We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FILTHY”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #508 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 28, 2013

How can this place be classed as a hotel??????? I think a youth hostel or a salvation army homelss hostel is a true description of this place
Dirity, dated, cold and that was the room, dont even get me started about the staff
We booked a family room, which contained a double bed, a single bed and pull down bed!!!. All were brick hard, and the bedding was we can only describe as itchy scratchy blankets, dirty sheets, smelly pillows
The breakfast was appalling, toast was already made so it was rubbery and cold, I thought it was scrambled egg, but it turned out to be smoked haddock swimming in grease, bacon was just all fatty and looked like it was undercooked
on our way out my granddaughter dropped a sweetie wrapper, and this very abrupt Polish cleaner demanded that she picked it up, I think they need to look more at their own lack of hygiene before they use their abrupt manner to paying guests.
service and staff need to be seriously address
sad thing is that the location is superb

Room Tip: dont go to this place, all the rooms and corridors are disgusting first impression from the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,644 - 1,650 of 3,658 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

... your wallet. That's probably true of a lot of hotels, but better hotels are interested in getting at your wallet by providing a service to you. (Happy customers = successful business) This hotel wants to cut out the middle part (the service) and get straight to your cash. My room had dirty sheets, a tiny double bed, and a mattress that was caved in at one side. It was frightfully hot, but there were not even any fans on offer. What did the management say in response to the complaints? That you get what you pay for. Well, we paid over £80 for one night. How much would they have to charge to feel able to buy a few fans at a £5 each? Mind-boggling.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank TomM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. We had a room on the sixth floor which was clean and in a good size. The bed was reasonable and it was quiet at night.The breakfast was basic but when you have toasts, cereals, fruits, orange juice, tea and coffee you can definitely manage.
The most important thing is the location of the hotel which is very close to the Russell Square tube station and in a walking distance to many of the sites London has to offer.
After all when you are in London you travel most of the day and you just need a place to sleep at night and eat breakfast so I think this hotel is a good choice in a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Clean, tidy and a good hearty breakfast, stayed as part of a rail inclusive package. Hotel well situated for transport (bus and tube).
Choice between road facing and Russel Square or central atrium between 2 hotel which was a bit noisy with kitchen noises.
Only gripe was wired internet only

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Didn't expect much to be honest and I wasn't let down! Painless check in but the room was as small as I expected. It seemed clean enough though with all the necessary fittings. I only needed somewhere central London to rest my head at a decent rate and I suppose in that respect it delivered however be prepared for a bit of a scrum at breakfast. I realise being August it is peak season for London hotels but the breakfast experience is one that I would dodge in future and would probably seek out a local cafe for a bit more peace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Some times when I read reviews you have to question just what some people are used to in life. "Excellent","Wonderful stay", "Clean and Tidy","Excellent breakfast",Who on earth writes this type of rubbish? When you right a review you must be honest so people can have some idea of what to expect so they won't be disappointed,after all its your hard earned cash. This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in. To be honest it's needs closing and undergo a refurbishment and staff training program. I have not stayed in any of the sister hotels in London and unlikely to after my experience. Same owners same attitude?Probably.If you read this review and still stay there ,well that's up to you of course.I've been as honest as I can be.

Room Tip: Transport is excellent in London .Better value out of the centre of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terencebunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was out first time ever to London and this hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent. It is unfortunate to say that we will not be booking this place again. The room was averaged sized....the mattress was hard and the pillow even harder. The rooms were clean after room service, however, it was very noisy (even though it wasn't facing the main road) and there was no air conditioning.....forcing us to leave the window open during the night. The staff was very helpful and pleasant! The breakfast was indelible! The breakfast included cold toast, coffee, tea and cereal. For an extra five pounds you could "upgrade" to include sausages,eggs,beans etc. I would not recommend doing so as it was horrible! One thing I didn't like was the staff surrounding you while you were eating, making sure that you didn't steal food from the "upgraded breakfast." It felt uncomfortable, as if they were eyeing you while you were eating. I am sure they were told to do so! The location of this hotel however was very convenient as it was close to the subway, close to St.Pancras station (for all those who are headed to Paris and other Euro cities with the EuroStar) as well as stop for the "Big Bus sightseeing Tour" which we would highly recommend taking. The trip was memorable, however we will not be staying here again.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#562 of 1,077 in London
2,093 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#574 of 1,077 in London
2,693 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#880 of 1,077 in London
8,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,178 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#475 of 1,077 in London
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $107 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London, England
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing