afternoon: well for the first time i was asked to pay for this service.
A good point is how the hotel is close to the Russel Square Tube but, in my opinion, this is not enough to decide to be back to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed for seven nights,booked over agency,price is fer for center of London.We bought Oyster card and spend about 30 Pounds each for trips to all places of interest.I must say we traveled a lot around.Hotel room was big double king size bed.Bathroom clean and big for two.TV.Hairdryer and power adapter ,have to ask and pay security money.Room cleaned every day and clean towels to.Computer for checking e-mail works on coins in the loby.Best think for us was ,continental breakfast,eat as much as you can from 7 to 10.Tea,coffee,milk,hot chocolate,orange juice,bread and toast,marmelade and jam,butter,oranges and grapefruit and dried prums,cornflakes and muesly.Clean dining room(restaurant).We could pay some amount for full English breakfast,but if you like to walk around do not eat to much greasy food.We had only good diner in the evening and walked for miles around museums,galleries and sights of tourist interests.My wife loved London eye.Price is not too high(15 Pounds) for what you see on bright day.Do not go if it is cloudy ore rainy day. Try not to go every day in the museums and galleries.We spend to much time in and nearly get sick of to much nice things.

  • Liked — position
  • Disliked — trafic
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

Waiting staff in the breakfast room were very good and very nice, dispite other guests sitting near us being openly rude and dismissive to them! Breakfast was good lots of choice and cooked excellently.

The rooms were very acceptable, bathroom was spacious and shower was very powerful. Clean and enough room to get ready for the night out we had planned.

Down side was the reception staff - we had multiple rooms booked they had not allocated enough rooms although it was printed on the fax confirmation they had received and had attached to our booking.

They could not understand what the problem was when they booked one of our guests who was supposed to be in a single room into a twin room which had been advised to them was for two other guests, as the two other guests did not want to share a bed!

But never mind, all was sorted in the end - and an enjoyable stay was had by all.

  • Liked — The shower!
  • Disliked — The check in staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank je11ybubb1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#583 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #517 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London, England
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing